We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Save Saved
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
Hotel amenities
Woodbury, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked a two-bedroom, 2 bath villa through the Armed Forces Vacation Club at a VERY reasonable rate, so I wasn't expecting much more than a decent place to sleep while visiting Orlando. Boy was I wrong!! The only issue I had was the lack of free wi-fi in our villa, but it was available for free in the clubhouse. I paid the fee for 3 days worth of wi-fi because I was lazy.

The villa was very clean, the beds were comfy, and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes, glasses, etc. Stove with oven, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffeemaker and fridge with icemaker - more than I have at home! Washer & dryer, too. A little start-up bag of goodies was awaiting us with mini detergents for dishes and clothes. We booked for 1 week, which included a Tuesday housekeeping service.

The resort has plenty of activities going on so when you need a break from visiting the parks you certainly won't be bored - 4 pools (2 of which are open 24 hours), a lake with beach front, two bars, and picnic areas with both gas and charcoal grills available. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful.

It is a timeshare, however, and we were approached about attending their 90-minute spiel. We politely declined and they never bothered us again.

The resort is located approximately 4 miles from Disney and a shuttle is available. We had a rental car, so I can't really comment on the shuttle service, but I noticed a lot people using it. There is a Denney's restaurant on the grounds and a Publix supermarket right next door (you can get into the lot directly from the complex).

The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. You can buy tickets for all of the parks right there in the lobby. The desk clerks were so very pleasant, they even printed out our boarding passes for us.

I would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    288
    129
    94
    160
See reviews for
478
127
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Overall, a nice place. Our two bedroom villa was fine and the staff worked to fix the problems. Still, there were problems.

1. No wi-fi. Having free wi-fi is a no-brainer. People travel with their computers and need to plug-in. Making guests pay for connectivity is an annoying and unnecessary way to make a buck.

2. Condition. Our villa needed some significant updating. The colors are bad, the countertops are scarred and the towels are paper thin. The television in one of the bedrooms didn't work and the handle in the shower kept coming off. When I asked for more towels, I couldn't get them because there was a towel-trade coming up the next day. I didn't get my towels then, either.

The property is close to the important sites and is in all ways adequate. It's just missing some of those details that so many other places in Orlando have figured out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good comfortable apartments, clean and well equipped. Welcome pack includes a little dishwasher liquid, washing powder, rubbish bags, toilet rolls and kitchen roll so for we overseas visitors only basic food and drink shopping. Fridge had ice maker so G&Ts as soon as we arrived after a 16 hour journey! Comfortable beds – what a relief….

We were in building 5 – newer and has the best pool with hot tub and Kahunas grill & bar. Lovely open views from balcony on 4th floor and there is a lift. Grounds very well kept.
All staff very friendly and helpful.
Publix supermarket 3 mins drive has everything you could possibly need.

Big choice of restaurants, bars and shops just a 10 minute drive. All theme parks within 25 minutes.

Only downside is Wi-Fi at $40 a week for each phone.

Room Tip: Building 5 is newest - high floor great open views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our second time at Summer Bay. Once again this place is awesome. For more details look at my previous post. Did use the outside grills this time, clean and easy to use.

The last time we came we stayed as part of the AFVC but you can't revisit the same resort within three years so we were offered a very good rate but we had to attend the time share presentation so we did.

The presentation itself alright. We had a very nice gentleman who gave us the tour and did a very good job with the sales pitch. They tell you it will be a 45min presentation but what they mean is it is at least 45min. 2 HOURS later we pick up the kids who had a great time at the daycare center provided. Unless you are looking at buying or are getting something worth 2 hours of your time; stay away from the time share presentation. You don't get your coupon or receipt until you sit through the whole presentation so just beware. For the price we got on the rooms...we'll call it even.

Again this is a fantastic resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Loved the week that we stayed at this resort. My children loved all the activities that they had daily. The shuttle to and from Disney was great. The staff was always very friendly. I thank everyone for a wonderful vacation spot!! I highly recommend this place to anyone that wants a fun family enviroment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I must admit I was immediately wowed when we drove through the gate. The grounds were impeccable, it was just beautiful. Then into the Clubhouse/Activity center to register, which was also beautiful. All of the employees we came into contact with were extremely kind and helpful. Our 2/BR 2BA unit was very nice, it had everything we needed for our week long stay. It was clean and the kitchen was equipped with everything, not to mention the washer and dryer. There were plenty of pools to enjoy. They had a variety of activities, daily for kids and adults. The shuttle to and from the Disney parks was great and always on time, saved $14 per day on parking. The resort is perfectly located near restaurants and grocery stores. I can not wait to stay here again, it is everything you want in a resort. The only negative thing I can say is the free WIFI situation. To get it free you must be in the Clubhouse, which has only couches, cushy chairs and coffee table, uncomfortable for using your computer. I think they should have a seperate room, because it gets congested in there and sometimes you can't find a place to sit. We loved this resort and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks staying at summer bay resort and we really loved the apartments!there were 9 of us in total and we had a 3 bed apartment, there was plenty of room and the apartments were nicely decorated with good kitchen and bathrooms.
The swimming pools were great with one on every corner you turned!! They were in a Fairly good location however there was only one restaurant within walking distance we would have preferred more as it meant driving everywhere.
All the grounds were well kept and the lakes and surrounding green areas.
What ever you do do not go to the time share sales pitch,supposedly lasts 1 hour 30 minutes but we were there almost 2 and a half hours and when we continued to say no to buying a timeshare they sales women said she couldn't find a manager to sign of the $100 vouchers we were entiitled to!!! A nightmare is putting it nicely!!the most pointless 2 and half hours of my life!!
Other than that, the resort is in a good location to all the parks and within a 5 minute drive there is a massive selection of shops,restaurants and bars.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando Resort has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando’s world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando Resort is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we’ve got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot®, Magic Kingdom® Park or Universal Studios Florida®.Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando Resort can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.