We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAYED AT SUMMER BAY RESORT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“STAYED AT SUMMER BAY RESORT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Booked a 3 week stay at the resort through RCI last June. After reading some poor reviews, became appprehesive, as we have previously stayed at the Hilton Vacation Club, and we're sure anything would be a let down. Upon our arrival, which was early, we were treated like valued guests and within an hour, our villa was ready. Everything was perfect, the location across from the pool, the cleanliness, amentities, etc. We were so pleased with everything, we made reservations for next Summer. The activities for kids was great, our daughter loved the magic show and crafts which were at no cost. Any maintanence problems were dealt with promptly and was even giving a jump start when the battery in our rental car died (I left the lights on). Everyone at this resort is great with the exception of the sales staff. We got talked into the 60 minute presentation to keep from being bothered every day during our vacation. Big mistake. Four hours later, after 3 very rude sales people, we were let go. There is so much to do at the resort, we only went to the atttraction twice during our 3 week stay (Busch Gardens and Dinosaur World).

Room Tip: Stay at the resort, not villas, houses, or hotels on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    398
    181
    107
    170
See reviews for
688
192
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Timeshare, that word itself will cause a reaction.
90 minutes becomes 4 hrs of interrogation, "obviously, you are going to go on a 10 day vacation every year". No does not mean no, it just leads to another 'incredible' offer. Even though they'll spend 45 min on the previous 'incredible' offer. Higher interest rates than the worse credit card, they are 100% ready to throw anyone the anchor that will send them into massive financial problems.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Our family of eight recently stayed at the Summer Bay Resort over the December 2011 Christmas Holiday! Our check-in was seamless. We experienced a very friendly/helpful staff who did all they could to assist us with every question/concern we had prior to locating our room. To our surprise, when we opened the door to our condo we were over the moon! We couldn't have enjoyed a better location, view, or service from the staff! There were so many things to do for the children, as well as the adults. We all actually made up our mind that we were never going back home! LOL! Housekeeping, maintenance, shuttle service, front desk, all provided us with superior service! We utilized the beach, activity room, tandem biking (6 seater), hot tubs, pools and The Big Kahuna! We were also less than 10 minutes from Walt Disney World and the Premium Outlets! There was not one day that we didn't enjoy it! We are actually planning our next trip for the upcoming Christmas Holiday 2012! It was just that good!!!! We made lasting memories and strengthen our family bond, couldn't ask for anything better!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, nearest the 24 hour pool. We had a balcony view of the corner lot and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a week during the holidays. The room was ok but dated and dirty. The property itself is nice. The two main pools are supposed to be heated but only the front one by Kokomo Tiki bar seemed to be working. Unfortunately, they had a caricature artist show up everyday who announced stupid things and played RAP (crap) music over a portable P.A. system.
There doesn't seem to be anyone in charge. The cleaning staff clang through the hallways screaming and hollerinwasg at seven in the morning. The front desk has ten people playing around. While I was waiting to check out, they had inadvertently given a room key to a man that had the same last name as a woman who was now terrified that some stranger had access to her unit. The employees didn't seem to care and didn't treat her very well.
As a property manager, I would clean house if these were my employees. They all seemed to be either rude or inconsiderate. It's too bad that a property with so much potential is allowed to be driven into the ground like that.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family and I stayed on 11/4 to 11/10 but the experience was terrible. The old carpet was dirty and sticky feel when walking on it, the bathrooms are dirty and smelling bad, the curtains are dirty, they never paint the walls, etc. I am an owner and make my payments every year but unfortunately I do not see the proper maintenance of the villas. What is happening with the money I paid and all other owners? I feel cheated
This place was better a few years ago, but today is a poor quality resort.

Room Tip: South side is the best place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay at Summer Bay thinking that we would have a great time having a home away from home during the holidays. Boy were we wrong. We were greeted with corners full of dirt and dust all over the condo. I started our vacation by cleaning, not my idea of a vacation. We also had roaches in our room, ants and millipedes. The last day of our stay when we woke up our son in his bed was a millipede. I am beyond disgusted with this resort. I am so thankful that we stayed on property in the same area where their timeshare owners stay because we were able to experience first hand what a scam their sales pitch is. My husband and I had to sit thru a presentation where they tried to convince us to become owners while ignoring our complaints and comments regarding our experience. They do not even offer a towel exchange without a fee. The rooms are extremely out dated yet their prices on ownership are extremely high. With the amount of money people are paying to become owners they should have a luxury resort. If I would have wanted roaches, horrible beds, and out dated furnishing with no Internet I would have stayed at a motel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Sales Pitch - I want to start with this as it seems to be an rea of great concern for most _ we never got a single call/individual approach us regarding this - Iam grateful!
Check-in : after getting lost from the airport we were one of 2 to check-in at almost 12midnite & this was efficient & getting into a meticulously clean and big partyment was bliss itself
Express Check-out option is divine - no hassles!
WiFi - at laest free if you go sit at their reception - pity has to be bought in the rooms.Needs progress here honestly
Pools - lovely though we were a Walt Disney family & never really got to enjoy them
Beds - the matress comfort's out of this world!
TV's great & huge LCD in the lounge and old sets in the bedrooms - no big deal though
I am not a Burger person but the 400's Bar is really as famous as it is touted to be -do have one please
Food prices - resort prices are high & so when we started discovering other eateries around us we stopped eating & drinking at the resort restaurants
We then moved to Orange Lake for week 2 - now that's something else I will leave for that resort's review page - suffice to say : awesome/modern/in a class of its own -Tennis Villas rock!

Room Tip: we were in the 400 units -top floor (no noise from above neighbours walking around!) & could wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.