We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Smokehouse & Grill

Oakwood Smokehouse & Grill
230 Citrus Tower Blvd, Clermont, FL 34711-2790
352-394-0036
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 168 Restaurants in Clermont
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great time, Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had dinner with 5 friends the last night we were in Florida. What a great time! Our server was personable, answered our questions and served us promptly. The food was good. I particilarly like their fried pickles. Ribs is their specilty and they are excellent. The wine and beer is really well priced. Great time. Great atmosphere. Won't break the bank.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    34
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food, service AND prices, not to mention serving sizes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoy trying new restaurants while on vacation. We do like BBQ, but usually are always disappointed, but not here! It was Sunday, which meant $3 off a full rack of ribs, so I decided to try them, along with a side of Mac & cheese and a sweet potato, joined by a giant slice of garlic Toast. My husband tried the 3 meat combo of sliced beef, pulled pork, and smoked chicken.(choice of white or dark meat) his sides were green beans and baked beans and garlic toast. The ribs were amazing! They fell off the one, the BBQ was slightly glazed, and very meaty with no gristle or fat. In our opinion the ribs were the " overall winner" ! We also wanted to watch the rest of the Daytona 500 race, so we splurged and ordered dessert to eat while the race finished.... peach cobbler and chocolate lava cake, both a la mode. The cobbler was out of this world, next time I want to try the black berry one. Hubby had a beer with his meal and the bill was less than $40, a real value! If you are visiting Micky & Minnie and want a great meal, extremely value priced, this is well worth the drive! Now we are just sad we don't have one of these in Wisconsin!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awsome Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Oakwood is our MOST favourite rib place. If you like ribs that are smothered with BBQ sauce and fall off the bone then give this place a try. Staff is soooo friendly and helpful. The baked beans and sweet potato fries are also good. The price is also great. $12.99 for a full rack of ribs with sides on Sunday and Wednesday. Also they have specials all week.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“BEST BARBEQUE SINCE WE LEFT TEXAS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have found a few good barbeque places locally, but have now found our favorite place! This is a spacious, comfortable and clean establishment, and includes an outdoor seating area as well. There is a view of Lake Minneola from the front of the restaurant. The staff are very friendly, courteous and efficient, and from what we could hear, many of the locals know the staff by name and reverse...which speaks volumes. We cannot say enough great things about the menu selections, including the variety of side dishes. We had the most tender and tastiest baby back ribs we have ever had (a special of a whole rack of ribs with two sides for $12.99)--great value. The sauce was delicious and plentiful...but if you need more, it is on the table for your convenience. I am a french fry snob, and read on Trip Advisor that they were great....when I asked our friendly server about the fries, she suggested I ask for them well done, just like she does--they were perfect--crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. The collard greens were delicious. Didn't care for the garlic toast that is included with the meal, (another thing I am picky about since I make my own garlic bread frequently requested at family gatherings.) There was not enough butter or garlic flavor for my taste, and it could be crunchier. Our soda/tea was refilled promptly without us asking. GREAT MEAL, VALUE AND SERVICE IN A COMFORTABLE ATMOSPHERE--WE WILL RETURN OFTEN.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The ribs just fall off the bone, and are they ever delicious! Worth getting your fingers smeared up for, but don't worry though they have lots of napkins!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakwood Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

Clermont, Central Florida
Clermont, Central Florida
 
Clermont, Central Florida
 

Been to Oakwood Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Smokehouse & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.