We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the street 1/4 mile north is a better choice.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Meridian Hotel to your Saves list
Meridian Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20329 US Hwy 27 N, Clermont, FL 34715 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Clermont)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Across the street 1/4 mile north is a better choice.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Looking to save a few dollars I opted to stay here.
Strange smell everywhere.
Only one room light working.
Lights by nightstands had no outlet to plug them into.
Only 1 outlet working in room. So if I were to use the computer that meant unplugging the t.v.
Roaches in the bathroom. Roaches on the t.v.stand that held the 12 year old tv
Roaches again in the bathroom after I took a shower.Roaches in the hall as I was going to check out.
Requested a 5AM wake up call. Never got it. Maybe because it turns out that there is nobody at the desk until 8:30 AM. The only place to eat there is a bar with less than average food.
So I guess that my advice would be to spend the night across US 27 . I believe it was a Days Inn. Spend the extra 10 or 15 dollars so that you don't have to inspect everything closely as you are loading up the car.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    2
    13
See reviews for
5
2
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Well the "NEW" owners have done amazing things with this hotel.. when i read the rest of the reviews i couldn't believe it .. First the staff is very attentive and helpful and the rooms are all upgraded with new beds air conditioners, and appliances. the Bar "Evan PAR Pub" has beautiful bartenders who are VERY Nice and attintive .. this place has Changed alot and can olny get better. I recomend this hotel anyone who is coming to Clermont Florida .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and it was a JOY! They just renovated the room and went through a management change. The manager was so nice and the staff very friendly. They have a wonderful bar connected to it that also serves good food. If you are looking for a nice place to stay this would be it!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starke, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

According to their web site and advertisements, this hotel has an exterior pool, coffeemaker in the room, microwave available, and a free continental breakfast each morning. Sounds great...until you check in! When we arrived last Friday (7/13/12), the pool was a green, scummy mess (closed), there was NO coffeemaker in the room, the microwave was in the LAUNDRY ROOM, and there was NO continental breakfast. The room itself was small and musty, NO facial tissue in the dispenser, 1/4 roll of toilet paper (no spare roll), and the "complimentary" shampoo and conditioner bottles were only 1/2 full! (USED!)
When I returned to the front desk and told them I would NOT be staying, the Indian (Pakastani?) clerks would NOT provide any written confirmation that I had not stayed (they already had my cc#), but "promised" my cc would be refunded later! As soon as this charge is posted, I WILL be contesting it with my cc company! I hadn't even sat on the bed! (I wouldn't be surprised if the sheets hadn't been laundered!)
Extremely unhelpful staff, terrible environment! AVOID THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOUR ONLY OPTION IS SLEEPING IN YOUR CAR!

Room Tip: Go across the street to the Days Inn, for the love of God!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tally
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

First off, the owner is very rude and reluctant to help with such things as providing fresh towels. There ARE bedbugs. There are only two lights in the rooms so it is always dark and dim. The toilet clogs easily, and the employees are not helpful when it does. There is a pool, but it is closed. The ice machines and laundry room are out of service. The entire hotel is *extremely dirty,* especially the carpets and mattresses. While the rate seems cheap, staying there is not even worth it; any amount of money is too much to pay for this one. The location is terrible, its not close to anything, you'll be driving at least 15 minutes to get to town and the closest eating establishments. Also, I learned that the motel directly adjacent to this one is residence to fresh-out-of-jail parolees that pay cash by the week and there is 24/7 police surveillance on it. Considering there is only a worn out wooden fence between the two hotels, it is an uneasy feeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is 100% not worth it, pass it by. The rooms are tiled and dirty, there was some kind of grease or oil on the phone and clock, dirt and dust everywhere. The bathroom paint was peeling and so on.

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In transit
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Due to very sick hotel in orlando and a lack of available rooms we expanded our search and found this hotel.

It looked ok in the pictures and the price was ok so took the room we didnt care at this point we needed the rest.

The hotel is an older style with a indoor coridoor that leads to the rooms but the back of the room is a sliding glass door. Kinda odd when it comes to safety.

The dark fake wood paneling doors remind you once again of the age of the property, invoking memories of when I was single and stayed at some budget trucker motels.

Room looked ok pulled back the cover and there were spiders (yes plural) running around, I hate spiders so they were dispatched quickly and a quick check didnt see any more.

We woke to scream as my wife found on dangling in her face (glad it wasnt me this time) and then we started noticing the bites on our arms from what looked to be other spiders.

Check out here we come!

After leaving and getting to our final hotel we had to wash all our clothes and spray our luggage to make sure we didnt have any stragglers.

So I would recommend this hotel for ..........well guess I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Hotel

Address: 20329 US Hwy 27 N, Clermont, FL 34715 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Clermont)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Meridian Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Hotel & Suites provides an arcade/game room, complimentary parking, conference/meeting rooms. Guestrooms have extended cable and Bar/restaurant on site provides your food and drinks needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Meridian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.