We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Tasty ribs. But overrated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poppa's BBQ

Poppa's BBQ
12211 49th St N, Clearwater, FL 33762
+1 727-954-8871
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 570 restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Award Winning BBQ Restaurant.Slow Smoked Pulled Pork. Mouth Watering Baby Back Ribs.Dine In or Take Out. Catering Available.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good value. Tasty ribs. But overrated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This place was good, but nowhere near the level of "the best" as noted in other reviews. "Best bar-b-que" should be reserved for use for places like Fiorella's in KC, Saz's in Milwaukee, Corky's or Interstate in Memphis or Bo Bo's Po Pig Bo-B-Q in South Carolina.

With that being said, the meat was masterfully prepared. The pulled pork was moist, but not over juicy. The wood smoked ribs were tender, holding onto the bone just long enough to make it to your mouth. The beans were average (could have been out of a can) and the creamy coleslaw was light on dressing and flavor.

There was seating for about 15 people inside, and there were twice that many people who wanted to eat there. Some seating is available outside, but it is hot and humid in Florida and Poppa's is located next to a bail bonds office.

I recommend picking up food for a picnic. Call ahead to avoid the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    152
    32
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent pulled pork sandwich,the smoker is just outside,smells great as you pull up!! Needs a definite visit!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida, United States
1 review
“Best Damn Food in the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

1st time tasting the best chicken breast I've ever had. The bbq pork sandwiches are the bomb best, and the ribs are to die for... juicy & fall off the bone type then melt in your mouth like krisy kreme donuts lol. & ditto with the chicken breast. They taste better than most dark meat chicken at any restaurant.
From Half Beard

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure in Clearwater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just got back from our trip to WDW, and can not stop thinking about the amazing BBQ we had at Poppa's. So worth the drive to Clearwater, the ribs and pulled pork were the best we have ever eaten, and we know our BBQ. The ribs were so meaty, tender,and full of flavor.
You have to go early, once they are out they are out, as the very nice man told us. Don't let the small location sway you, you truly won't be disappointed. Darn this is making me hungry for more! We will back next time we are in Florida.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lunch Special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Two ribs, pork sandwich and a drink for about seven bucks. Very good quality bbq. The place is real clean with good service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppa's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Poppa's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppa's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.