We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Clearwater to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Spring,Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed for eight nights to help a relative with a medical procedure. The beds were excellent. Every night was a great sleep. We were on the 3rd floor and there was no noise. We had to cook each night and that was very convenient. I recommend a ceiling fan should be added to the room to circulate the air. The a/c was very cool but was slow coming on when you needed it. We had to constantly reset the thermostat. We will stay there again!

  • Liked — The full kitchen
  • Disliked — No ceiling fan
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    50
    27
    6
    17
See reviews for
25
46
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleareater, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

My wife and I have stayed here numerous times just to "get out of the house." We have stayed in the Studio and the Suites of this establishment. The staff have always been very friendly. If you want more towels, pillows, coffee, whatever, they will get it for you right away. The pool is small but clean. They have a fitness room as well. If you are looking for scenic beach views, this place is NOT for you. For that you have to pay a lot more and settle for little to no amenities unless you pay for them.
Try to book thru AAA or one of the discounters to get a better rate, just like any other place you would stay at.

For the bolder chef, they have a nice gas grill or you can bring food that can be heated in a microwave or on the stove. They also have a small coffee maker and toaster in EVERY room.

For groceries, I recommend the Publix on East bay drive and US 19 or go East to the Publix on Ulmerton road across from Feather Sound. Candle wood does provide food and essentials on the honor system, but it is priced higher.

Some of the reviews you will read talk about the carpets, noisy housekeepers, etc. My wife and I have stayed here at least 10 times in the past 3 years. Noise has not been an issue, ever. The rooms are being upgraded with new carpets and furniture.
Our room has always been clean.

As you read the reviews, keep in mind that many nice to have things are provided without paying extra. (How often do you see that?)

The complimentary washers and dryers are a nice plus. (Yes, they are free.) We appreciate the full size fridge, large microwave, stove even a dishwasher. (Even in the studio) Each room has plates, glasses, pots, pans, silverware...making it nice if you want to heat up a meal or take-out on a plate. They have videos and dvds available without cost, along with a CD player. Add some candles and you can have a nice romantic get-away.

  • Liked — The room...everything you could need is there. This is THE place for the 30-85 age group and the business travelor.
  • Disliked — Not a place for teens...small pool and no game room. No malls or attractions nearby.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed here from Aug 1 to 5th, very friendly staff, good central location, and very clean. Beds were great, my wife has some neck problems and she was worried that a strange bed might aggravate her neck, but the beds were excellent. Large bathroom w/tub.

Can't stress how nice and clean the property was.

There is a vacant grocery store next door which is the only sore point, but other than overgrown grass, there was no garbage.

Parking lot was well lit at night which we like, regardless of where we travel.

Without hesitation, we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Central location to beaches and airport
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Excellent Value -- Checked in on Friday - 1/11/08 earlier than the posted check-in time and was given a room on the 2nd floor, very quiet and clean. The room has a queen bed with a small kitchenette that includes a refrigerator, 2 burner stove, microwave, toaster, coffee maker & dishwasher. Free bag of popcorn in microwave & coupons for 2 free cans of soda pop from "The Candlewood Cupboard" ( a small honor system store on site). Also offered at this property are free diy washers & dryers along with an exercise room. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they will do what they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Some people may not like the fact that there is no daily maid service (weekly only), if you want new towels or bedding, you may exchange at the front desk, (we exchanged our towels daily). We were only here 3 days & kept the same bedding. This place is great for the travelers on a budget as you are able to to take advantage of the kitchen to reduce some of those high costs of eating out.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

I thought I was getting a suite in this all suite hotel, but it was just a hotel room with a small kitchen area. You get no housekeeping at all here, and the desk I am wring at is too tiny for the laptop and associated business items. Hotel is noisy, and without any amenities. I did not plan to grill nor cook my own meals, but would like a made up bed, fresh towels and re-fills for the coffee maker. There was no pressure in the shower, and the toilet was set for such a small water flow that it stopped up repeatedly. Had to rely on the ice maker in the frig for ice, which of course was empty when I arrived and took a full day to get half full. If you want to stay for a week and do your own housekeeping and cook your own meals this might be the place for you; for me it was not. Hotwire price was $42 a night and I was here for almost a week... almost long enough to get housekeeping, but not quite.

  • Liked — the computer connection in the room; but not wifi
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

first off, booked the room 20 minutes before arrival on hotwire.
$90.00 for two nites cannot be beat. hotel was clean, staff was friendly, and amenities as promised. location was close to the airport, pool was nice, BBQ gas grill was a great option.
def. would stay there again and other candlewood properties.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

I booked this through Hotwire due to the price...a 2 1/12 star for $44. All we needed was a bed to sleep in after speding a large amount of time at the Tampa airport that day and didn't feel like driving home late at night. The hotel was okay...worth the $44, but I wouldn't have spent the $89-$100 I was seeing elsewhere for this hotel. The room was clean and quiet, but the toliet stopped working mid-night. Luckily we were only there for a night. The nice part is that there is a full size fridge and microwave...plus near a store, so you can run for beer, soda, etc. The "store" they have on site is strange...meaning nice to offer sodas and snacks, but it's on the "honor system", so you drop your money (which I did, thank you) in a slot or you fill out a slip and they charge it to your room. Strange, but I guess it works. I felt very safe at this hotel; after I think 9PM, the only way to get in the front door of the place is with your room key, and the back door of the hotel (by the BBQ grills) is always that way...you can't get in unless you have your room key. Overall, I would stay there again if I needed a cheap place for the night...the front desk is VERY friendly, which make you feel at home. I would recommend this place for a short stay...can't comment on a long visit, but they do have laundry facilities right there, which is nice in that case.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Address: 13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Clearwater hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay. Studio room has one queen size bed and all have a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our on site fitness center or heated outdoor pool. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay We are centrally located and easy access to Interstate 75, Tampa International Airport, and the St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico Beaches!. Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are popular area attractions to visit. We are a pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable pet fee - $15 for 1 first night $10 for each additional night capped at $150 for duration of stay. Two pets less than 80 lbs. Per suite . Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Clearwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.