We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Clearwater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #55 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Beamsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Excellent, clean, newly renovated, modern, exceptional staff very roomy. Staff went out over there way to assist me in my future booking with Hotels.com. This the first time I have tipped a clerk at a hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Excellent services, rooms are very modern and exceptionally roomy. Very clean. Staff was very helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    20
    6
    16
See reviews for
23
37
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The property seems to be right on the line between a good part of town and a bad part of town, which concerned us a bit when we saw a couple of people loitering near the entrance.
I suppose the price reflects this so you get what you pay for.

Inside the staff was nice and I was surprised at how nice the room looked. The kitchen was convenient and everything was nicely decorated. However, there was a very strong musty, moldy smell every time we opened the door to the room. The smell did not match how the room looked -- as if someone had carpeted over a moldy floor and remodeled with no regard to actual condition of the room.

The fire detector in our room kept beeping and we had to tell management about it twice, but it was resolved after the second time.

Overall would recommend for a brief stay (even though this is an extended stay property.)
They also allow dogs, which is nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Exactly what it said on the tin!! Yes on a busy road hey your not paying for the Waldorf! Very nice place. Easy to get to, not far from Clearwater Beach or the Westfield Mall. Car Park- Plenty of spaces, the staff incredibly friendly. Everything we needed so yes would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When we arrived there was someone outside smoking and a line of people waiting to check in at the front desk. Some were "regulars," and seemed to be construction workers. I began to be concerned that I had taken my friend to a low-class kind of place. However once we got to our rooms I felt better. We couldn't get adjacent rooms as requested, but we did get across the hall. The rooms looked great and had little kitchenettes and a long work desk with an office chair. We were happy as we stayed up talking in my room late into the night. We stayed for two days and the rooms were clean and we felt safe inside. This was a great base for the exploring that we did in the area.

The staff were friendly and when I called for a question about the air-conditioning he called me back a half hour later to see if it had worked, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mom2All_Girls,

Thank you for the candid review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the room accommodations. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The room was very nice for the price. My wife and I stayed in a room with a single queen bed. It had a full size fridge, stove top, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker. We could have stayed there for a week and been comfortable. The staff was friendly, and took time to fix a mix up with my rewards points. We travel a lot, and this was the nicest room we have stayed in, in this price range. The biggest draw back was the lack of breakfast in the morning. They have microwave and toaster items available, but they cost extra. Overall, a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very good value for the room suite which included kitchen with full size refrigerator, a huge desk, sofa, recliner, two TV's DVD player, and two closets. The suite had many and easy to reach outlets for charging my electronic equipment. The room, bath and furniture where very clean.

The location is not the best, since it is not close to the beach and there are not many eating choices within a short walking distance. However, it is within 5 minutes of the St. Petersburg airport and 20 minutes from the Tampa International Airport. There are many restaurant choices within a mile or two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and were impressed with the service received. We arrived late at night and although doors were locked, we were greeted quite readily by the staff. Check in was quick and it being late at night was appreciated. Easy and express check out with acknowledgement of priority club status.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Address: 13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Clearwater hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay. Studio room has one queen size bed and all have a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our on site fitness center or heated outdoor pool. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay We are centrally located and easy access to Interstate 75, Tampa International Airport, and the St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico Beaches!. Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are popular area attractions to visit. We are a pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable pet fee - $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet less than 80 lbs. per suite . Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Smoking preference not guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Clearwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.