We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible unfriendly staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Clearwater to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Rochester
1 review
“Horrible unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I will never stay at a Candlewood suites again! The staff were the most unwelcoming unfriendly and unaccomodating staff I have ever met. The manager needs to be fired. I caught her talking badly about my family. I am pretty sure all the staff failed their customer service class. The hotel is a dump. It hasn't been updated since the early 80s. I highly recommend staying on a park bench over this mess.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear techgirl5,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Candlewood Suites Clearwater. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    50
    27
    6
    17
See reviews for
25
46
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evans Mills, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Exterior is like other Candlewood Suites, however, the interior is another story. The owners need to update the facilities including carpeting and televisions. Could be cleaner.

While okay for a night or two I would recommend looking for another location to stay for an extended stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear RicBertsch,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you liked the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waverly iowa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for only one night, for an early morning flight out of St. Pete Airport, which is 2 miles away. We had one queen bed, which sleep well. I loved the little kitchen, stove, sink, microwave, big fridge, with all dishes. i wish I had stayed longer to use it! Also, they had two nice gas grills by the pool for you to use. This hotel also had FREE laundry, with a lot of machines, a nice exercise area. They also have microwave dinners, candy, drinks for you to purchase, and at good prices too. Free DVD movies to check out also. We went to the pool, which they provide you towels. I will be going back to this hotel, every time, I need a hotel in St. Pete.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Arrived at hotel and waited in the lobby for 45 minutes before someone showed up to check us in. Desk Clerk was not friendly. Got to our room, which I reserved weeks before, and it was a Studio suite and not the Suite with a separate bedroom . I went down to the front desk and explained that I had paid for a 1 bedroom suite and not the studio. The desk clerk could hardly looked up from what she was doing and said that I got what I paid for. I tried to explain that when I made the reservation I specifically spoke to the reseervation clerk regarding what I wanted for a room and he confirmed that there would be a separate bedroom and I paid more for it. She said no.....you got what you paid for! She was rude and did not seem to care. While at this hotel, I spoke to another guest and the same thing happened to her. I have stayed at Candlewood Suites in other areas several times before, and have never had this problem. Horrible customer service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Mlyn12953,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We only stayed at this hotel for one night but had a pleasant surprise when we found we'd got a full kitchen in the room,cooker, dishwasher, fridge, microwave, dishes etc Good job really as it's not very near to any restaurants or anything, but an excellent overnight stay if you're travelling. We paid $60 for one night

Room Tip: Make sure you bring a take out or your own food when you stay here as there is absolutely nothing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoFL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Check in at 10pm &out at 9am. Pay under $90 for a clean room and a short stay is fine with me. I prefer not to have a kitchen. The sound of refrigerator thermostat turning motor on & off can wake you up. No outside noise- I was on ground flr. overlooking parking lot & never heard the cars outside the window as they left.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Dont Believe what other people say Yes this Hotels is Basic But it does the Job for an average rate of $60 a night.

The hotel is in good location for easy access to the I275 the beach is within 30 minutes drive away. But it is very close to the main road so at time there is traffic noise.

If your wanting a cheap play to stay but a fridge cooking unit and free laundry you cant ask for more.

Staff are very helpful, rooms are a bit tired but OK just remember that people are allowed to cook in there rooms so sometime when you are walking to you room you can smell what others are cooking.

Hotels pool is good as it never gets used and there are plenty of sunbeds but it can be a bit shady at time from the sun due to trees.

To the side of the hotel the is a BBQ Area supply with FREE gas and cooking items at the back of the hotel is a dog walking area which is great if you want to bring your best friend here.

I would stay here again if i was in the area as there is a Holiday inn and a Express down the road charging over $100 dollars a night Why stay there when this hotel does the same JOB and let you cook your own food and washing

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Address: 13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Clearwater hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay. Studio room has one queen size bed and all have a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our on site fitness center or heated outdoor pool. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay We are centrally located and easy access to Interstate 75, Tampa International Airport, and the St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico Beaches!. Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are popular area attractions to visit. We are a pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable pet fee - $15 for 1 first night $10 for each additional night capped at $150 for duration of stay. Two pets less than 80 lbs. Per suite . Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Clearwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.