We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13200 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #47 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Arriving close to midnight, I was checked in by an efficient and friendly staff member, who upgraded me to a 2 bedroom suite, presumably due to my Marriott Rewards status. The staff member was very helpful in explaining the features and the services of the hotel. My suite was spotless, well furnished, and efficiently laid out. Wireless internet worked flawlessly. I particularly appreciated the fact that there were 4 bags of coffee for the drip coffeemaker, because so many hotels have these yet only leave one or two bags, which makes for a very anemic pot of coffee. The bed was very comfortable, the suite was quiet, and I was able to get a very good night's sleep.

Check-out the following morning was handled by an equally efficient and pleasant staff member.

In my experience TownePlace Suites consistently deliver a good experience, and this property was no exception. Clearly, the employees here love their jobs and go out of their way to make sure that the guests' needs are consistently met.

My only suggestion ... thirsty terry towels for the bath would be a nice addition. The stock towels used are average at best.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your recent stay at the TownePlace Suites. It is always so nice to hear from our guests; especially when we have exceeded their expecations.

I am very proud of our staff and they all work very hard to make ensure a great experience. I have posted your comments in the breakroom for the entire team to read.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with TripAdvisor.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
13
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night as we were flying out of St. Petersburg early in the morning and it's across the street from the airport. Location is fantastic for that. The hotel could use some fixing up. We had a two bedroom suite - best suite layout that I've seen at this price point. Even had a little kitchen that we didn't use but if we were staying longer it would have been convenient.

The decor is extremely outdated - looks like mid 90s? As mentioned above, could use some fixing up. The bathroom was cramped. The shower faucet, hot/cold water control, and shower head are not mounted properly and move when you turn it on. Shower curtain had stains on it - gross! The rest of the room however was cleaned to satisfaction.

The value was very reasonable - especially for a suite. But a bit surprised of the quality issues at a Marriott hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay at the TownePlace Suites.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests, especially when we have succeeded in making their experience a pleasant one. It is our goal to give our guests the best possible service and accommodations at an affordable price.

If you get back to the Clearwater area, we hope that you will stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was Easter Sunday and the desk clerk was very helpful and friendly even though she was working on a holiday. The room and all common areas were very clean and all staff members were extremely friendly. This is exactly why I love Marriott properties.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel! We rely on reviews, such as yours, to ensure that we are meeting the guest expecation and providing a pleasant experience.

Our team members are our most valuable asset and we are proud of their accomplishments. We are particularly pleased when we succed in making a valued guest feel welcome.

Thank you for staying with us!

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just way too many substandard issues with this location. Room was tidy and we were afforded early check-in by the front desk. Design-wise, we had a two-bedroom suite and they should have really configured the suites with the bathroom somewhere else besides one of the bedrooms. Very inconvenient. The common areas were all grimy looking, including the entry to our building. Included breakfast consists of cereal, green bananas and hard apples. This is no longer a driver for making lodging decisions for us. They could charge more and improve the quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I great appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the TownePlace Suites. Please accept my apolgies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will meet with the leadeship team and share your comments. Please be assured that all your concerns will be discussed and corrective action will be taken.

It's from comments, such as yours, that we rely on to make improvements and maintain the high Marriott Standards that our travelers have grown to love and expect. If you get back to Clearwater, please come back and stay with us again!

Many thanks for your review and comments.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Oven didn't work.
Stove fan didn't work which caused me to set off the smoke alarm. (When that occured I tried to pick up the phone and call the front desk, guess what, that didn't work either)
The sofabed was more "spring" than mattress ...

The pillows were not Marriott!!!!!

The TVs were OLD, even the TV channels were different than the list provided.

The best part was the short stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time review our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Let me assure you it is our intention to maintain the highest levels of quality and service. With this goal in mind, I have discussed your concerns with our staff in hope that we may avoid such concerns in the future.

We greatly appreciate your feed and hope that if get back to the Clearwater area that you will give us another opportunity. Your continued loyalty is very important to us.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

spend one night there..very convenient location.. nice, clean and spacious rooms, quiet..
the personnel that checked us in was very friendly and accomodating.. breakfast the typical with muffins and yoghurt.. small area to sit.. overall good value

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights the beginning of this month. We were very pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite. This included a small kitchen with a full sized refrigerator, stove, dishwasher & microwave. There were 3 TV's, although they really need to be updated. Also included was a complimentary continental breakfast served in the lobby. They could use more tables for breakfast and a waffle maker would be great.

Overall, it was a good value for the price. It could us a bit of updating. Staff was great! Very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, and as I have family in Clearwater, it's very likely that I will be here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
Quiet, Pool, Mi...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
Free internet...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Clearwater
Budget, Free in...
Show More
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - ICOT Center
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Clearwater
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater

Address: 13200 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Towneplace Suites Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.