We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TownePlace.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13200 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #51 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights the beginning of this month. We were very pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite. This included a small kitchen with a full sized refrigerator, stove, dishwasher & microwave. There were 3 TV's, although they really need to be updated. Also included was a complimentary continental breakfast served in the lobby. They could use more tables for breakfast and a waffle maker would be great.

Overall, it was a good value for the price. It could us a bit of updating. Staff was great! Very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, and as I have family in Clearwater, it's very likely that I will be here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
11
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

We had reservations to stay here, we had a used a promo code that was supposed to be half off, there is no way this place is selling rooms for the $110 that was supposed to be regular price! Coming into the area we immediately noticed undesirables congregated at the gas station next door, as we drove through the parking lot there were several low class males sitting at a table with a female drinking beer, all of the doors were open on their car, leading me to believe they possibly were not even staying there, we circled the lot and the female got up and walked toward us, then continued on to the edge of a retention pond when she realized we were not going to stop. She was obviously high and most likely a prostitute. We did not even go into the lobby, we called Marriott and expressed our concern that they would put their good name on this place, they found us a room at a much better hotel for just a little more!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Although our hotel has an excellent safety record, I greatly appreciate your feedback and will share this with the staff. If you get back to the Clearwater area, I hope that you would give us another opportunity to earn your business.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is in disrepair although the lobby looks nice. Doors which say they are locked for guest safety are in fact unlocked. Tv in room is an old 19inch tube type from 1992.

All this said the room is clean.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback in regards to your recent stay.

We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing great service and accomodations at affordable prices. I thank you for taking the time to let us know where improvement is needed so that we may continue to maintain the Marriott standards that our customer expect.

I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity and stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We chose to stay here because our trip was planned last minute and it was one of the few places that could house our family of six in the Clearwater area. The bathroom smelled of urine, even my children noticed. Also the dishes in the kitchen were not clean. They had lipstick stains on the rim. I made my children where socks because the floors seemed dirty. The bottom of their socks turned black. The lack of cleanliness in these areas would prevent me from staying at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011 via mobile

Comfortable decent size rooms. The beds are comfy!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Rooms were furnished with average hotel type particle board laminate furniture. Tub unit with a "too low" shower head and low end single handle chrome faucets. Plenty of scratchy towels. Property seems about 10 years old. Pool (colored blue) is in the parking lot. Great for business travelers or transients....not for vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the TownePlace Suites. Although we do get many families that stay with us while on vacation, we specialize in long-term stays and corporate business travel. The hotel is 12 years and went through a complete renovation in 2007.

We love to get feedback from our recent travelers as this is our way to provide recognition to our staff or make changes based upon the great suggestions we receive. If you get back to the Clearwater, we'd love to have you stay with us again! Many thanks for your business ~ it's very much appreciated.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Our stay was wonderful starting at check-in. Front clerk was very friendly and knew the area to guide us to eating places. The room was extremely clean (I have a cleaning service, so I give places a white glove test before settling in). I didn't realize I would have a fully stocked KITCHEN including a dishwasher. Refrig, stove and all cabinets including under the sink, was spotless. Saved money by cooking my own simple meal including our breakfast. There was a grill outside by the pool. It was storming so we didn't use it. The beds and pillows were comfy. A/C and shower were working great also. There is nothing negative to say. I will be back in 2 mos and I will be staying here again. We have 15 other friends that stayed other places, saw ours and wanted to change hotels to where we were staying. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Thank you so much for the lovely review of the hotel. I printed your review and shared it with the staff. Our housekeepers work very hard and take a great deal of pride in the hotel and they were all thrilled to have such recognition on the Trip Advisor website.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater

Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Towneplace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater Hotel
Towneplace Suites Clearwater
Address: 13200 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater to your Saves list