We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Smart, Clean Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Lake Boulevard, 49th Street Bridge & Highway 19, Clearwater, FL 33760 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Clearwater)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Bushkill, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Smart, Clean Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I are here on our honeymoon. I thought at first we made a mistake when we came to this area and pulled up to the hotel, as there wasn't much around and it looked pretty generic,/ but it turned out to be a wise choice after all. The hotel was SUPER CLEAN, which is important to me, the Manager Mr. Patel personally saw to my needs and most of the staff is friendly. Its also right between Clearwater and the beaches and attractions there, not far from the airport, close to Downtown St. Pete's, and is more or less right in the center of all the Bay area attractions, but well enough removed that we had a nice intimate getaway. No major bells and whistles, but the continental breakfast was adequate and saves money, fitness center was adequate and so was pool and hot tub. Also have guest office and conference rooms which are more than adequate. Our suite was clean and good. Only problems were the lack of television channels and poor reception. Good choice for family vacationers, business trips and even low key romantic couple getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    44
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
54
45
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have never had a hotel manger make his rounds at breakfast to make sure everyone had a nice stay. Mr Patel, the manager of this hotel, came up to us at breakfast and asked us how our stay was. This goes a long way in making guests feel welcome. He is very personable and friendly. He mingles with the guests and makes them feel appreciated.

The lobby of this hotel is beautiful from top to bottom. The floors of the lobby are beautifully tiled, with wood accents throughout. The hotel is clean and very welcoming. The halls are not freezing, because the air is turned up, which is frequently the case with many hotels. The coffee is even better here than it was at previous La Quintas we have stayed at.

This should be our last hotel stay for a while, as we have found a place in an area we love. This has been a long, strange trip, but we have made it through. We move into our new place today, and we are thrilled. Hopefully, there wouldn't be any more hotel reviews from me in a good while.

Room Tip: A great place to stay. The rooms are very large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the room and breakfast. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It might be off the beaten path but there is shopping and dining maybe 5 miles down the road. We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I come from Tallahassee to Clearwater once a month for business. We stayed at 5000 lake Blvd, we will definitely be back. Staff is wonderful. Very clean. Would recommend to all. Great breakfast and coffee. The pool is very clean. The king size bed slept very well, the room had 5 pillows, brought my pillows from home didn't need them. The General Manager Mr. Patel showed genuine concern and let us check in early. The auditor that works in the morning was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We made reservation at a nearby LaQuinta in Pinellas Park, but switched to this location. Glad we did!! This location is SOOOO much nicer!! Great staff and much, much nicer rooms.
It is a bit farther from the restaurants (10-15 minute drive) since it sits in a business district, but there is a FANTASTIC restaurant right next door that we walked to and had a great time. The hotel is within 20-30 minutes of all the great beaches in the Tampa/Clearwater area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This isn't your typical La Quinta Hotel. All rooms are within the 4 story high rise structure and a very popular restaurant (Quaker Steak & Lube, a NASCAR themed establishment) is just behind the property but access to everything is convenient because the hotel is on US-19. The breakfast area is spacious and offers the full spectrum of selections. The pool is behind the building and not exposed to passing traffic, there is an inside hot tub spa and exercise room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South

Address: 5000 Lake Boulevard, 49th Street Bridge & Highway 19, Clearwater, FL 33760 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Clearwater)
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Wyndham Clearwater
Clearwater Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.