We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating should be 1*but when addressed mgr was apologetic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Clearwater Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Clearwater Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21030 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Rating should be 1*but when addressed mgr was apologetic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Visiting area for Astros Spring Training and thought this would be close to stadium. Read reviews on the site but they must have been done by in house because we will give this place a MISS. We had ants in the bathroom. No circulating fan in bathroom so if you took a shower everything fogged up. AC vent in bathroom had black mold on it. Bathroom shower head had pink mold on it and no pressure. Thank goodness we are only staying here one night because there won't be a second. Breakfast was satisfactory and enough to go around. My husband did address these issues with the mgr and said he was attentive and apologetic and told him the rooms had not been revamped in six years. They definitely need to be redone but most of all new housekeeping. Buyer beware...I'm from Houston so used to this factor but to give you an idea of location this is an area of TONS of strip joints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseclearwater, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for filling trip advisor. Your comments are very important to us. We understand that when you are far way from home, you would like to stay where you feel most comfortable.



On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at our hotel.

Please accept our apology



Sincerely,


Jose Manuel Lovaton, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Jose.lovaton2@hilton.com
727-797-8173
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    158
    81
    39
    26
See reviews for
177
131
29
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I am on the Hilton Rewards Program so try to stay at Hamptons or Hilton family hotels. This one is in the middle of construction on US 19 and Gulf to Bay Blvd in Clearwater and after checking in there was no way I wanted to venture back out to find food, so ordered pizza. That corner is a mess. Not the Hampton's fault, however. The room was nice, but not what I usually find at other Hamptons as far as the bed comfort. It had a fridge but no microwave. It had a breakfast buffet but it closed too early (I believe it was 10 a.m.) Maid knocked on door at about 9 or so and I asked her about the buffet and she could not speak English. It was noisy at night and wondered if my car was going to be OK. And of course the room was not cheap. Got through the night but the next night went to a Holiday Inn even tho I am on the Hilton Rewards Program...

Room Tip: Make sure you can see your car from your roomk and park well away from the construction and US 19 ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseclearwater, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for filling our survey recently. Your comments are very important to us. We understand that when you are far way from home, you would like to stay where you feel most comfortable.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback, we do have refrigerator upon request and are happy to provide one.

Please accept our apology, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.


Have a Wonderful Day!

Sincerely,


Jose Manuel Lovaton, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Jose.lovaton2@hilton.com
727-797-8173
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Where do I start. First the hotel is located along the side of US 19 which is under a gigantic construction project. It is such a pain to get in and out of the hotel property. While trying to register for the room it appeared no one was working behind the desk. We must have waited for more then five minutes before someone came out. The counter top had ants crawling around on top of it as well. Once we finally made it to the room we attempted to take a shower. The shower drain was clogged. I asked to be moved and they accommodated me with a move to a bigger room, but the toilet did not flush completely. Speaking of the toilets the bathrooms are so small you have to stand beside the toilet to close the door.

Bottom line, not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseclearwater, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for filling our survey recently. Your comments are very important to us. We understand that when you are far way from home, you would like to stay where you feel most comfortable.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback, please contact us..

Please accept our apology, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.


Have a Wonderful Day!

Sincerely,


Jose Manuel Lovaton, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Jose.lovaton2@hilton.com
727-797-8173
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have always stayed at Hampton Inns and are usually pleased. In ten years we have only found 2 hamplon Inns that did not meet our standards. This says alot for the Hampton Inn Chain. This hotel was not up to our standards and I would not stay there again. About the only thing I can say that was positive was that it was near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseclearwater, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for filling our survey recently. Your comments are very important to us. We understand that when you are far way from home, you would like to stay where you feel most comfortable.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback, please conctact us.

Please accept our apology, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.


Have a Wonderful Day!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This is an older property, complete with exterior corridors and "cozy" rooms, but the furnishings and electronics in the room were new, complete with the Hampton decor that you'd expect (white duvet, granite vanity, ample workspace). The lobby is open and spacious, and the breakfast area looked brand new with a nice selection of food. The parking lot is not well lit at night, which could be intimidating, given the hotel's exterior corridors. It'll be better when the US 19 construction is complete...until it is, this hotel is not as easy to access as, say the Holiday Inn Express next door.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseclearwater, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for filling our survey recently. Your comments are very important to us. We understand that when you are far way from home, you would like to stay where you feel most comfortable.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback, please contact us..

Please accept our apology, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.


Have a Wonderful Day!

Sincerely,


Jose Manuel Lovaton, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Jose.lovaton2@hilton.com
727-797-8173
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is an older one off US19 which is under heavy construction. The beds are the luxurious Hampton Standard Linen Duvet. Small room compared to other Hampton Inns. The garden and pool area were beautiful with a wonderful hot tub and waterfall feature

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseclearwater, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for filling a comment on trip advisor. Your comments are very important to us. We understand that when you are far way from home, you would like to stay where you feel most comfortable.


We know that your time is very valuable and we truly appreciate that you took the time out your busy day to share your experience with us. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in Clearwater area.

Have a Wonderful Day!

Sincerely,


Jose Manuel Lovaton, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Jose.lovaton2@hilton.com
727-797-8173
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel lobby being remodeled, will be beautiful when complete, beds are fabulous! Very helpful staff! Plenty of parking, rooms clean and quiet. Wish I had brought my bathing suit, the spa looked great. Calming waterfall, grounds were very pretty. Would definetely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseclearwater, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for filling a comment on trip advisor. Your comments are very important to us. We understand that when you are far way from home, you would like to stay where you feel most comfortable.

I share all our guests’ responses with my team and it’s always a joy to share positive ones such as yours. People often take the time to tell when we rea doing wrong and less likely to tell us when we are doing something right. These types of responses from our values guests are sure to bring a smile to the faces of our team!

We know that your time is very valuable and we truly appreciate that you took the time out your busy day to share your experience with us. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in Clearwater area.

Have a Wonderful Day!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Clearwater Central

Address: 21030 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#34 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Clearwater Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.