We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Your Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added GulfView Hotel - On The Beach to your Saves list
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Value for Your Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed the weekend (Friday and Saturday) at the Gulfview Hotel. I live locally, but needed a mini vacation. The staff was very accommodating, and gave me a room on the 5th Floor with a great view at a reasonable price. Unfortunately the door lock was broken, but when I told the Desk Staff, they had it fixed immediately! The next day I asked if Housekeeping could clean my room while I was at Breakfast, and again they went out of their way to get it done. They also provided me with towels for the pool. My only complaint was Shephards Resort next door with their loud music past midnight hindering my sleep, which the Gulfview Hotel Staff had no control over.

Room Tip: If you plan to go to bed before Midnight, then request a room on the side of the building facing IHo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    42
    27
    45
See reviews for
78
51
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were hesitant to stay at the GulfView Hotel because of some of the negative reviews. Boy were we surprised. Not only was the guy at the front desk "Jeff" an absolute nice guy but he catered to our every request. Our room didn't smell like some of the others reported. We were on the 4th floor. We loved the club next door and sat on our balcony having wine and listening to the music at night. The beach was wonderful and the pool and hot tub were very clean.

Not sure why some people feel the need to complain. We had a great time and will be back very soon.

Room Tip: We thought the 4th floor partial gulf view was perfect. We had the sunrise and the sunset and the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the most awful place we have ever attempted to stay. There is a very loud nightclub next door, the staff were miserable and rude. We asked for a change of room given the noise from next door was thumping, and I mean thumping through the floor boards of the room, but were told "no chance". So we left, we lost our money and if you want a really good piece of advice, Don't stay here, and DONT use Booking.com for any bookings, as you wont get your money back. They have a lovely little clause in their T&C's that means they don't have to account for the content of the websites of the hotels they advertise. This place was just plain awful. Yuck.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Upon arrival we went to check in and the younger guy at the front desk was terrible! First of all told us we could only have one car and when we explained we had just driven 6 hours in two cars, he said he would only give us a parking pass for 1 day and we would have to take it up with the man in the morning to see if we could get another pass. Talk about an inconvenience!! Then the room was very tiny and outdated and smelled horrible!! Actually quite creepy. Also, there was hair all over the bathroom, on the bed sheets, ugh!!! I walked down the street to the Walgreens and purchased Lysol spray and came back and pretty much soaked everything!! Also right next door there is a outside bar that is EXTREMELY LOUD, and plays music until 2 am. I totally learned a lesson.....You get what you pay for!!!! Never again....

Room Tip: Not beside the bar next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed the night May 18, my daughter got for Mothers Day. It was older but clean, and will say no bed bugs. Service was great and friendly when we got there, we were told when we checked out at 11 we could still stay on the beach and the pool, then we checked out... everything changed the people the attitude and the friendliness. We were told we had to vacate the property by 12 and that we could not even use the beach, and who ever the guy at the desk was is very rude. For 159.00 a night we were not trying to get anything for free just a few hours on the beach. Thanks to Shephard's we did. Will not stay again and make sure that is what I will say when asked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For the price you are paying its a great value ! The staff was great and the location was perfect. The hotel is a little older but we were barely in the room with the beautiful beach right at the footsteps of the hotel. It was also nice to be able to hear the band playing at the hotel next door

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here many times and the front desk clerk named Brian was so pleasant and friendly. He really made us feel at home. Rooms reasonable and clean. Def will stay there agian. The views from the guld side rooms were beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.