We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Save Saved
You added GulfView Hotel - On The Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Beach Time
Ranked #67 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So much for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I just read all the 1-star reviews just for giggles and laughed out loud.. What were you expecting for $79,90 by the beach, Peninsula? Well first of all we hadn't booked anything (road trip) so we just kinda walked in to this one. We parked the car and started walking towards the front desk. Before we even got to the lobby door, we were greeted by the receptionist who happened to be outside. In just 2 minutes he told us what $79,90 would get us and we were happy to hear what they had to offer. We ended up paying 20 dollars more to get a sea view room with a balcony that's facing the sea. We always stay in these low-budget rooms on our road trips and this has been a great bang for the buck so far. Watching the sun set behind the sea horizon from our own balcony was something we didn't know to expect for price this low.

And what comes to the "rudeness" of the staff, we've met only friendly people so far. The young guy at the lobby seems to have a wicked sense of humor and it really works for us. Made me laugh out loud a couple of times.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that has a balcony with an oceanview. It might cost you a bit more, but oh man it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    39
    24
    40
See reviews for
71
47
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It was still "Econo Lodge" when we stayed there 4 different times and we enjoyed the music coming from the "Shepherd" next door. We even left the balcony doors open so we could hear and to hear the ocean waves in the morning when we woke up. We always had alot of fun there and we loved the ocean view, and the sunset view. We loved the pool being so close to the ocean. We could sit in the sun and watch the dolphins go by, and watch the sail boats and pirate ship go by. We also loved that we could walk to the public beach or the Marina or any of the restaurants or Pier. The only complaint is that the staff was extremely friendly the first two times we were there and almost rude the last time that we were there. I hope they have gone back to there old ways.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you just don't care at all about where you stay, this is your place. One, really small elevator that means you ride with the maids and big bins full of other people's dirty laundry. The band next door plays so loud that the windows rattle. When I asked to be moved to the other side of the hotel, the manager tried to get me to pay $96.00 over and above what I had already paid online. The free breakfast is no more than some packages of powdered donuts and snack cakes like you would buy at the 7-11. Not a good choice if you have any standards at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time we could walk to pier 60 and not have to move the car. Shepphards next door did play until 230am however if we had not been in the fourth floor facing them I don't think we would have heard it. Door shut you couldn't hear it after eleven. Disappointed that the hot tub closed at ten but happy with our stay. Never thought we could get a room looking on the beach for this cheap!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were excited to get a beachfront room for this price, but this hotel needs some soundproofing if you are not out partying all night. Sitting by the pool during the afternoon we had two hotels having live music playing on their patios on the beach. The music may have been good but not listening to both at the same time. Then in the evening - had to turn the TV volume up extremely high just to block out the band playing two buildings down the beach. Glad to have some ear plugs to try to get to sleep around 11 pm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one week while attending a conference in Tampa, yeah, long drive, but thought the beach was worth it.
Location is good, right on the water, very small rocky beach, Shephards hotel next door takes half of the beach with their chairs and umbrellas.
They say that first impressions are the ones that last...very true. The guy at the registration desk, Jeff, was very unfriendly, I was read a list of rules and regulations that I thought I was checking in into a rehab facility instead of a beach resort.
The room size was OK although the layout was weird. Nice ocean view, cleanliness not so good. Dated furniture, mattresses OK. If you are planning on turning in early, this is not the place to stay, Shephards hotel next door has a club that plays loud music every night past 12 midnight, 2 am on weekends.
The property is not kept very clean, if you take the back stairs to go to the pool, the musty smell of the dirty, sandy carpet knocks you out. Don't know why but every door is locked, so if you are lounging by the pool and want to go take a dip in the ocean, you have to take the room key with you because if you don't you will be locked out. Another drawback, one ice machine for the whole hotel, and its located on the first floor.
Will I stay at this hote again? Will I recommend to others? Absolutely no to both.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria ill
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We loved this place it was right on the water and was wonderful. We were a little scared after reading the reviews but we had a balcony that overlooked the gulf. We rented chairs and an umbrella for 20 dollars forthe whole day from next door and spend the day relaxing. It could use a little updating but how much time do you spend in the room. We just spend 2 nights before our cruise. We come to clearwater quite often and usually stay in condo's but if we ever just need a night or 2 we will be back

Room Tip: We stayed in room 254 it was a little loud because of the band next door but we like music
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.