We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urinated sheet surprise” 1 of 5 stars
Review of GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added GulfView Hotel - On The Beach to your Saves list
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Avon Park, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Urinated sheet surprise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently stayed here on Friday night, after a long day at the small beach we retired to a room that the bed was drenched in urine. The hotel was full so we could not be moved. we were offered cots which we said no we will flip mattress and please bring us clean linens. Well they were out of mattress pads and had only damp blankets. We did get clean sheets and pillows. The room was comped for the night but they never even sent a email to apoligize and to offer a free stay at a later time, nothing my weekend was ruined and after I sent a letter they respnded with basically our regrets
but we choose to offer no other compensation. I would never go back they have a problem with the housekeeping every room should be changed no matter what after each guest. Our room was 246 the mattress is gross and I am sure it still is. Connie from Avon Park, Florida

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    42
    27
    46
See reviews for
78
51
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hlohovec
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Terribly noisy music nearby (staff did not infiorm anybody despite of knowing about this permanent issue), air condition over the bed blowing directly over the body, dirty and small beach with boats just few meters from the shore, very weak "continental" bakfast (i'm courious, which continent they thought about...)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is an average property with a great rate on the water. The beach is smaller than most of Clearwater Beach - because it is on the Intracoastal Waterway. It is a unique location with a view of the Gulf. Lots of activity. My only request on this trip was a balcony room to watch the water. The corner room was perfect....EXCEPT....the ongoing party next door at Shepherds Resort....if you want a party this is the place. If you want ANY peace AT ALL do not stay here. The music was so loud that sitting on the balcony was impossible - and inside with the door closed did not help. As far as the beach...the locals all park their boats there and there are anchor lines and drunks everywhere. There is nowhere to get in the water near the hotel without the risk of being run over by a boat. The party is a regular event until 12am (Sun-TH) and 2am (FR-SAT) according to the front desk clerk. We witnessed a fight between two "ladies" , excessive drinking by young people and many near misses as boats arrived....in the two hour period we could tolerate on the balcony Saturday afternoon between 12 and 2 pm. Not my idea of a day at the beach.

Room Tip: Corner room has a view of the intracoastal and gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I found this to be economy lodging with a very clean, tidy, odorless room. The linens were clean; the bed comfortable. A small kitchenette helped me supplement the basic breakfast. When it rained, 99 channels on the HDTV saved the day. When the sun shone, the balcony was refreshing. The desk clerk did border on being rude at checkin, but I only interacted with him twice. I was pleased to find reasonable lodging at Clearwater.

Room Tip: Room 542 had an adequate balcony with a partial gulf view; an excellent city view. It was a clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Is this a 5 star hotel? No. Is it a great value? You bet! First of all it is right on the beach with a great location close to everything. Across the street is a convenience store, miniature golf, surf/beach shop and liquor store. The Jolly Trolly stops right across the street. For $4 a day you can go up and down the beach as many times as you want. I didn't use my car for 3 days. Next door to it are two hotels that have live entertainment on their pool decks, which can get a little loud on a week end night. The hotel on the right has an Ihop in it. The hotel is a bit dated but in pretty good shape. The lobby and hallways looked brand new. Brian at the front desk was always most helpful. The other larger guy (didn't get the name) was borderline rude. The elevator is slow. The rooms again are dated and standard. The bathrooms are all new. The carpet probably could use a cleaning. The pool and pool deck were in excellent shape and looked like they were just redone. So if you want to stay in a five star hotel and pay 4 times as much choose one of the expensive chain hotels in the area. If you want a good value stay here. I will again. For a great cheeseburger take the Jolly Trolly down to marina and eat at the Marina Restaurant. Run by a great group of people who have been doing it for a long time. And if you have kids, a ride on the Lil Toot is a must!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side appear to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed here on a Thursday and Friday. Its not a resort. It is on the beach with a great view. Its small and an older building. They have free guest parking. The staff at the front desk are very nice and helpful. The location is great. You can walk to Pier 60 or up and down the main road. If you want to get around and don't have a car, buses stop right out front. The price is right! My two night stay was under $200.00, including all taxes. There is a small pool that I really enjoyed. There also is a jacuzzi, but there were no bubbles and the water was tepid. The rooms are clean and they have nice cotton sheets. My room had a 2 burner stove and refrigerator, a microwave, dishes, and a pot and a pan. I cooked my dinner on the stove. The electric stove does not heat well. I think a cigarette lighter would have been faster. If you plan to cook in your room, try to find things that you can cook in the microwave. If you get a room on the first floor, don't get one near the front desk. The smell of coffee brewing for the free continental breakfast is overpowering. I stayed in room 146. Don't get that room. The coffee smell work me up at 5:30 and the room is across from the ice machine, which you will hear all night long. Also, ask for a room that does not face Sheppards Hotel, next door. Their music is loud and plays till late.

I met a lot of nice people there who said they are regulars and come there every year. We had a great time. I will certainly return again. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get away from the front desk, stay away from the ice machine, and get the side that doesn't face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Put-in-Bay, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was a nightmare! We arrived on a Friday nite at about 11:17pm. We had booked the rooms on-line through their web-site. WHAT A MISTAKE! The hotel is shabby, the halls were filthy and our room had enough antispetic to get high. But the worst part of it was the bar next door and the agravating base music. Even with the windows closed, and the air conditioning on, we couldn't get away from it. When we talked to the front desk, they were unwilling to make any changes. We checked OUT at 12:38am and they still charged our credit card. The staff was unwilling to make any accomodations and simply shrugged and said to come back and talk to the manager. Yeah, right! We walked out the door and called the credit card company. This is the s*** hole of Clearwater Beach. Funny thing was, we walked to the Wyndham and got a better room for the same price!!!!

Room Tip: We had a corner balcony room which is what we wanted, except they didn't telll you that the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.