We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Save Saved
You added Sea Captain Resort on the Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on trip advisor and so glad went with the recommendations. Lovely friendly accommodation in such a great position for the beach and restaurants. We have the double aspec room with fab views of the bay. The room was really comfortable with everything you need and a bit more. Very quaint and more personal than the average hilton etc. pool area great with loads of sunbeds. Free parking use of bicycles and wi fi a real bonus. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    50
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
80
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice small hotel right on the marina; you could watch all the boats go in and out; it's right across the street from the white sandy beaches, within walking distance to Pier 60, shopping and restaurants; we even walked to Frenchcy's Rockaway Restaurant via the beach. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The suite on the second floor, #18, was very clean and accommodating and we would sit outside our room which overlooked the pool area, docks, and marina to minigle with the other guests, and relax and have a cocktail. The pool was clean and refreshing, the hot tub was clean and relaxing.I'd much rather stay here again then the other high rise hotels; after talking to the other guests, it seems like they all come back year after year; that says a lot. The continental breakfast on the weekend hosts an abundance of whatever you want and the staff always has a smile on their faces. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braidwood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have been going to the Sea Captain for 40 years now. It is one of the small remaining small hotels in Clearwater. It is reasonably priced, clean and private. The rooms are very clean and most are efficiencies. It has beautiful views and is close to everything! I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was the first trip to Clearwater. My friend and I loved the Sea Captain! Everyone on the staff was amazing! They go above and beyond to ensure your trip is amazing. Everything you need is very close to the resort. We enjoyed the pool area and watching the boats come and go on the bay. Can't wait to go on vacation again, and stay at the Sea Captain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I MADE THIS RESERVATION SITE UNSEEN,,, It is fabulous. CLEAN. We stayed in number 9 it was beautiful waterfront and private. Comfortable King bed...American front desk very nice people, very helpful, Simple but very nice breakfast! great waterfront area within walking of all activities! Even caught a few fish! We will stay there again!

Room Tip: downstairs Water front! # 8, 9, 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Sea Captain for many years, it's the best. Great folks working there, grounds kept up top notch, great location. Easy reservations. Walking distance to many restaurants. Easy and close by parking.

Room Tip: Water side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was recommended to me when I had to attend a wedding nearby, it was great! Not fancy, or new, but clean and convenient and all you need (you don't go on vacation to sit in your room!). Right on the waterway, had a great pool, could walk to everything! Office personnel were great with recommendations and answering questions. When I return to Clearwater plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.