We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida Charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Save
You added Sea Captain Resort on the Bay to your Saves list
40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old Florida Charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute, got the last room avbl. Much much less expensive than resorts around us. Very clean in a fantastic area to walk around-didn't move the car for 3 days!
Tv did not work on arrival, Cindy took control immediately called cable company and got it fixed!
They even have a continental breakfast in the office!
Perfect for extended families as there is many tables and chairs on porches for socializing!
We loved staying in an old Florida style motel instead of a big generic resort!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    56
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
123
97
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Sea Captain for 7 nights and would definitely return. I had researched quite a bit prior to our arrival and it was what I expected and more. The rooms are very clean and comfortable! The beds were great as were the pillows and linens. The towels in the bathroom soft. Sometimes w/ older places you find these things as old as the hotel itself! Not the case here. The pool was clean and a perfect temp - plenty of chairs and pool towels provided. The grounds were awesome; shuffle board, cornhole, fishing, picnic tables to watch the boats come and go, grills - I mean if you want old Florida style this place can't be beat! We had extended family come in later in the week and everyone loved it and felt right at home and relaxed. This little resort grew on all of us and by the end of the week we were sad to leave and a little jealous of the people checking in behind us. :) If you want a comfortable, clean, laid back vacation spot this is for you. If you want a 5 star resort, well it isn't that, but for what it is it's just about perfect and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband I were looking for a hotel not far from the beach that was clean and comfortable. The Sea Captain ended up being perfect. Please note this place is not modern or fancy. What it is though is : clean, comfortable, close to everything and you feel safe walking around. You are not right on the beach but you are at the marina and have a view of the harbor, fishing dock with grounds that are well taken care. Although we did not have our kids with us we found it to be extremely family friendly. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We decided to stay here based on the reviews. It was perfect...location location location. We walked everywhere! Restaurants, Pier, beach and boat tours all are very close. The beach is across two streets but you are very close. It is small and old fashioned, like a east coast beach place in Fl. Very clean and the grounds are kept very well. The bathroom is small but worth all the extras. Cindy at the front desk was super helpful and even gave my daughter aloe to put on her sunburn! Tom was helpful as well and gave us tips on where to eat and aquarium tickets we could purchase right there. They have a great continental breakfast on weekends and coffee and juice weekdays. The price was great and we are so glad we didn't stay at the higher priced place we originally planned. No parking fees and no hotel fees. They have a pool, hot tub, shuffle board and corn hole games. Laundry room with free detergent. This place is a gem! Lots of seating out by the harbor and a great place to watch the boats. Even though the beds were doubles they were very comfortable and the sheets and towels were not the cheapy hotel types, but nice quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son & I stayed here for one night in room 22. The bay views from every window were very pretty! The hotel itself is older with old Florida decor - it had character :) The most important thing was that our room was CLEAN. The property grounds has several benches & picnic tables - plenty of seating options to sit outside & watch the boats coming & going. The best part was the location of the hotel! We walked to the beach, to Pier 60, & to breakfast. You can literally park your car & walk everywhere!

The only reason I didn't give this a 5 is because it appears the pool doesn't have a 'closing time' like most places. It was a Saturday night when we stayed & the pool was just below our room but at 11pm there were several older kids in the pool being quite loud. Not a huge deal but my six year old was fast asleep at that time.

Anyway, overall great place! We'd stay there again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

As usual another wonderful trip to the Sea Captain. Clean and comfortable. Old Florida style but well kept. Hard to beat location! Fifth stay and will b back! Easy walk to the beach . Fishing dock, view of harbor and passing boats

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just recently returned from our 2nd stay (although shorter than what I would have liked) at the Sea Captain and it reminded me of why we really enjoy this little resort. The location is perfect, close to everything including the beach and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We will definately be returning in the future.
Big thanks to Tom for his help when information was needed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.