We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you will have to pry me away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Save Saved
You added Sea Captain Resort on the Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“you will have to pry me away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent 10 days in Florida in January and the last two nights we stayed at the Sea Captain. My husband stayed here over 10 years ago and loved it so much it was the first thing he said when planning our trip. Many of these reviews state that the rooms are 'tired and outdated' but honestly to me they looked like a room that many have come to after a long day at the beach which was perfect because that was our plan! Our view was amazing. The first night we were on the top floor and we moved to a suit for the second night because it wasn't available both nights but our family wanted to be together. The staff was AMAZING!!! It really is a family oriented place. They were so good to our babies! In fact one of the ladies went above and beyond to help us get our clothes dried before the 20 hour treck home so they wouldn't mold. We had accidently thrown them in the wash provided for guests and could not stop it until it was finished. She offered to dry them super fast in their dryer so we could go. We decided that our next trip down we are parking our butts at the Sea Captain for the 10 days and will work on our tan! We cannot wait! Our babies (3 and 4) loved watching boats come and go!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    52
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
98
87
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Much preferable to the vanilla, homogenized mega-hotels. Came here while visiting relatives and enjoyed the friendly staff, comfortable room, and location. There is complementary breakfast that is certainly adequate. Slept well and the parking was just steps from the room. We didn't avail ourselves of the pool and jacuzzi, but enjoye walking around the neighborhood along the water. Web site is www.seacaptainresort.com, 800-444-7488. Understand there are 28 guest rooms, and most have fully-equipped kitchens. Had difficulty in getting public radio stations on the room radio. Fortunately all rooms are non-smoking. The upper rooms seem a little more quiet in terms of foot traffic. Only wish they had a fitness center.
We'd certainly consider coming back here again.
Please advise if you find this review helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were a party of two families of 4 staying in august 2012 for three nights. it really is a fantastic place to stay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt we were very well looked after and was given fantastic service. We had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had suites 19 and 20 and the views were amazing. It was very peaceful and relaxing, our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer. Sea captain is an ideal location, Near the beach, bars and restaurants. If you are looking for somewhere small, friendly and extremely clean then this is the place for you. We couldn't say enough to do this little gem justice. We couldn't fault a thing and cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The views from suite 19 and 20 are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just returned from our 8th January visit to the Sea Captain in Clearwater Beach, FL. It is an older property, but the owner has been very conscientious about keeping things in good working order, painted, clean, and hospitable. We look forward to our visit every year, and this was no exception. It is well located, well managed, friendly, and appropriately priced for the area and the amenities. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: We prefer the harbor side so we can see the Gulf of Mexico and the Bay from our window. There are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Very clean & cozy in a super location, at the harbor. We wanted something more unique, not high rise, not run of the mill...and this fit the bill! If only it had not been raining, we would have sat outside by the water and watched the boats...maybe next time. With a low key atmosphere, perfect for relaxing. I only regret we only could stay one night, this time!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort wayne, IN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I went to Clearwater for a weekend getaway. My husband loves the boat traffic of the bay and I love the beach/ocean. We both love spotless, affordable, accommodations. I had done a lot of research on Trip Advisor and made sure Sea Captain was on my list to check out when we arrived on a Friday to Clearwater. We were not disappointed. The grounds are meticulously maintained. There is a lovely large pool and hot tub overlooking the harbor. There many picnic tables and seats along the water with fabulous views day and night. The beach is just across the street. Parking is right out your door. We stayed on the second floor in a King room. The kitchen was very well appointed with all the utensils needed (if you are going to cook). There are grills and open air spaced to enjoy your meals. The staff could not be easier to work with. There are a few bicycles on the grounds that the office lends you if you want to ride around the island. My husband and I used these several times. Rode them to breakfast at a few of the local restaurants a few times. Although it was not really necessary, as the office offers a very nice continental breakfast with muffins, fruit, juices and coffee on the weekends. A short walk and you are at Pier 60 and many wonderful restaurants and shops. No need to drive anywhere. Also found a great open air roof top bar (Jimmy's right next door at the new Pier House hotel) You can watch your favorite ball game on the large wall while enjoying the surrounding views of water, harbor, beach and drinking a great drink and good bar food. I would recommend the Sea Captain to anyone looking for a locally owned and operated establishment that is in the heart of Clearwater Beach. We will be back!

Room Tip: There really is not a bad room in the place. They all have views of the harbor. One of the lower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had seen this place on Trip Advisor and had pre-programmed it into our satnav hoping we could get a room when we got there. I wanted to stay here rather than a large mainstream hotel as it just looked lovely. We were not dissapointed the check in lady said she had a harbour view room available. We took it and it was fabulous, we had windows that overlooked the harbour that could be opened, we had a huge very comfortable king size bed, which provided the best two nights sleep that we had in the whole of the 10 nights that we were in the USA. Complimentary juice and coffee were available in the morning from reception which made for a nice start to the day. The hotel is extremely clean and very tidy. I would thoroughly recommend staying here just because it was as it used to be before the large hotels arrived with there not so bothered attitude.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.