We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sea Captain Resort on the Bay to your Saves list
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had seen this place on Trip Advisor and had pre-programmed it into our satnav hoping we could get a room when we got there. I wanted to stay here rather than a large mainstream hotel as it just looked lovely. We were not dissapointed the check in lady said she had a harbour view room available. We took it and it was fabulous, we had windows that overlooked the harbour that could be opened, we had a huge very comfortable king size bed, which provided the best two nights sleep that we had in the whole of the 10 nights that we were in the USA. Complimentary juice and coffee were available in the morning from reception which made for a nice start to the day. The hotel is extremely clean and very tidy. I would thoroughly recommend staying here just because it was as it used to be before the large hotels arrived with there not so bothered attitude.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    64
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
131
106
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandan, North Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel was the perfect find. When we travel we like to stay at small locally owned hotels. Thanks to trip advisor we have found the best hidden gems. The Sea Captain is located in a harbor but is about a block from the beach. They have a great pool and many chairs along the grass by the sea wall to relax on. The staff is very accommodating and personable. You could tell they enjoy their job and desire to make your stay as memorable as they can. We will be back again for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We live in Clearwater and had only stayed here many many years ago with our kids who are now grown. Forgot what it was like. Excellent stay. It was our anniversary weekend and we found everything to be super clean all the time and staff was very friendly. They have a continental breakfast in office every morning. View was great from 2nd floor balcony and we were able to watch the tour boats leave each day which was fun. Barely a 5 minute walk over to Clearwater Marina where we went about 5:00 to see what fish the boats brought in. Had a breakfast in Marina one morning which was very good. Few minutes of walking to beach and restaurants. We felt safe in this resort especially since we left key in door outside for a few hours and returned with no problem. Our neighbor did the same, LOL Great place to stay. Say hi to Jensen!

Room Tip: Suites have more room even if it just the two of you. Room 18 on second floor was very nice and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband was doing a triathlon in Clearwater and we choose The Sea Captain as our hotel. It was excellent - great location, clean rooms and grounds and very helpful service. We walked to the beach in 2 min....walked to restaurants in 2 min....everything we needed was right there.

Room Tip: I would choose a room with a view next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We unexpectically had an extra day in Florida and found the Sea Captain on the Trip Advisor website. We called just a few hours before our stay and they were able to accommodate all of us in two rooms that were right next to each other with a nice balcony overlooking the boats on the bay. The rooms were clean and nice, beds were excellant and we enjoyed the "old style" feel of the Sea Captain, much better than staying at a big chain. We had to leave early the next morning so Jensen made sure we had some muffins and other breakfast food the evening before. If we ever get back to Florida we would definately stay here again, they are just a couple blocks from the beach, shopping and great food. What a great little place...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This resort is more of a motel, but with great customer service and location at an unbeatable price. My two complaints would be (1) although rooms are designated nonsmoking, people are allowed to smoke outside the rooms (and apparently many people who choose this resort like to smoke); (2) the very thin exterior door - even a child could punch through it. It was thinner than an interior door and quite frankly made us feel less then secure despite the slide lock, bolt and automatic lock on the door. I would still recommend this place. The people that run the place were super helpful and the room and bathroom were clean. Jenson gave us two great recommendations for breakfast and dinner and helped us check in for our flight home. Overall, a very pleasant experience right on the marina and across from Clearwater beach!

Room Tip: Room 29 offered good views from the second story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located, clean and comfortable with friendly hosts. You can't beat the price for the quality you get. You can walk to everything - beaches, restaurants, tour boats and not have to worry about finding a place to park you car. The suites are great because you have plenty of room and you can even cook a meal or snack if you like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Clearwater Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#13 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.