We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quaint hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Save Saved
You added Sea Captain Resort on the Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Mandan, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent quaint hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel was the perfect find. When we travel we like to stay at small locally owned hotels. Thanks to trip advisor we have found the best hidden gems. The Sea Captain is located in a harbor but is about a block from the beach. They have a great pool and many chairs along the grass by the sea wall to relax on. The staff is very accommodating and personable. You could tell they enjoy their job and desire to make your stay as memorable as they can. We will be back again for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    53
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
115
89
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We live in Clearwater and had only stayed here many many years ago with our kids who are now grown. Forgot what it was like. Excellent stay. It was our anniversary weekend and we found everything to be super clean all the time and staff was very friendly. They have a continental breakfast in office every morning. View was great from 2nd floor balcony and we were able to watch the tour boats leave each day which was fun. Barely a 5 minute walk over to Clearwater Marina where we went about 5:00 to see what fish the boats brought in. Had a breakfast in Marina one morning which was very good. Few minutes of walking to beach and restaurants. We felt safe in this resort especially since we left key in door outside for a few hours and returned with no problem. Our neighbor did the same, LOL Great place to stay. Say hi to Jensen!

Room Tip: Suites have more room even if it just the two of you. Room 18 on second floor was very nice and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband was doing a triathlon in Clearwater and we choose The Sea Captain as our hotel. It was excellent - great location, clean rooms and grounds and very helpful service. We walked to the beach in 2 min....walked to restaurants in 2 min....everything we needed was right there.

Room Tip: I would choose a room with a view next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We unexpectically had an extra day in Florida and found the Sea Captain on the Trip Advisor website. We called just a few hours before our stay and they were able to accommodate all of us in two rooms that were right next to each other with a nice balcony overlooking the boats on the bay. The rooms were clean and nice, beds were excellant and we enjoyed the "old style" feel of the Sea Captain, much better than staying at a big chain. We had to leave early the next morning so Jensen made sure we had some muffins and other breakfast food the evening before. If we ever get back to Florida we would definately stay here again, they are just a couple blocks from the beach, shopping and great food. What a great little place...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This resort is more of a motel, but with great customer service and location at an unbeatable price. My two complaints would be (1) although rooms are designated nonsmoking, people are allowed to smoke outside the rooms (and apparently many people who choose this resort like to smoke); (2) the very thin exterior door - even a child could punch through it. It was thinner than an interior door and quite frankly made us feel less then secure despite the slide lock, bolt and automatic lock on the door. I would still recommend this place. The people that run the place were super helpful and the room and bathroom were clean. Jenson gave us two great recommendations for breakfast and dinner and helped us check in for our flight home. Overall, a very pleasant experience right on the marina and across from Clearwater beach!

Room Tip: Room 29 offered good views from the second story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located, clean and comfortable with friendly hosts. You can't beat the price for the quality you get. You can walk to everything - beaches, restaurants, tour boats and not have to worry about finding a place to park you car. The suites are great because you have plenty of room and you can even cook a meal or snack if you like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I was seriously shocked about this resort! I read all the reviews and thought they had to be fake. I was completely wrong! I normally stay at top name hotels but this little place was excellent. I can't even come up with a complaint. Its clean staff is friendly eventbe guest our friendly. Its close to everything and the view is amazing! I will definitely come back here again and again! I just cant get over how wonderful this resort is!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.