We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gem of Clearwater Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Captain Resort on the Bay to your Saves list
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Rutland, Vt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The gem of Clearwater Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The Sea Captain Resort on the Bay is the best value in Clearwater Beach. Located on the bay, and directly across the street from Clearwater Beach and Pier 60, it's an ideal spot. We have stayed there several times, the people are wonderful, like family, and the rooms are clean, comfy and the grounds are immaculate. Nice pool, hot tub and lots of lounges and benches allow you to sit back and relax. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    55
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
119
96
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Went to the Sea Captain for the first time in 25 years. Spent my childhood vacations here and wanted to meet my family here with our children since we do not currently live near each other. It did not disappoint! It was perfect and brought back so many memories for all of us!! Thank you Sea Captain!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Not a luxury property if that's what you're after, but easy on the wallet and located in a prime area of Clearwater Beach. We chose this property for a two-night stay following our Disney vacation based on other TA member reviews and the Superior Small Lodging endorsement. The efficiency we rented (unit #16) was clean and had that summer cottage feeling with light decor (pastels). The staff were very friendly and very eager to make our stay pleasant. The property features a nice, very clean swimming pool and spa tub offering a view of the marina. Lots of chaise lounges were scattered around the pool and alongside the dock area. It was quiet and relaxing. I don't go all negative when there are issues....things happen....such as the leaky pipe in the our bathroom or the missing TV remote. What matters is how the staff responded to the needs of its guests, and let me tell you, they took very seriously making things right. While this is an older property, it is very well maintained and couldn't be in a better location. We had a short three minute walk to the beach right near Pier 60. Light breakfast including juice, coffee and an assortment of packaged items (Pop Tarts, yogurt, danish, crumb cake, fruit cups, etc.) were provided complimentary on Saturday and Sunday. We could've stayed at the Hilton right on the beach for $300+/night, but we got the same beach for a fraction of the price and could not have been happier. This is a terrific place for families as well as a great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at the Sea Captain for our honeymoon in March 2011. Even though it was spring break and there was construction in front of the hotel it was still beautiful and relaxing. I loved the view of the marina and we could walk to pretty much anywhere we needed to. The beach is right acrossed the street. We already have planned to return every year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The best place to relax, fish, grill, walk to beach and restaurants. Being right on the bay gave us the time to sit and watch the boats coming and going. It was great to be close to the beach but away from all the noise and hussel and bussel of the crowds in the evening time. This place is so relaxing and peaceful.

Room Tip: Breathtaking views of the bay. Walk to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanexa, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I have been going to Clearwater for several years and this was the 1st time that we ever stayed at the Sea Captain. We have always stayed at the Hilton but decided we would try something different this time around. I am sooooo happy we did. I love the location, just a short walk to anything you want to go to. The staff was wonderful - we asked if you could fish from the docks and we were told yes, when we got back from the beach there were 2 fishing poles at our door for us... Now where can you find that kind of service at???? I can't say enough good things about the Sea Captain.. the rooms were clear and very nice. Much nicer than I ever expected.. We stayed in room#8 and the views of the bay were amazing!!!! I will no longer stay anywhere else but the Sea Capitan!!!

Best places to eat.. Breakfast - Maggie Mae's in Sand Key (2 mile drive)- Lunch -Beach Shanty Cafe - Best Burger in Clearwater Beach and Dinner - Crabby Bills for Seafood or Angelo's Pizza is awesome!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I came to Clearwater Beach for a relaxing vacation (May 24-19). The Sea Captain Resort helped us have just that! The staff was extremely friendly. Upon arrival, the staff provided us with maps, brochures of things to do and places to eat, since we were from out of town and had never been to Clearwater Beach before.

We knew that there was going to be construction next door, as we had gotten a reminder about our reservation and it was noted that there was construction. This was not a problem for us at all!! (One day the road was closed though, so we had to walk a little further to get to the beach, but not the hotel's fault). The construction was never an issue.. We spent one full day at the pool and we never heard anything that was bothersome.

The location of this hotel is spot on!! It is literally next to the harbor (where you can go on tours, dinner cruises, ect), the beach is across the street (very nice walk), the Pier is right across the street and there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance. (Dont rent a car if you dont plan on leaving the clearwater beach area!!)

We stayed in room #29, which was an efficiency room, perfect for a couple who doesnt mind not having a kitchen (who wants to cook on vacation anyways?? :) ) It was located right in the corner near the parking lot, over looking the pool and parking lot. We never heard anything through the walls and at night, it was very quiet.

I would stay at tthe Sea Captain again if I come back to Clearwater Beach again, I couldnt imagine staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.