We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're just a number” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“You're just a number”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

First of all would have given higher rating because the room itself was very nice.....however, when you pull into the parking lot and given a hard time because they don't believe you are staying there because they are SELLING parking spaces to beach tourists for $25.00!!
So after a half hour of searching for a spot finally someone left and I grabbed spot only to be charged $12.00 by the hotel!
The hotel smelled damp, and busy with tourists walking in and out. No personal service that I expect from Holiday Inn. You are just a number.
The restaurant Jimmy's was the Pitts. That's another review.
I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We're sorry you felt disappointment at the service, especially the parking fees. Since your profile says you live in Clearwater, you surely realize that charging for parking is quite common along the beach because space is at a premium.

You are right - this is a busy time for all of us on the beach, so people coming and going in the hotel would be the norm.

We do thank you for staying with us and hopefully you left with some good memories.

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    351
    115
    48
    54
See reviews for
316
332
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for an entire week with four teenagers. We got the two room suite and it was fantastic! The boys took the living are with pull out couch and the girls had the bedroom. I was very happy that both rooms had their own bathroom so each set of teenagers had privacy and didn't have to go I to each other's rooms. We were able to bring our own food and drinks to put in the kitchen in the room,
so the only expense was dinner. The kids loved the location and the pool. They were able to walk to the pier at night for the evening activities.
The boys loved the arcade. You can rent jet skis right by the hotel. My friends and I were able to walk next door to Shephards for great live music but then return to a quiet hotel to sleep. The only issue was that my sons playstation would not hook up to the TVs in the room and that is a good activity once we are done for the day since we aren't big tv watchers. Overall the quality for the price is the best on that beach that I can tell after researching other properties. Being right on the beach is nice, but this hotel is right on the water with a beautiful view and a short walk to the beach so it was still a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you! What a wonderful review, and we love it when guests give hints to those who read reviews of what to expect. You described the room perfectly for your teenagers and we're glad it worked out for you.

We also appreciate the compliments on the resort amenities, staff, and location. Hope you saw some dolphins!

Please join us on our Facebook page and stay in touch...and if you have photos of your stay to share, we'd welcome them!

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel was a little older, but the location was excellent. Literally right across from the beach made it a little less inexpensive, but worth it. The chairs and umbrellas came in perfectly, and even though its not directly on the beach.... It was a hop,skip and jump away- closer to the beach than other "on the beach" hotels we have stayed at. Quick walk to downtown eating and shopping made this the perfect weekend getaway. Again, location was superior - I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent hotel memories with us and others. We love our Florida visitors - it is so easy to get to us from other parts of Florida for a refreshing taste of the Gulf.

We're glad you found the location to your liking - it makes it easy to get around to other dining, shopping and beach areas whether you walk or hop the trolley. And, we appreciate your compliments on our staff and the resort amenities.

Please join us on our Facebook page and stay in touch!

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It seems that Clearwater Beach has a lot of very cheap small motels or some big expensive hotels. This Holiday Inn is a good compromise with a terrific pool area. The rooms are large and well equipped. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor tables with a good water view. There is a charge for parking as space for cars is at a premium in this area. I really enjoyed myself and felt the staff wanted my experience to be a good one. When I am back in the area, I will stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you! How nice of you to share your vacation memories for others to read. You wrote a wonderful review - just how we want people to remember us - for great staff, good location, fine hotel amenities and a memorable experience.

We do hope you'll be back again, and please stay in touch with us on our Facebook page!

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you're looking for an affordable, family friendly hotel with an awesome pool, spacious rooms and beach access, this is the place. It is within walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants and attractions, the rooms are always clean and well equipped and the hotel staff is always helpful and friendly. We have been coming every summer for the last 3 or 4 years and have yet to be disappointed. We were traveling with our 3 children, ages 20, 14 & 12 as well as my oldest son's girlfriend and the 2 bedroom/2 bath suite had more than enough space for the 6 of us with plenty of privacy for myself and my husband. Though the kitchen did have a full sized refrigerator, microwave and stove top, we were unaware that it did not have an oven and we brought some frozen Tombstone pizzas with us, which are the only ones our 12 year old autistic daughter will eat. This was not a problem, however because the staff at the hotel's restaurant, Jimmy's Fish House and Iguana Bar, were more than happy to cook them for us wether we were eating in the restaurant or not. Kudos to Holiday Inn and to the restaurant for being so accommodating. The whirlpool tub in the master bath in our room was a nice surprise as well. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your vacation memories with us. We're so glad you and your entire family enjoyed your stay, and we're pleased that Jimmy's staff was able to help out with your special pizzas. Our staff do try hard to make everyone's stay memorable.

Glad to hear you'll be returning - we love our in-state visitors, and there's always a reason to come back. How about Clearwater Jazz Holiday in October?

Please stay in touch with us on our Facebook page...love to hear from you!

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I had the Gulf Lodge Room. It was an Ocean Front view with a huge balcony! The view was awesome!! Very clean and comfortable. The staff and cleaning service was on point. Easy access to the beach.. would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We're so glad you and your husband had a nice little vacation here - you certainly chose a great room!

Thanks for taking time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to have you return again for more memories, so please stay in touch....we do have a Facebook page and give you lots of reasons to return.

Sincerely

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for five nights in May 2013. The room though a bit dated, was a good size and the beds and pillows very comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size and the shower was fine. The room faced the front of the hotel so it was fairly quiet and we also saw gorgeous sunrises. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food we ate in the restaurant (breakfast and apps) were good but I especially enjoyed the music on weekends. The pool and pool area were on the small side but adequate. Initially I booked this hotel because I thought it was on the beach, it's not, but the walk wasn't to far. I loved the sunset countdown near the front desk. All in all it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks so much for telling us about your stay here last year. We're hoping you can make it back again this year, or in the near future, for another vacation memory.

So glad you enjoyed the resort, location, and amenities. We really are centrally located, whether you walk or take the trolley.

Please stay in touch with us on our Facebook page!

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Address: 521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#23 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico-Sunsets & Dolphin sightings Complimentary! Discover all that Clearwater Beach has to offer at the convenient, comfortable smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. In the heart of everything, from shopping and dining, to entertainment, you are within walking distance of the white sands of Clearwater Beach, and Pier 60 where you can enjoy nightly sunset celebrations.. Located 30 minutes away from Tampa International Airport (TPA), the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your best choice in Clearwater Beach. Whether you re coming to Clearwater Beach for fun or business the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to relax, work or play most of the day in our spacious rooms, Kids Suites or One Bedroom Suites. Amenities such as flat screen LCD HD televisions, granite countertops, private balconies, free high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our heated Gulf-front pool, relax with your favorite beverage at Jimmy s Iguana Bar or our Rum Rumer s Tiki Bar. You can enjoy a dining adventure at Jimmy s Fish House providing nightly entertainment. The best of Clearwater Beach is waiting for you at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The only thing you won t find is a reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Clearwater Beach
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.