We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worse hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20967 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
“The worse hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I would have to say with out a doubt this experience at this hotel Horrible. The staff was incredibly rude, there were cock roaches in them room and had a nasty smell, and the Breakfast was less than desirable. Any hotel I am sure is better than this one. Do not waste you money. Took pictures of the bugs but have not uploaded yet. Will do Soon

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    37
    20
    13
See reviews for
53
58
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We were, at first, only planning on staying at this hotel for a couple nights. However, after one good experience after another we decided to stay for four nights.

First, the pool was gigantic compared to most other hotel pools I have been at. It must have been at least eight feet deep, which I enjoyed because I dislike the recent four feet deep pools of most hotels today. It also had a nice whirlpool and huge spacious pool area that made you feel like the hotel was a resort.

Secondly, the breakfast, unlike most other reviews I have read, exceeded my expectations for a hotel such as this. It included hot pancakes and syrup as well as scrambled eggs, two types of doughnuts, pastries, juice, cereal, yogurt, etc. Overall, it far exceeded my expectations for the price I paid.

The only downside was that the hotel was not easy to find. On one of the days, I went for a bike ride and spent about an hour trying to find my way back to the hotel as it is positioned in such a way that it is on the ramp going up to a major road. It is not in an area that most hotel-finders would look at. The hotel apparently used to be the Radisson. Judging from the location, I am not surprised that it is now a Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

This place is better than the Trip Advisor ranking suggests. It's very clean and quiet, great pool area, very nice and helpful staff, including maintnenance. Walking distance to Phillies Spring Training. Nice free breakfast, clean and plenty of tables(a rarity). I'll definitely stay there again. In fact, I stayed an extra day this trip.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I was somewhat apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, but was very pleasantly surprised. This was less $$ than the surrounding hotels through AAA, and couldn't have been nicer. We needed a place to stay after outpatient surgery in Clearwater. Had an early doctor's appointment the next morning. This was the perfect choice. The Sleepnumber beds were ultra comfortable. There were plenty of pillows and they were very comfortable. The refrigerator and microwave were great. The overall appearance and feel of the room was new and very clean. We had one maintenance issue that was addressed immediately. The breakfast choices were not huge, but what they did offer was tasty. Eggs, pancakes, toast, muffins,bagels, cereals and juices. I got the eggs and pancakes not expecting much, and they were actually very, very good. The pool and hottub area is tropical and very nice. Wish we could have spent some time there. Love the tropical colors and feel to the hotel. Front desk service was extremely polite and helpful from check-in to check-out. Only criticism would be the towels - they're very thin and rough, but that was minor. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

this is obviously a hotel on its way down. An overall shabbiness has taken over, and it wont be long till the hookers are more prevalent than they already are. (we watched several arrive who were obviously call girls)
the room itself was ok--nothing special, but adequate. It was reasonably clean, but , once again, a bit shabby. the breakfast was pretty disappointing, not much variety, and not esp appealing.
we were travelling with our dog--when we checked in, were told that there was a $25 dollar pet fee, which we happily paid. We stayed for over two weeks as we had business to take care of in the area, so we got to know the comings and goings of the hotel well. At the end of the second week , we were told that the pet fee owed was now suddenly $150 per week, and that the original price could not have ever been told to us by the desk clerk!!!! the dog is totally non destructive and house trained, and did no damage to the already seedy room. Added to the cost for the room, the new price would have averaged about $500 per week, which is a bit salty for a third rate motel. In my opinion, they thought they had a sucker who was going to be willing to give them more money to increase their bottom line, but instead I chose to leave.
As a result, they made nothing from me for that week, we went down the road and actually found better accomodations for less, and they had one more of many rooms sitting empty for that week. Strange way of doing business, and hardly one that one would think even the most ignorant businessman would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The room seemed fairly clean. The front desk was friendly. They had a computer with internet and a printer which came in handy when looking for directions. The breakfast served was average. The room I stayed in had two sleep number beds which my kids enjoyed. It was farther from the beach than I would have liked. The heater in the pool was not working so the pool was freezing but at least the hot tub worked. I had to get pool towel from the front desk and then had to return them to the front desk so they weren't charged to my room. (Didn't care for that) The restaurant had a very small menu. The food wasn't bad but the service was very slow for being the only table. Overall though I would probably stay there again. It's not a five star hotel but nice enough for a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed here in March 2010 and October 2010, but probably won't stay here again. Cleanliness is a big thing with me, and I would rate that below average now. On our prior stay the rooms all had refrigerators and microwaves, but not so on the the current visit. The ice machine near our room was not functioning properly. Breakfast is not much at all. Cold cereal, toast and pastries. They also brought out some scrambled eggs. No fresh fruit or yogurt. The exercise room has no temperature control (it's hot!) and no towels. The outdoor pool area appeared nice. Overall, if you are looking for a quick overnight stay and aren't too picky, this would be an OK choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 20967 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites serves up a FREE daily deluxe continental breakfast buffet with FRESH scrambled eggs and pancakes to provide a kick start to any morning. Surrounded by lots of shopping and restaurants. Just 7 miles from Clearwater Beach. Stay with us, we are the only FULL service hotel within 5 miles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Clearwater
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clearwater Grand Hotel
Radisson Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.