We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Clearwater Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Clearwater Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Clearwater Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   400 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer rates from $169
Ranked #43 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

On the beach. Plenty of places to eat within short walk. Marina across the street. Peir 60 next door. Cross the bridge from mainland and your at the Hilton.
Rooms were comfortable. But view was major disappointment. Roof of conference center with its HVAC units and trash distracts from beutifull beach view.
Property is a bit old but good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback it is incredibly important to us and we take our guest comments very seriously, as we improve our on-property experience. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, should your travels bring you back to the Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    651
    334
    145
    104
See reviews for
693
557
33
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great Hotel location..No roads to cross..you literally walk out of the Hotel onto the Beach..If you want to dine out..There are several local restaraunts..such as Frenchy's Salt Water Cafe..prices a very reasonable..There are alot of laid back locals and hotel guests..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and sharing your feedback. We look forward to having you with us again should you return to the Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel is in a great location. It's right on the beach about 100 yards from Pier 60. Many restaurants and shops if you exit the hotel and walk on the street to the left. Marina, shops and restaurants on the street to the right. I rented a Jet Ski for an hour on the Hilton's beach (vendor is unrelated to Hilton). Also, the beach had activities such as beach volleyball, a huge chess set ("life-size"), and bean bag toss. All in all, a great stay at a great hotel. As a Diamond member, I booked on points, and was upgraded to a wonderful oceanfront suite. The only down-side of the room, was although nicely appointed, the bathroom clearly shows its age. Also, full breakfast buffet was included as a Diamond. The staff at the Breakfast Buffet were extra fantastic (even though some of them are Packer fans). We didn't hang at the pool but it looked like it would best be described as built on a portion of the parking lot. I'm kind of surprised that the resort doesn't make the pool area more "hip". Parking was easy but $7.50/day. I would absolutely return when I visit Clearwater Beach again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We appreciate your feedback which is most important. Thank you for being our guest and writing a review. We are delighted you were pleased with the upgrade to a suite. Our breakfast team has been made aware of your comments as well. We do hope we have the opportunity of having you with us should you return to the Hilton Clearwater Beach area.

Thank you
and
Sincerely
Bob Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This was my first experience of Hilton and I enjoyed it! The rooms were nice, the bed was comfortable and the hotel was up to date. The pool was nice and warm as well as the hot tub. The hotel is literally on the beach and it is a lovely beach. The only downsides are that you have to pay extra for everything, up to $20 a day for wifi, which most hotels give you for free, and $35 a week to park your car. It was a lovely hotel but the walls seem to be made of paper, so you can hear everything going on next door. However all In all not a bad a hotel enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate you being our guest and thank you for taking the time to write a review about
your recent stay at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Our guest feedback is most i mportant to us as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, should your travels bring you back tothe Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I liked the hotel and the staff very much, they went the extra mile in order to help.
I went there directly from Orlando airport but my baggage had been delayed in Europe. I asked at the hotel if they knew of any stores where I could buy some clothes but I was too tired to actually go and buy them. The staff had made me a map, circled some stores and left it under more door when I woke up in the morning. Really great!

The only drawback of the hotel is that I often woke up due to sirens (police cars, fire fighters?) and the one of the elevators didn't go to the top floor (nothing happened when I pushed that button, so it was probably a temporary problem)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and writing a review about your recent visit at the Hilton Clearwaer Beach. Your feedback is most appreciated. We do apologize for the noise inconvenience during your stay and one of the elevators not working properly.. Please contact us at trip_advisor@hilton.com should you have need to further discuss your issues. We do Hope, should you return to the Clearwater Beach area, you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Pros: professional staff (phone/pools/front desk/valets/restaurant/bars), food and catering (for a hotel), great bed linens, amenities, toiletries, conscientious housekeeping staff. Good conference hotel, close to best local restaurants and the Clearwater Marine Aquarium. Swimming pools at a nice temp. Didn't use the fitness room, but there were free weights, a couple of treadmills, bikes and ellipticals - adequate.

Cons: This hotel is howing the wear and tear (carpets/furniture) of a hotel that's really busy. Rooms are not very soundproof. We could hear tv's and muffled voices in adjacent rooms while just sitting in our room. We could also hear the plumbing above our room. The heat/cooling system is noisy. We would have left the balcony door open for fresh air at night, but there were no screens.

Not sure whether asking for a 'quiet' room would make a difference, but our stay was still pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate your feedback and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience.for guests. We hope to have another opportunity to serv you, should your travels bring you back to the Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,
Bob Waler,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Sure it's an old hotel but the beach, swimming pools, interior and staff are very good. Rooms are the usual Hilton standard and beds are outstanding. Had to walk a couple of blocks for the gym but as it was free, I didn't mind. Could do with an executive floor and lounge though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time time to write a review, and for bing our guests at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. . Your suggestions will be taken into consideration. Looking forward to having you with us again.

Sincerely
Bob Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Clearwater Beach

Address: 400 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#33 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Clearwater Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across 10 acres of sandy white beach, surrounded by blue skies and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hilton
Hilton Beach Resort Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Clearwater Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.