We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Strides Made by Travelodge at this Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Clearwater

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Clearwater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Clearwater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21252 US Hwy19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Econo Lodge Central)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2000 Bonus Points
Ranked #50 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Strides Made by Travelodge at this Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband & I just returned from a12-day stay at this Travelodge. We have had extensive experience with this property, having stayed there in its previous incarnations as an EconoLodge, and also during its sharp decline as the Buena Vista Hotel.

I am happy to report that The Wyndham Corporation and Travelodge have made great strides! Travelodge took over the property in 2011, and since then has been working to renovate and improve every aspect of the hotel. An employee shared with me as we checked out that while only 60-some rooms were available in 2011, they are now up to 96 renovated rooms, and work is continuing on the remaining rooms.

Our stay here (March 6-18) was unremarkable, and I mean that in a good way. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. One minor quibble: our hot/cold bathtub spigots were mis-marked! Other than that, we had no problems. Along with the room, we found the front desk staff (especially Ann) to be friendly and attentive, and the housekeeping staff does a very good job. Can't comment on the pool, simply because we were too busy to visit the pool this trip!

All in all, we were very satisfied, and have already made our reservation for next March.

Room Tip: Travelodge is pet-friendly and also offers rooms to smokers. Be sure to be specific if you are plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    142
    77
    35
    14
See reviews for
146
103
44
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

When I reserved this room over seven weeks before arrival, I had requested a first floor room, as my wife has knee problems and uses a cane. On arrival, we were given a second floor room (no elevators) and were told that, what with its proximity to the concurrently active Phillies spring training complex (why we were there also), no first floor rooms were available.
The other problem was that the shower head on arrival needed a new washer, with almost as much spray emanating every which way from the connection as from the nozzle.
To me, the mark of a good consumer experience is not necessarily that everything is done perfectly at the outset, but the merchant's willingness and ability to admit responsibility for problems and try his/her best to rectify it. In this regard Kelly, the franchisee, was stellar. When a cancellation opened up a first floor room, he moved us to it for the second half of our four-night stay.
He was apologetic about the shower head, saying they were gradually rooting out a bad batch they had bought. More importantly, he had the faulty shower head fixed within a few hours of notification.
Kelly was friendly, pleasant, helpful, and forthcoming at all times. All the other staff members we encountered were also friendly and courteous. Our rooms were generally well-maintained and very clean. The complimentary breakfast was good, fresh, and cleanly and neatly displayed, though it would have been nice to have included a few more hot items beside waffles, toast, and drinks. To be sure, when a wider selection of hot breakfast foods was really needed, Lenny's- the breakfast and lunch gold standard in Clearwater- was literally only a few steps away.
So in the end, our stay here was quite positive overall, and we would certainly be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna BC Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The large clean heated pool and the good service are the two things that stand out about this typical looking travellodge. The price, the continental breakfast, and the barbeque at pool side are some others. The rooms are clean two star. Next door is one of those older mom and pop restuarants that you can get huge breakfasts and lunch for cheap. It is near a large mall with a Target superstore and many newer chain restaurants. Halfway between St petersburg and Tampa it has easy access to both. Surrounding area is freeway/ older buildings-- not much romance here unless you rent by the hour. All in all a good choice especially if you have kids as the pool is heated to 85 and most hotel pools are not heated in the tampa -clearwater area.

Room Tip: ask for pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed last year and twice this year. Same friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and good breakfast. Were on a two month trip and stayed at many places. This was one of the best. Would recommend to anyone . Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have been a regular here at this hotel for almost a year now, we drive almost 16 hours from Va. to get to this wonderful hotel. I will tell you I have stayed at other hotels in and around this area. Marriott, Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn just cant compare to Travelodge Clearwater. Nothing comes close to the friendly employees at this hotel. They start off by welcoming you with a smile from the very 1st foot in the door. The staff is amazing especially Ann and Kelly! They will go above and beyond to make sure that you are completly happy and satisfied with your stay. The pool is amazing.. its HUGE so you never get that feeling of too many people in the pool. The rooms are VERY comfortable.. very clean! There are usually about 10 of us who venture down 5-6 times just during the summer.. all staying for at least 10 days.. the on site laundry facility is perfect, especially for those who travel for an extended amount of time. The beautiful Clearwater beach is a short drive maybe about 10 minutes. But so worth it since the hotels down on the beach are about 300.00 a night. This hotel is so close to everything resturants, WALMART (bc no matter how far you go from home a trip to walmart is almost always needed) shopping is amazing if thats what you are looking for. Lennys "BEST BREAKFAST IN CLEARWATER" is right next door! The hotel also offers a wonderful hot or cold breakfast with plenty to choose from. If your looking for a trip into one of the most amazing cities ever Tampa is right over the bridge maybe 15 min away. This hotel is right in the heart of everything.. its perfectly located to anything and everything you could possible need or want while on vacation or on a business trip. We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My wife and I found this place by necessity of needing lodging for the night. What a great find for us. Stayed Sat. the 25th of Feb. 2012 and returned the 28th for our last night in Fl.The breakfast was great with many choices. Took us only 15 minutes to get TPA and easily . The beach was about 20 minutes and truly beautiful. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

It was a pleasure/business trip with our 2 Golden Retrievers. We had stayed here a couple of years ago and once again, found the property to be clean, comfortable and very safe. Kelly (the Owner) and his staff does everything possible to make the stay pleasurable. Many of the rooms have a fridge and microwave and there is a barbeque by the pool with utensils at the front desk when one is tired of eating out and a laundry room on site. They even allow the large unused tennis court to be used as a fenced mini dog park!! In fact, although all our business was in Tampa, this property made it worth the daily drive and we HIGHLY RECOMMEND it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Clearwater

Address: 21252 US Hwy19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Econo Lodge Central)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Clearwater 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRAVELODGE CLEARWATER CENTRAL, located just a .5 mile from the Phillies Spring Training Camp. Start out your day with our complimentary Bear Bites continental breakfast, offering daily FRESH BAKED PASTRIES from the renowned Lennys Restaurant just next door. After the game, throw some steaks or burgers onto the barbecue, located in one of the picnic kiosks surrounding our tropical outdoor pool. Enjoy our 2 tennis courts, shuffle board and outdoor sitting area. And to help keep you in touch, we offer a complimentary Business Center right off the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Clearwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.