We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Phillies fans!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21252 US Hwy19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Travelodge Clearwater)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great for Phillies fans!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed at the Travelodge for one night during Phillies Spring Training. The location was not far from Bright House Field (walking distance, though across a highway), next to Lenny's restaurant (yummy breakfast), and near the Tilted Kilt (fun times!). It was clean and worth the price, which was reasonable. The staff was excellent. They had a computer and printer which allowed us to print out boarding passes and even buy and print tickets for that day's Phillies game!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    151
    84
    41
    17
See reviews for
163
113
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Thank you very much for a pleasent stay - we were in town for a fundraiser and were traveling with my enormous Newfoundland, we had a very clean room and the location was ideal - I would come back in the future!
Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011 via mobile

The rooms are old and damp. The beds are terrible,my husband's feet hung off the end. The only 2 good parts of this hotel are it's close proximity to Brighthouse Field and the pool.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Arrived early rooms not ready but the owners allowed us to store our luggage, and later relocated them to our rooms. We stayed two nights with friends from Plymouth England,
and received help, directions, places of interest such as restaurants etc . The rooms are clean and well appointed, the staff very helpful nothing was to much trouble.
We highly recommend this hotel, good price and value for money and will stay there again
on our next trip, but will stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We were supposed to stay here for 3 nights but 2 weeks prior, we canceled online. We have a confirmation number and a cancellation number. However, we were charged for our stay. When I called and spoke with Vernita, she was very quick to call me back and tell me what confirmation number we booked under and they held our room late into the night and we never showed and we had 3 nights booked. When I then told her my cancellation number (it even shows on their website), she was not helpful at all and told me that was Wyndham's issue and I had to contact Wyndham. Why? I told her I could just dispute it with my credit card as I have all the information with cancellation number, etc. She then said she would see what she could do. I haven't heard back from her and I did email Wyndham and haven't heard from the man I was dealing with at Wyndham either. First and last time I will deal with a Travelodge. I normally travel with Hilton or Marriott with no issues. And by the way, if traveling to Clearwater, rather than stay at the Travelodge where only the Phillies field is near there, stay at the Holiday Inn Clearwater...beautiful pool, view, average rooms, a bit more than Travelodge but a lot more to do around there and better customer service.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

booked Travelodge thru Priceline for four nights. Cost came to $222 with taxes and fees. The room and bathroom were clean. No evidence of bed bugs or other pests. The bath had a separate toilet/shower from sink area, which is convenient for two people. The bathroom also had a wire luggage rack overhead for storage away from bedding area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast included some fruit - bananas, apples, oranges -- plus cold cereal, instant oatmeal, juice, and yogurt. Pool area was very nice. Furniture recently painted and in good condition. Landscaping around the pool was lovely, and the water was heated. All rooms open to outside walkway. Ask for a room in the back overlooking the pool and away from the highway, and request a refrigerator and microwave (not all rooms come with these). It would be difficult to get around without a car, but that is true of much of Florida. I would stay at this motel again for this price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I've never stayed at a Travelodge before, so I was a little nervous, but the TripAdvisor reviews were decent and the price was excellent (booked through Priceline). Front desk staff was friendly, room was clean, and breakfast was sufficient. Rooms open to the outside. If you prefer a hot breakfast, Lenny's is literally steps from the hotel. We visited Clearwater Beach, St. Petersburg, and Tampa, and the hotel proved to be pretty centrally located to reach all of those. On the other hand, it's not really close to any of them. We didn't get a chance to try the heated pool, but it looked to be clean and a fairly large size. Hotel staff was happy to provide us with toiletries we forgot. Wireless Internet was free and fairly fast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Address: 21252 US Hwy19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Travelodge Clearwater)
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the MAGNUSON HOTEL CLEARWATER CENTRAL, located just a .5 Mile from the Phillies Spring Training Camp. Start out your day with our complimentary HOT continental breakfast. Take advantage of our beautiful weather and take the free shuttle from our Hotel to the Beach. After the game, throw some steaks or burgers onto the barbecue, located in one of the picnic kiosks surrounding our tropical outdoor pool. Enjoy our free WiFi, Beautiful resort pool and outdoor sitting area. And to help keep you in touch, we offer a complimentary Business Center right off the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.