We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired motel but convenient in a pinch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21338 US Hwy 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tired motel but convenient in a pinch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We met family at this motel, March 2012, for a spur of the moment occasion -- funeral --- as with funerals, there is "no time" to look for reviews and you trust the person making reservations, for their selection. We spent 2 nights here. Also, time of year, we were lucky to get the block of rooms that we did!! It was pricey, but we were in a peak season...Just thankful we were able to get rooms, at all! It also was convenient to shopping and dining options, and right off of highway.

Check in and check out, was speedy, friendly front desk attendent, free breakfast was nice, filling, everything you'd need to start the day.......overall experience, "OK" --- Our room was a handicap one, with large bath, reasonably clean, but evidence of "needed maintenance" or sprucing up. Plenty of towels, for the 2 of us; Realizing this might be a high traffic motel, then I'm sure it's a nightmare on daily maintenance. Room was roomy enough with 2 double beds, with hang up armoir, microwave/refrigerator, large TV, (remote was missing it's battery cover), coffee maker was not working --- made a half pot of coffee, and stopped, with water collected in the filter.

ALSO, for a handicap room, it was located, at the farthest point, (rear of motel) possible from the Breakfast area!!! Each morning my husband, (Handicapped), had to get in our car and DRIVE UP to the front of the motel for breakfast!! Word of warning --- be sure you know where you room is, in relation to the breakfast/front desk areas!! That was the major inconvenience! We were on the first floor, also. Front desk did say they had elevators, but most of what I saw, was stairs.....another point to be sure to ASK ABOUT.

Sheets were clean, no bed bugs, but when I opened the refrigerator, OUT crawled a roach! Well, this is Florida, isn't it?

Next time we are in Clearwater, we will look for better accomodations, but in a "pinch", it was OK.

Room Tip: Be sure you know where Handicap Rooms are located, and ask if there are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    112
    68
    37
    33
See reviews for
188
90
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grant, Michigan
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
509 helpful votes 509 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here for two days last month. Seemed the same as before and still was as busy as ever. This was at least our third visit to this location.
A/c unit in wall was really, really loud but it did work. Toilet overflowed for no reason when we got there and it took awhile for maintenance to get there--not a good way to start a stay.

Breakfast had changed a bit and was not as good as in the past.

Staff were top notch and very nice. Prices were reasonable.

Not sure if I will ever stop back again because there are many options nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The service at the front desk was the best part of my stay here. It's a non-smoking hotel, but two of the rooms I looked at both smelled of smoke. The pool area was okay, but nothing to write home about. Guests have access to a local gym. The grounds of the hotel were taken care of, but the interiors need remodeling in a bad way. Some of the guests appeared to be calling this hotel home as they had pictures on the windows and glass doors. Interesting...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Hotel was about a 10 min drive to clearwater beach which was nice, the beds were clean but the bathroom was not. The shower curtin was disgusting and the tub its self wasnt clean, I showered with a towel on the floor of the tub. There were also little flies flying around the sink

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Mass
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I am staying at the La Quinta in Clearwater on buisness, it's pretty centrally located for where I need to go. The location isn't bad overall, it's about 20 minutes from the Tampa airport, and about 10-15 minutes from Clearwater beach. For what I paid, I'm happy. It's by no means the Hilton, but, my room got cleaned everyday and the place as a whole was pretty clean. There were a few dogs staying with their owners here, which I didn't know. In my case, that's kinda ok, I have allergies and i don't really like dogs....again, not the Hilton. Overall, however, I would recomend it as a place to stay, because, as I said, for the price, it's great. It's also right next to the Philadelphia Philles spring training facility, so that's pretty cool too. One thing to make note of is, the buisness center in a desktop and printer in the lobby.

Room Tip: Other than a big bed, delux rooms arent all that delux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central

Address: 21338 US Hwy 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central is the home away from home in most convenient location that you have been looking for! From our comfy beds to our full access La Fitness nearby and complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, we are your best choice at a great price! Come stay with us next time you would to be near great restaurants, just 6 miles to the beach, and shopping and Tampa International Airport. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
La Quinta Hotel Clearwater
La Quinta Clearwater
Clearwater La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.