We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort with a huge expansive beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sand Key Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice resort with a huge expansive beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay in late May as a beach side trip after a Disney World vacation in nearby Orlando. Their beach is incredibly wide and can be quite a walk from the hotel grounds, however even with a 4 and 2 year old, it wasn't that bad. The sand is sugar-like and the water a nice aquamarine hue. There's a shopping plaza a short 10 minute walk away where we had breakfast and dinner a few times. We also ate at the pool cafe which wasn't bad. The resort is also located next to a park so it's pretty isolated and the beach was not crowded at all.

Overall we had a great time and we'd definitely make another side trip to this area for a nice relaxing beach visit after a Walt Disney World vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
After your time in Disney (which I am sure was exciting) Sand Key is a great retreat before your trip home. When the children get older there are many things in the area to keep them entertained, though I must admit we never get too old for a Disney trip. We do have Busch Gardens, miniature golf, museums, aquariums, water parks, boat rides and many other educational, but fun, things to do. Our Island beach is relaxing so you can mix in a few days of doing nothing but watching the children enjoy the pool, watching the dolphins playing in the Gulf or shelling along the shore. We will look forward to a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    573
    220
    84
    26
See reviews for
493
421
39
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east islip, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from Friday, Oct. 4th thru Oct 6th, and everywhere we walked or relaxed, the staff was so friendly and helpful. This resort is very beautifully located directly on the beach with the whirlpool and swimming pool perfectly placed overlooking the gulf of mexico. The food was great at both resturants, Main Stay Tavern (Ken our waiter gave us great service) and Rusty's breakfast buffet. Also Joanne Konczal was most pleasant greeting my mom and myself during breakfast making us feel right at home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
It is very satisfying to hear that your expectations were fulfilled during your stay. Our associates truly enjoy their interactions with our guests. They do their best to ensure that you enjoy your time with us. Joanne and Ken are genuinely caring people and I will pass on your comments to them. The location is very tranquil this time of year; gentle breezes, beautiful views and breath-taking sunsets which we hope will bring you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the end of September with our 10 year old son. It was kind of our end of the summer treat. We stayed in one of the suites with a king bed and a sofa sleeper. It was very large and comfortable. We visited the Club lounge several times and the staff was very nice. Love the breakfast in the morning and the Happy hour in the afternoon. Overall, I recommend the Hotel and I will go back for a quick weekend getaway far enough from our home in Orlando.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Week-ends at the beach with your family are so special. The beach is full of adventures for a 10 year old. Pirate boats and dolphins playing in the Gulf … Our beach and Sand Key Park are made for exploring. Then there are swims in the pool and meeting new friends. I am sure memories were made that he will never forget. We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are looking for a totally chilled out holiday , this is the place. We stayed for a week during august 2013, after spending two weeks in orlando theme parks . From the moment we checked in the level of service was first class. Our room was of a large size, spotlessly clean and comfy. We ate in both restaurants were the food was lovely. The pool area has plenty of loungers and shaded areas, the frozen strawberry daquiari,s are to die for from the pool bar, our children also enjoyed the non alcoholic cocktails available. The beach is wonderful,pure white sand, sea shells of all shapes and colours , swimming in the sea was like taking a bath as the water was so warm. If you feel like eating out of the hotel please try the coloumbian restaurant just a short walk , across the road. From the outside it looks ok but once inside wow, the food is fabulous and the service is too. We spent a great week relaxing and would love one day to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
“Chilled” is the word you will need to remember when things get too stressful. Relaxing, walking on the beach, shelling, lounging around the pool with a frozen strawberry daiquiri and then ending the evening with a great meal before heading to your comfortable room. Our associates really enjoy being a part of your great stay. Thank you, we would love to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was in clearwater for a business conference for several days staying at theSheraton Sand Key Resort. I just loved staying at this resort! Outstanding service - the restaurants had good food and great waiter/waitresses......the room was very nice - very very clean - only thing i didn't care for was the set up of the bathroom - quite small - sink area also very small but the pool area beach area was wonderful!!!

Room Tip: i stayed in a room on the 5th floor - there was no noise - view - i could see the water but also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We do hope your conference was a success and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I was also pleased you enjoyed your service and your culinary experience. This is an older property; it was the trend for the bathrooms to be designed that way at that time. I hope you will return for a personal vacation. You can then really relax and enjoy the beach with nothing on your mind… just listening to the surf and the seagulls. You will then have the time to see some of what this area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfeild mo
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

my exrerience was a very good one, the only poor thing the condition of the room. for the cost of staying at your hotel i beleive the condiition of the room could be upgraded a bit. when we arrived there lines at the ft desk which we understood.it was your typical checkin line until we were third or fourth in line when the lady checking guests in(i beleive her name is janet) leaned to one side was greeting other people in line with words of welcome, glad your staying with us, be with you in a moment all this with an unbeleiveable smile while checking in other guests.we were amazed this has never happened to us anywhere before.we felt welcome before we had checked in! it is very nice to know that someone there really cared about us, the only other person we had met was a young bell hop that should not we working with guests ever. janet made our experience ther excellent! her kindness and attention to your guests , to US will bring us back reguardless of how we feel about the rooms. please tell janet thank you for caring, hopefully she will be there when we return.


DAN and SARA

Room Tip: the gulf view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep the hotel updated and will continue to do so to fix those worn out areas. Our associates are trained to be warm and efficient; Janet is a great example of how all our associates should treat our guests. I have forward your comments to Janet’s supervisor and Janet, she is a STAR.I have also shared your comment on the Bellman with the appropriate manager. We will be pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back yet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batavia,il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Just recently stayed 4 nights at this beautiful property, picturesque beach, great location tranquil surroundings. Service throughout was outstanding! Very good value just for the location if nothing else. Food can be hit or missed but would definitely order the crab cake and calamari ...outstanding!! This was out first visit but will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you recognized our associates as they sincerely take pride in the service they give. They sincerely enjoy assisting our guests. We greatly appreciate your repeat business! We also appreciate the kind remarks regarding the crab cake & calamari. It is a beautiful, tranquil location. We will look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back yet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#11 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sand Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.