We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Sand Key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sand Key Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sheraton Sand Key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was in clearwater for a business conference for several days staying at theSheraton Sand Key Resort. I just loved staying at this resort! Outstanding service - the restaurants had good food and great waiter/waitresses......the room was very nice - very very clean - only thing i didn't care for was the set up of the bathroom - quite small - sink area also very small but the pool area beach area was wonderful!!!

Room Tip: i stayed in a room on the 5th floor - there was no noise - view - i could see the water but also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We do hope your conference was a success and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I was also pleased you enjoyed your service and your culinary experience. This is an older property; it was the trend for the bathrooms to be designed that way at that time. I hope you will return for a personal vacation. You can then really relax and enjoy the beach with nothing on your mind… just listening to the surf and the seagulls. You will then have the time to see some of what this area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    573
    220
    84
    26
See reviews for
493
421
39
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
springfeild mo
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

my exrerience was a very good one, the only poor thing the condition of the room. for the cost of staying at your hotel i beleive the condiition of the room could be upgraded a bit. when we arrived there lines at the ft desk which we understood.it was your typical checkin line until we were third or fourth in line when the lady checking guests in(i beleive her name is janet) leaned to one side was greeting other people in line with words of welcome, glad your staying with us, be with you in a moment all this with an unbeleiveable smile while checking in other guests.we were amazed this has never happened to us anywhere before.we felt welcome before we had checked in! it is very nice to know that someone there really cared about us, the only other person we had met was a young bell hop that should not we working with guests ever. janet made our experience ther excellent! her kindness and attention to your guests , to US will bring us back reguardless of how we feel about the rooms. please tell janet thank you for caring, hopefully she will be there when we return.


DAN and SARA

Room Tip: the gulf view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep the hotel updated and will continue to do so to fix those worn out areas. Our associates are trained to be warm and efficient; Janet is a great example of how all our associates should treat our guests. I have forward your comments to Janet’s supervisor and Janet, she is a STAR.I have also shared your comment on the Bellman with the appropriate manager. We will be pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back yet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batavia,il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Just recently stayed 4 nights at this beautiful property, picturesque beach, great location tranquil surroundings. Service throughout was outstanding! Very good value just for the location if nothing else. Food can be hit or missed but would definitely order the crab cake and calamari ...outstanding!! This was out first visit but will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you recognized our associates as they sincerely take pride in the service they give. They sincerely enjoy assisting our guests. We greatly appreciate your repeat business! We also appreciate the kind remarks regarding the crab cake & calamari. It is a beautiful, tranquil location. We will look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back yet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Lady in club room was very stern. The evening snack was an old sandwich with raw bacon. Don't pay the extra. Mold in shower. I expected this hotel to be much better. Went to dinner in the bar but food there wasn't much better and service wasn't good there either .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I apologize for the rudeness of the associate in The Club Lounge, I understand this does not resolve the issues you experienced. I hope you accept it as a demonstration of our commitment to providing you with the service levels you expect and deserve… There are no excuses for not meeting let alone not exceeding your expectations with the service in the Mainstay Tavern. I will also share your comments on the food with our Executive Chef. We assure you we will be taking steps to insure such occurrences are not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This property really is great. Its in a beautiful quiet area of clearwater, with a private beach. My husband and I have been coming here for 2 years now, and absolutely love it. It is BEYOND worth it to pay for a gulf view room. I have noticed all the people on here saying that they had a terrible view because they did not get the room they "requested". As frequent travelers we understand this but clearly some people don't. If your going to pay the cheapest rate for a hotel you can find, and request the best view, HELLO your not going to get the best when you paid for the worst! Of course upgrades are great but you cant rely on them! Personally we find it MUCH better to pay the extra fee for a great view, and be guaranteed that great view, so upon check-in there are no surprises and you know what you are getting. The staff helped us in every way that they could have from making the reservation, up to checking out, they were outstanding every step of the way, and I truly mean that. After we checked in, we called down to request a refrigerator, and it was delivered to the room in about 6 minutes! Yes, it is a bit of a walk to the ocean but took me and my husband a total of 5 minutes to get there. This resort has made long term customers out of us, and coming from cold vermont down to sunny, warm clearwater is going to remain a family vacation for years to come!
-Kathy & Paul

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you, your comments are so true. It is beautiful here. The waters edge is a five minute walk. We are on an Island and our beach does have that Island feeling as you are away from the busy part of the world, just sea, sky and sand. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our associates; I know I have said this many times but they do truly care and they will do all they can to ensure you enjoy your stay. When booking a room, we do honor requests but it depends on what the person reserved not what they request. We would love to upgrade our guests when possible; it just is not always possible. We will welcome your return Kathy and Paul and are pleased that you are now part of our Sheraton Sand Key family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here on a weekend staycation with the family. Great location just across the channel from Clearwater Beach...so if you want the activity and amenities of Clearwater they are a stones throw away, but if you want a more relaxed setting then you're in the spot to be. Rooms are a little small but we made it work. The pool is a little small and can be crowded but it's nice and it's well maintained and when it gets crowded you've got a fantastic beach in front of you so no worries. Nice cafe and bar poolside. They have a restaurant, lounge and store for sundries as well. we had the breakfast buffet and it was pretty decent and was priced a little lower than what were used to at similar hotels. The staff was great and everyone seemed in a good mood which was a pleasant change from some of our experiences elsewhere. Worth staying and if we get the chance will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Your comments regarding your recent stay are truly appreciated. We are pleased you recognized our associates as they sincerely enjoy assisting our guests. It is a great location, and, as you said, we do have the best of both worlds…a very tranquil environment here on Sand Key and all the activities of Clearwater. We do hope that you will find your way back to the beaches of Sand Key for another week-end escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

even though i did not rate the resort to be excelent. there was one exception , that exception was the service i received during our entire stay from janet at the front desk. she handled our needs and made what is usually a very terrible time ( checking in and out) an absolutle pleasure we found ourselves going out of our way just to see if she was at the counter so we could say hi.each day. she made our stay there the best experience we have had anywhere. JANET WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH

JOSEPH AND BETH

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I have brought your comments to the attention of Janet and those concerned. Janet wants you to know she appreciates your comments and looks forward to her new friends return visit, as do we.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#11 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sand Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.