We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sand Key Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights and I was very impressed with the friendliness and customer service of all the staff in the hotel. We wanted a fridge in our room when we checked in as we had a toddler and we wanted to keep some milk in the fridge for him. Within minutes of us checking in and walking into the room, they delivered the fridge to us.
Our rental car ended up having a flat battery one morning because we had left the headlights on (oops). The rental car agency wanted to charge us $50 to come out and jump the car. My husband talked to the hotel staff and they found a staff member who could jump the car for us for free. So I was so happy that we were able to save some money!
The rooms were always clean and the housekeeping staff was always very prompt in serving all of our requests.
The view from the room was awesome, the pool staff were always smiling and the concierge desk gave us some great tips on where to eat and things to do.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as the lower rooms will be noisy from the pool crowd. If possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very proud of our associates they genuinely care. They love to do everything they can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay and they enjoy being part of that positive experience. I am pleased to hear that you were helped with your car. We do hope someday in the future you will return to our smiling faces and beautiful views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    568
    218
    84
    25
See reviews for
488
418
38
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth uk.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel ...honeymoon/10 year & now 24th anniversary. We love it and despite what other people say in their reviews this hotel delivers everything that we want.
A big thank you for our room upgrades, champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries a lovely thought and much appreciated.
Rusty's restaurant was fantastic, the food was excellent as was the service. Breakfast buffet great value.
The pool area was relaxing and not too busy. Plenty of sunbeds and space to move around.
The rooms on the 7th floor overlooked the pool and gulf and we were able to sit and watch the sunset. Decor and quality of bed and linen was fantastic, very clean and lots of space to relax.
We enjoyed our short stay and will definitely return in the future, nothing anybody says about this hotel will change our view.
So thank you to all who made us feel special.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
You are special! Thank you for letting us share in those “special life events” with you. We were pleased that you enjoyed your special amenities. Rusty’s Bistro is so lucky to have an award winning culinary staff and professional servers; they are always honored to hear their efforts were mentioned by our guests. We will look for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel. We used the "club room" and were pleasantly surprised at the value/great service/good food this provided. The employees of the club room were very friendly and helpful with questions about what to see, where to eat/shop. The employees at the towel/pool area were very friendly, as well. I felt good that we had chosen this hotel based on safety, cleanliness and just friendly/helpful employees. Someone is doing a good job at training the staff to ensure customers are satisfied!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here at the Sheraton Sand Key. Our associates are trained. It is just not the training; they truly care and it comes from the heart. We hope you will return for another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just got back after a weeks stay here. From the moment we drove into the car park until the moment we drove away, our stay here was wonderful!

It was my wifes birthday and they left chocolate coated strawberrys and sparkling wine in our room which was a pleasent suprise on arrival. We had a massive and very comfortable king size bed with a Gulf view (which we paid $40 per night upgrade) the room was clean and modern and has lovely HD flat screen TV. The bathroom was small, but was not a problem, most importantly it was very clean and maids came everyday to change bedding & towels. We also was given complimentry wi-fi during our stay

Just like most reviews on here the staff are just so friendly and helpful and I must make a special mention to David who was one of the deck/pool attendents, what a charming guy, very funny and so helpful Thank You David! (Cheers!!)

Now these are just observations and NOT complaints and have been mentioned in other reviews

Yes the corradors are a bit noisy, and the room walsl are a bit thin and yes we did hear next door rooms nocturnal activities on our first night!!! .. was not really a problem

Yes you do have to walk about 200 yards across sand to get to the ocean, but again was not a problem for us

Yes the pool is on the small side, but was very cool and refreshing

Overall, we really enjoyed our week SSK Resort and would recommend to anyone

Thank you to all the Management & Associates for making it such a special trip!

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to a Gulf View, worth it just to see the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am so very pleased that your gift to your wife was all that you both anticipated. Thank you for recognizing the staff - as I say often, they truly care. I will pass on your comments to David.
We appreciate your review and will look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

For over $300 per night, this is NOT what we expected!

I don't know were to start... Its a 70s hotel that was renovated maybe 20 years ago.
The room was tiny, the sink is not even in the bathroom, the bathroom itself is even smaller. The AC is a wall unit that can barely keep up. Showerhead was broken, wallpaper and grout in bathroom moldy, balcony dirty upon arrival with old food from previous occupants. The furniture needs to be replaced, some drawers stuck and the furniture was scratched. The water in the shower oscillates between hot and cold.

I understand this place get a lot of good reviews here, but those guests must have either been in a different room class or must have stayed at a different Sheraton Sand Key Resort.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Yes, you are correct. Our main building was built in the 70’s and additions were added on in later years. We are committed to the quality of our hotel and are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep it updated. We just finished major renovations this past January. I truly apologize for the condition of your room and it will be addressed with the appropriate departments. I do hope you enjoyed the location and some of the hotel and area amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great hotel, located on beach, very clean, friendly staff but a few drawbacks including having to pay for wifi and no beach deck chairs provided. Also telephone charges expensive, Clearwater calls considered local only, calls to other locations within Florida charged at international rates!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
It is a pleasure hearing that you enjoyed the hotel, our associates and our location. We do not charge a resort fee as most hotels do. We only charge for amenities used such as the internet and telephone. We do have free internet at the Link @ Sheraton experienced with Microsoft, which is located in The Mainstay Tavern. Also, we have just added several new wireless access points throughout all lobbies. The cabanas do not belong to the hotel. They are a concession, so we do not set the prices. We do ensure the prices are in line with other cabana concessions in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5/18-5/25/13. Room was comfortable and well maintained. Pool a bit on the small side but well maintained. Only complaint is that hotel did not provide beach chairs - you have to rent for $25 per day. We have never stayed at a resort that didn't provide chairs at the ocean. We solved this by purchasing chairs at the local Walgreens.
Be sure to take advantage of the Jolly Trolley - great way to get around and stops right at hotel door.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
The Trolley is fun and a great mode of transportation. We hope you enjoyed the amenities that the Sheraton Sand Key and the surrounding area have to offer. Many of the area hotels do not offer cabanas. The cabanas here do not belong to the hotel. They are a concession, so we do not set the prices. We do ensure that the prices are in line with other cabana concessions in the area. Please consider us for your next beach escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sand Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.