We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but very noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Sand Key Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean but very noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This seems more like a conference center than a resort, lots going on downstairs with a spread out layout. We were here just 2 nights and did not use any amenities so I cannot comment on that. The hotel is older, but rooms are clean and beds comfortable. The only issue we had was a lot of noise, thin walls through which we could hear everything from every direction. Drawers being open, babies crying, people watching tv, multiple conversations, vacuum etc. when people in rooms nearby used their keys to open their door it felt like they were coming into yours! perhaps it's better if you stay here at a quieter time, we stayed over Christmas, and the hotel is very busy. Overall, we were underwhelmed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    532
    205
    78
    23
See reviews for
449
384
36
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My son and I stayed here for one night. The hotel is right on the beach (advantage over Marriott Sand Key), and the pool area is very nice. We walked across the street to the Marriott for dinner, and ended up eating at one of the several restaurants that are adjacent to the Marriott. In walking through the Marriott though, we noticed the pool area was hopping in the evening, and the pool Tiki bar was crowded and fun. Plenty of free parking at the Sheraton. I booked a Club Level room, and although the room is not on the same floor as the club room, we enjoyed a nice display at Happy Hour and Breakfast. Public Computer was also helpful within the club room. While in Clearwater Beach, we also stayed at the Hilton, and even though they're only 2 miles apart, the Sheraton is in a much more quiet area of town. This is a great place to relax and do a lot of nothing, and would return if I'm looking to get away and veg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at The Sheraton Sand Key, Clearwater Florida in mid- December. The hotel was in the midst of renovating the main lobby and Rusty's Restaurant. For the inconvenience of the noise in the lobby and the main restaurant being closed, the hotel upgraded us to the club level, which enabled us to enjoy the complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Additionally, they provided free internet access in our room.
Additionally, they offered for a future stay a complimentary first night and each night after being 50% off the rate.
The staff was very helpful not only in the hotel, but also in the pool and beach areas. Very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Because of the staff.... GREAT service throughout the resort.

Let me start by saying I am an associate of Starwood and have a great benefit of good rates staying at our properties. After saying that, we're often given not so special treatment and given the room overlooking the parking lot. Not so at this property. From the moment we entered we felt welcomed.

Our Check in went smoothly and were given a room overlooking the pool / ocean.
We walked the beach daily collecting some great shells. People complain of the walk to the beach but we timed it and actually takes 3 min. Really?? Enjoy it...

Nate in the bar is an asset to this property. Very good at what he does.. Thanks also to Sasha on his day off.. The food is delicious!! We ate here every night and enjoyed every meal.

We attended the Eagles/Bucs game and it's only took us 30 min.

Thanks for everything.. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any room 4th floor or above looking towards the ocean southwest side for GREAT sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The private beach area was most enjoyable. I didn’t particularly care for the long walk to the ocean, but it wasn’t too bad. The outdoor pool areas were always kept very clean and the hotel offered complimentary pool toys to the kids, sand buckets, etc. There seemed to be an abundance of sea weed that littered the beach and was annoyingly present in the ocean. I’m not sure if it was time of year I visited or if it’s always like that. The hotel lobby paints an inaccurate portrait of the hotel’s rooms. During my visit I stayed in three different rooms because of availability issues and each room had several discomforting things about them. One had an awful smell that housekeeping was unable to rid. Don’t expect to have a marvelous view of the ocean. I was told by the staff “our hotel is not oriented to be in a position to allow you that kind of view.”.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to book your room. Don't book online or with Sheraton's reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the spot to enjoy the nice Clearwater beach
The location is perfect; not right in the middle but close enough that you can walk around/bike or take short drives
The beach is amazing; in our last stay you can see dolphins from the beach
The service at the hotel was good; only issue is the kitchen by the pool is not good at all; it is not a kitchen just a small area to prepare hotdogs...this management needs to improve
Overall a great stay...we'll come back for sure

Room Tip: Try the higher level floors overlooking the beach area;
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a nice, uncluttered decor/design, clean & "green" hotel. It also happens to be an older hotel and by that I mean that the walls are thin. The other "old" element that cant go unnoticed is the size of the bathroom. The only room we saw was ours so I dont know if this is the case in all rooms but the toilet was situated facing the door with the shower to the right. The door to the bathroom just cleared the toilet bowl. If you were to walk in on your spouse or child you would most certainly whack their knees. If you have small children and need to help bathing them, this would be a most difficult/impossible bathroom for you to work in.
Our biggest complaint was that several amenities that we have become accustom to and consider basic were missing. There wasn't a refrigerator, microwave or wi-fi in the room. You could pay for wi-fi in your room for an additional $12 a day or they do provide a very nice lounge with 8? computers plus hook ups for your own computer if you want. Another thing we noticed in short supply was water fountains. Strange. Was it because they are "green" and trying to conserve? Maybe but we felt like it was to force us to buy the bottled water at $2 a pop. Water is necessary if you are at the beach and in the sun all day. Oh, and another thing. There were nice lounge chairs poolside but NONE for the expansive beach. If you wanted a beach chair you had to rent 2 with an umbrella for $25 a day. How can you have a hotel, on the beach, and not have at least some chairs available for your guests?
Pluses, there is a safe in your room, free of charge! Big Plus. The rooms are a nice size. Each with a balcony. Large closet, many hangers, many mirrors, a laundry line to dry your bathing suits and lots of drawer space.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#27 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sand Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.