We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal North Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal North Beach to your Saves list
Royal North Beach
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   657 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Clean, comfortable place to stay.across the street from the beach. Full kitchen; small but clean pool and pool area if you don't want to sun on the beach. Very friendly staff. The bed isn't top notch but only my bed at home is. This more than suffices for a stay at Clearwater Beach. If I come back here, I'll stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    40
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
71
48
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Richey, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Royal North Beach is the only place my children and I stay when going to Clearwater Beach. We stay at least one weekend a month for a "staycation." There were minor issues in the past with the water taking a few minutes to get hot, but they have upgraded their system and the water heats up instantly! You will not find another hotel on the beach that offers as much as RNB does for the price. The rooms are one bedroom condos and are fully equipped with anything you could possibly need. They even have chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, and carts to take to the beach. All you need to bring is your clothes and swim suit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Read the reviews and saw the talk about no hot water but thought it was an exaggeration. Well, guess what, it wasn't. There is NO HOT WATER ! The best is a very luke warm. The hotel people are aware of the problem but don't seem to be able to fix it. The noise from the garbage trucks at 7:30am each morning, the crying baby upstairs, the fight for street parking, the squeaky bed, and even the little bathroom with drain problems may have all been acceptable, but NO HOT WATER......not acceptable. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We chose this hotel for a 3 night stay after 9 nights spread between NYC and Boston and a further 3 weeks in travelling around Florida in October 2013. Apologies for the delay but I have just retrieved my notes.

Reasons for the choice included it was well reviewed on TA, it had free on-street parking, it was close to beach (just across the street), it had a pool plus there are a range of restaurants close-by. Another plus was that it has on-site clothes washing facilities. The one bedroom apartment offered decent accommodation with well equipped kitchen at a reasonable price

The hotel is built like a horseshoe around the pool with a generous sitting area. The buildings are 2 storeyed with access from a communal landing. There are chairs outside each room.

We stayed in room 202 which was an upstairs room on the shady side of the hotel which meant it was not only cooler but the lack sun meant we could sit outside all day. The pool was welcoming and very refreshing.

The hotel is located at quiet end of town so no noise problems from the street

The hotel provides beach gear - parasol towels chairs + trolley - so no problems going to the beach. There are good restaurants about 10-15 minutes walk away. The restaurants are very busy up to about 8.15 and then clear out

Saturday night was interesting - some people arrived who we're attending a wedding and there was multiple occupancy of some rooms. Unfortunately once the wedding was over these people decided to go to the bar next door to continue the party and with more drink consideration for others disappeared and the party transferred to the RNB at around midnight. Following complaints to management the noise fell silent quite quickly.

Without Saturday night the RNB did what it said on the tin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed two nights,people were friendly. Rate was great, location cannot be beat. Room had everything we needed except hot water. Never had more than lukewarm the entire stay, and talked to other guests that said the same. Linens were worn but serviceable and bed was very noisy. Very s h port walk to the beach, sunsets were just stunning. I recommend pizza at Angelos across the street, breakfast at the clearwater cafe and t-shirt shopping at the place on the same block as the cafe. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as we were passing through, had a hiccup in travel due to the weather and the hotel were superb in changing the booking with no penalty. The place is really clean and comfortable and the location is superb for the beach or nearby restaurants, would definitely stay there again

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our family stayed here for one week and the quality of service exceeded our expectations. The staff was extremely friendly, hospitable, and created a warm atmosphere. To all the staff at Royal North Beach, mere words could never express our sincere gratitude for your excellence of customer service! We look forward to our visit next year.

Kilian Family

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal North Beach

Address: 657 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms, full kitchens, pillowtop cover on pull out couches for the kids! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal North Beach Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.