We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Clearwater Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal North Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal North Beach to your Saves list
Royal North Beach
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   657 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in Clearwater Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. The apartment was spacious and very well equipped and the wonderful beach was very close. The location at the north part of Clearwater beach is the best: away from the big hotels (but close enough to reach all the restaurants and bars with a short walk) and you could walk miles along the white beach without any houses! The hotel is small and the atmosphere is very nice and laid-back. We just loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    47
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
81
55
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wahlenglaender
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had requested a ground level apartment, but ended up on the first floor. We arrived on a Sunday and the office was closed. They had deposited a letter for us in the mailbox, writing the combination that would open the apartment. We came from the UK and had a lot of luggage that we had to drag upstairs (we are in our seventies). Yes, we had this "hot water" problem also. You have to run the bath till the water is hot, then you will have hot water in the kitchen - strange!I thought from the picture that the pool would be bigger (my fault). The apartment is nicely laid out. We did not watch much TV because we did not like the programmes. Having to keep the blinds down all the time is a bit claustrophobic, but if you don't, everybody can look in and you have no privacy. The location is great, the JOLLY TROLLEY stops across the street and takes you ($2,25 for seniors) all along the beach, to the supermarket and connects with other buses if you want them. The beach is just across the road and it is truly beautiful and was empty in December.

Room Tip: Sunshine in the morning is only on half of the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's a great location because you can easily walk to downtown restaurants and shopping while being out of the traffic. It's also a two minute walk to the beach. We enjoyed walking to dinner then strolling along the water back to the Royal North Beach. Street parking is the only option but unless you hit a real busy time, there seemed to be somewhere relatively close to park. Unit was clean and quite spacious for the cost. Full size kitchen with all the appliances. It kinda felt like a smaller home. Will return again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Upon entering the room we saw what we thought was a cockroach. We contacted the office and the lady chased what she called the "disgusting bug" until she caught it and took it away. We decided to take showers, and ended up taking them cold because of no hot water. We were later told that it takes about 10 minutes for the hot water to arrive. We tried to watch tv but the volume was as loud as possible and the controller was broken so it couldn't be turned down. We were told that we couldn't be compensated for the problems since we booked through hotels.com. We will never go back. A great value if you don't mind the bugs, noise and no hot water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSarno, General Manager at Royal North Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Shortly after you arrived, a Palmeto bug flew into your room because the door was left open -- as we explained to you at the time. Palmeto bugs live outside and only enter doors and/or windows that are left open. Fortunately we have wonderful pest control and that's why it was already dying when you found it.

We were never made aware of any other issue you had during your stay -- at least not while you were here -- as we would have responded as quickly as we did with the one issue we were aware of. Your TV remote would have been replaced if we had been made aware that it had a faulty volume control -- and we would have gladly shown you how to work the hot water faucets if you were having problems as it does not take 10 minutes to get hot water.

I'm very sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We value all of our guests and we always try to make sure each guest has a wonderful experience here -- one they will want to repeat many times in the future! We wish you both the very best and hope you will return to Clearwater Beach soon.

Sincerely,
Kathy Sarno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a great place for 16 friends to catch up! All rooms face the pristine, warm pool. Rooms are generous in size with living rooms, kitchens, full bath and bedrooms. Numerous restaurants, bars and shoppng in walking distance. You don't need a car here but there are several free parking spaces out front if you do! The beach is 15 seconds across the road. Fabulous sunsets nightly. A great value. We would go back with friends in a New York minute! It is about a half hour from Tampa Airport.

Room Tip: I went into 3 rooms. All were nicely appointed. Noise was not a factor. Quiet in rooms, quiet neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSarno, General Manager at Royal North Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review! We enjoyed your group and hope you all will be able to return in the near future!

Sincerely,
Kathy Sarno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This little gem was perfect for my group of 18! We each had our own room but had the great atmosphere around the pool to sit and visit and play games. Everything we needed or wanted was a walk away. Breakfast, lunch or dinner spots but the kitchens in each unity were perfectly stocked to cook too. The Food Mart was a quick walk. We all came from differenet states for our reunion and everyone was very happy with Royal North Beach!!!!

Room Tip: Great for family, a couple or a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect with our condo. Clean and great staff. Very cozy and will definitely recommend!!! The manager is around at all times and makes you feel at home. Free DVDs to watch and daily reports on weather and sunrise and sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.9 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Clearwater Beach
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal North Beach

Address: 657 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms, full kitchens, pillowtop cover on pull out couches for the kids! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Royal North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal North Beach Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.