We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying but failed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal North Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal North Beach to your Saves list
Royal North Beach
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   657 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Pound Ridge, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Trying but failed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've stayed there 3 times: late August 2010, 2011 and just recently 2012. I was a fan in 2009 despite power outages and insuffient a/c because of the wonderful staff. Unfortunately the place has gone totally downhill and the wonderful staff hangs up on you when you have a complaint. My young daughter and I arrived to 2 hefty smoking girls in string small bathing suits who were not guests of the hotel. Dirty, filthy, stained bathtub. Towels with curly hair on them (see attached photo). Threadbare bed linens. Several long hairs in the bed. Toaster oven with old pop-tart in it. Kitchen sponge that smelled of mildew. Old towels and bathing suit top on the back of hte door (see photo). We checked in and left the room immediately, didn't notice the poor condition of the room until late that night. We checked out the next morning and Kathy told us we would be billed even though they knew their housekeeping was substandard (something about employee issues). Also, smokers sit outside and the odor comes through the windows if you're near them. Sorry to see it, but this place is no longer the family-friendly place it was and is dirty.

Room Tip: If you think you must go there and it's during the hottest time of year you MUST stay on the nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSarno, General Manager at Royal North Beach, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here with us -- we only wish your third stay had been as delightful as your previous stays. As a guest that has stayed with us several times before, I'm sure you are aware that we always go above and beyond to ensure the comfort of our guests. Had we been informed of any issue or complaint while you were here, we would have done our best to rectify it immediately. Your family spent all day and evening enjoying our facilites without a word of complaint -- we did not learn of your unhappiness until later the next day after you had already left. Unfortunately we were not given a chance to correct any issue you may have had.

We hope you and your daughter will continue to enjoy all of the wonderful attractions Clearwater Beach has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    40
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
71
48
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Royal North Beach is a nice hotel, located a bit away from the heart of Clearwater Beach. The premises are modest and clean. We were staying at One Bedroom Luxury Suite (family of Four: 2 adults and kids ages 6 & 8) for 4 days and 3 nights. The suite was spacious enough, clean and in a good shape. The AC system was certainly outdated and not efficient to cool down properly our suite. The beach is located right across the street from the hotel, and is within easy and short distance. Because it is away from the central part and the pier, there is no life guard on duty and there are no services at all at this very section of the beach. Our rate tat he Royal North Beach was $160 per weekend day and $140 per weekday. Our fiends who came with us, also family of Four (kids ages 6 and 10) decided to stay at Sandpearl Resort, several blocks away from Royal North Beach. Their flat rate for Family Suite was $214 per night. After visiting them at Sandpearl Resort, I am convinced that iit is worth spending apx. $50 extra per day to be at much better hotel, centrally located, with wonderful pool, private beach (with all convenient services), and very good and quality restaurants on premises. There is a substantial difference in all aspects (location, services, quality of rooms, availability of restaurants, bars, spa, fitness club, large swimming pool, etc) between Royal North Beach and Sandpearl Resort which more than justifies the difference in price per day. The difference in price is not substantial. To be fair to the staff of Royal North Beach; they were nice and accommodating. It is certainly hard for them to compete on the price point levels with much newer, nicer and modern hotels available in their immediate area.

Room Tip: We have stayed at room 208; recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSarno, General Manager at Royal North Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel and staff. We try very hard to ensure every guest has a wonderful stay here with us.

We agree that it is difficult for any small resort to compete with large four and five star hotels -- however, when comparing rates, one must always consider the total cost of the stay rather than just the nightly rate. Most large hotels and resorts charge a daily parking fee ($25) as well as a daily amenities or resort fee (18%). If you consider these fees, the difference in price is closer to $125.00 per night as we charge no other fees. ALL fees are included in our nightly rate. The only other cost when you stay at the Royal North Beach is tax.

We hope your family and friends will return to Clearwater Beach many times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The place is OK. cross the street from the beach. The rooms are OK.
The staff are the best thing in this property. They are very helpful.
They offer you beach towels, chairs, coolers, kids toys etc.
The area is less crowded and the beach is nicer than other places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great location, across the street from lovely beach access. The North beach is less crowded with tourists and very near to residential area. The sand is white and soft, waves are very gentle, water was very warm! Bed was a little uncomfortable and hot water hard to come by, when washing dishes. We left dirty or wet towels out each morning and they were replaced with clean ones. Wireless worked wonderfully. They have plenty of sunscreen, beach buggies, umbrellas, pool toys, dish washing liquid, paper towels, laundry detergent, etc. for you to use. Pool was immaculate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This resort is horrible. It is not even 2 stars resort. It is small, dirty with old furniture. When we moved to unit it had very old leather like ottoman with holes in it. After 3 weeks when we moved out they charged us for this ottoman. Ofcourse, they needed money to replace it, so they left it for us to live and after our moved out they said we damaged it more and charged us 200$. Don't believe good reviews about this dirty resort. We check prices for clearwater resort and royal beach resort isn't cheap. You can find cheaper. All linens in north royal beach resort were old with holes. Do you think It is luxury resort as they claim it? Two air conditions in the wall not central aircondition. They are so noisy... We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

...as the title says, we've been there twice, going back this winter. Best value for money, clean, safe, all the amenities you need. Only thing keeping this from having the 5 stars is that it's not right on the beach and bathroom could use a little updating to match the modern kitchen...but then we would have to pay more wouldn't we?

Great value, great place. Feels good to be a regular.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The room was nicely furnished, clean, and we had clean towels everyday. However, the a/c in the bedroom wouldn't get very cold. The tv's were small and the remotes for the were held together with duct tape. You had to let the water run forever and a day for it to get hot, and the water pressure in the kitchen sink was barely more than a trickle. The worst thing was the parking situation. It is street parking, and the general public uses it for beach parking. Several times I had to drive around for upwards of an hour just to get a spot within 3 blocks of the hotel.
The manager was very nice and answered all of our questions. We ended up having to pay $10 to park at a motel on another street, but she did reimburse us when we brought the ticket back.
We were more satisfied with RNB than the place we stayed a last year, but will probably end up spending a little more for a condo with private parking next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal North Beach

Address: 657 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms, full kitchens, pillowtop cover on pull out couches for the kids! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Royal North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal North Beach Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.