We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Loved this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachview Inn

Save Saved
You added Beachview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Illinois
1 review
“I Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

I just returned from an overnight at this hotel and was quite happy for the price. It must have been renovated recently. The elevator needs work but for the price you could not beat it.
Beautiful view great restaurant next door.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biltmoreeli, Manager at Beachview Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2009
We apreciate the fact that our recent guests have enjoyed their stay and have witnessed a marked improvement in the physical condition of the Beachview. Regarding the elevator, a complete remodel is scheduled during the month of September. In the interim, we have taken steps to preserve the operating condition of the elevator by slowing the mechanism down thus causing a slightly longer opening and closing of the door. We appreciate your patience during the time it takes to receive all of the new parts for the renovation this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    71
    46
    29
    33
See reviews for
85
69
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

I am normally not a picky visitor at all, but this place screamed "we are in it for the money". Where do I begin? The decor is aged, the mattresses needed a wooden board in between the mattress and baseboard. The coffeemaker in the room had a filter basket that did not fit, the elevator was old and smelly, the 'breakfast' was donuts from Walmart and coffee that had to have been decaf, the couch had some sort of jumping insects, there were 2 towels no matter how many guests...We had 2 rooms = $300 a night people!! The only positive side was the view. But big deal. Walk out of the room and look at the same view for free. Please don't waste your money. The have to renovate and exterminate. Let's all let them know that. You deserve that much for your hard earned money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biltmoreeli, General Manager at Beachview Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2009
On March 13, 2009, the Clearwater Beachview Resort was purchased by a new ownership group. On the 1st of April, renovations began on the 5th floor and we have now added the 4th floor to the schedule. We plan to finish the additional two floors over the summer months. All new carpet, wall finishes, bathroom enhancements and soft and hard goods will be replaced.

In addition to the rooms, we will be completing the exterior painting and landscaping. Additional retail will be added to vacant space in the building by mid-summer. A new property management system is bing oinstalled along with a GDS 800# connectivity. Going forwrd, we will take full responsibility for any guest who is not completely satisfied but we will assure our future guests, that when completed, the BEachview Inn will stand out as one of the best values for family visitation on the beach. We look forward to reintroducing our future guests to our property.

Eli White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

My wife and I visit Clearwater Beach every year. We were greeted with a smile and treated very well. The room was clean, and does show some signs of aging. It's not that bad. We don't spend all our time in the room anyway, but it's a very good location. There's also a little bar called Britts right next door. We ate and drank there everyday. It's like Margraritaville in Clearwater! ;^)

If your the type who requires a sweet smelling room with fancy soap, you won't like this place. (The Hilton is .3 miles north @ $250 per night).

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The hotel lacks internet access, but wireless is everywhere along the beach. I logged in from the room.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biltmoreeli, General Manager at Beachview Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2009
The property is under new ownership and management. The property was purchased March 13th and renovations began April 1st. Overhaul of all of the rooms will be completed with the 4th and 5th floors coming back on line by mid-May, 09. The remaining rooms will be completed as we move into the summer months. Complimentary breakfast is being upgraded and we will guarantee a response to any guest not completely satisfied with their accommodations. Every feature of the hotel will be improved including the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

You definately get what you pay for. If you are on a budget, this is the place, great location right on the beach. Very nice people who run the hotel, but it has definately seen better days. Our room smelled like pepperoni and sausage so we bough lysol and candles to help clear out the smell.

We are two adults with two daughters and there was a mix of families, which was nice, but at night came the spring breakers - not every night, but when I went on spring break (and I was a spring breaker) I stayed where it was cheap - that should tell you something.

The beds must be 40 years old, my daughter said it felt like she was sleeping on a rubber band. My husband's back is ruined and I took advil pm everynight so I could fall asleep.

We ate at Britt's every day and every night - amazing restaurant - great food, great service, awesome prices. I won't go back to Clearwater, not what it's cracked up to be... Nothing terrible happened, but perhaps I am a bit of a hotel snob.

This is definately a MOTEL, again, very nice owners, but really in need of an overhaul. Some new hotels (Hyatt) is being built next door, which probably is triple the price, but on my 2nd night, I would have gladly spent the money. $105 gets you a tiny room with two double beds, $140 gets you a bigger room, efficiency and terrace. We upgrated to the bigger room immediately upon entering the smaller room. Great views of the beach, great sunsets, very nice pool... sorry couldn't be better ...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biltmoreeli, General Manager at Beachview Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2009
The property was just purchased at the time this guest visited. Complete renovations of the guest units are underway. The hotel is a boutique Inn that is ideal for families and couples. The market is also open for other types of business and the Spring Break guests are also welcome. However, we do not allow loud and obnoxious behavior during anytime of the year. That is not the acceptable norm for our Inn. If rules are not followed, guests are asked to vacate the premise in order to not disturb the other guests on property. We hope previous visitors will take the time to return on their next trip and see first hand the improvements that have been made as we continue to invest in the upgrade of the BEachview Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

!!!!!!!!!WOW WHAT A CRAP HOLE!!!!!!!!!
BE SAFE AND DON'T WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED $$$$$$$$$.
First of all the location is great, but that is the only thing.(i have to give them that). lets start by the elevator, its old, smelly and broken. we got a suite(hahahaha,so,not a siute)the room was old smelly, carpet dirty,the bathroom was so horriblet that all the walls had mold on them,hand rail was broken, soap holder broken, and the toilet was gross.
the tv not working properly becouse the cable was loose, and god knows what some people have done on the sofa next to it( full of stains)beds were so beat up, that they had no fluff to them.
any ways THIS IS NOT A RESORT THIS IS A MOTEL!!!
ohh and the pool was nothing pretty.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biltmoreeli, General Manager at Beachview Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2009
As stated in other responses, our company purchased the hotel on March 13, 2009. Complete renovations are underway in the guest rooms, two floors at a time. Exterior painting and landscaping will follow. As we go forward, we can only take responsibilty for what may occur in the future. We regret the past guests had negative experiences but we can assure you we are working to correct these shortcomings. We look forward to introducing everyone to what will be one of Clearwater Beach's best family values.

Eli White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Stayed here July 20-22.

Big room overlooking pool area and gulf (across the street).

A/C worked fairly well, not great.

Carpet looked old, dingy, nasty.

Beds were clean, but not comfortable.

Small roach crawled across the floor!!!!!!! NASTY!!!!!

Two towels for five people. My sons asked for more and man at front desk growled at them.

No pool towels. Pool was GROSS!! My husband and kids looked at the water with goggles on and got out!! Pool chairs were cheap and old. Dead plants in planters.

Elevator rarely ever worked or was extremely slow.

Breakfast consisted of packaged foods only.

Beach access easy - across the street. But this beach is not nearly as nice as the beach north of the pier. Huge difference in size of beach, sand, and water. Pay more and stay north!!

  • Liked — view of gulf
  • Disliked — roach in room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

One word to describe this place HORRIBLE very expensive and nasty. 1st room we got had a big hole in the wall so they changed our room, the elevator never worked and we were on the 4th floor. Just terrible
the rooms look very cheap like a cheap motel. Would never stay here again. I rather pay the extra money and stay at a well know hotel. DONT STAY HERE U WILL REGRET IT ONCE U GET THERE>I DID.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Inn

Address: 325 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express)
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachview Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Beachview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.