We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful vacation experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpearl Resort to your Saves list
Sandpearl Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$200 Per Night Off Suites
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Canfield, Ohio
1 review
“wonderful vacation experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

First time at Sandpearl I love this Hotel. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone vacationing in Clearwater Beach. The hotel and property is immaculate. The staff from check in to check out can not do enough for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I am happy to hear your first visit with us was superb! It is our pleasure to assist in making your vacation as pleasant as can be. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    335
    110
    56
    28
See reviews for
606
537
10
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

First time at Sandpearl turned out to be a wonderful stay for our family of 5. The service was impeccable from everyone we came in to contact with. The property is beautiful, and access to the beach can't be beat.We had a room on the side of the hotel, which still gave us great views of the ocean.The car valet was surprisingly fast, with no more than a two minute wait once you called down. The gym had all the equipment needed. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I am delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and received impeccable service wherever you went. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL/BOS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Once again I was lucky enough to stay here - and the Sandpearl remains the best on Clearwater Beach (I'd say the Hyatt is next on my list) - but the Sandpearl easily holds the top spot. A beautiful property inside and out - a feeling of relaxation and 'vacation' will hit you the moment you step into the Resort. An ocean front room is a must if you are able - but it will be fine if you go with another view. The pool area is great - zero entry at one end for the little ones - plenty of space for all. Dining options are good - especially when you can sit at a table on the beach and eat lunch while listening to live music. The spa is wonderful, too. I have been to the Sandpearl with my family (kids 5, 9, 11) as well as for a girls' weekend with friends and had an equally (yet different of course:) fabulous time in both situations. Great for couples, families, friend groups - anyone will love it here! Great job, Sandpearl!

Room Tip: ocean front ideal. if not, try not to be right above the restaurant next door (which is a good resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. It is great to hear we hold the top spot on your list of resorts in Clearwater Beach. I am delighted you felt relaxed and on vacation during your stay! We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I love this hotel. My wife and I were married there about a year and a half ago but I don't think I did a review. It's first rate all the way. From the valet guys out front and the complimentary sparkling wine at check-in to dinner at Caretta, comfortable beds, beautiful views and luxury amenities. I want to move in. I have to mention the fine work of Michele Johnson. She worked with us for our wedding and she saw we were coming back for the weekend and left a cheese tray and some wine for us. We honeymooned in Argentina and they even brought us wine from Mendoza. Maybe that was a coincidence but I doubt it. That's the kind of place it is. You feel special the entire time. I work in a high end hotel in the area and I hope we offer that same kind of service....I'm worried we don't. I can't wait go back!!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the junior suite facing the Gulf of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I am so happy to hear you made a return visit after being married here a year and a half ago! I am delighted you had a pleasant experience dining in our signature restaurant, Caretta on the Gulf, and that our staff extended exceptional service throughout your stay. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Michele Johnson. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful propert at a superb location. The rooms are very nice with the gulf view rooms (south facing) offering a great view of the gulf and pool area. The pool and beach are outstanding and the pool staff was very good, especially Brian. This place is expensive but truly outstanding, I highly recommend it especially if you can visit during low season when you can get a relatively low rate.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful time at our pool and that our staff was accommodating. I will be sure to pass along the kind word to Brian. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Rob, Erica and Katie were all awesome .... made us feel like family :)
Beach drinks, Smores, Sunset and fun apps.
Awesome location out on the beach that caters to families. Valet Parking attendants were nice, front desk people were happy and all my guests were equally satisfied. Thanks for a great experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I will be sure to pass along the kind words to Rob, Erica, and Katie. I am happy to hear they made you feel apart of the family here at the resort! I am delighted your encounters with our staff made for a pleasant experience throughout your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Okay every other establishment on this beach hires kids for the season that's obvious but I feel like a babysitter here, like I have to card the person serving the drinks, parking my car that's one thing but come on I'm paying for the service and professionalism this is not five star I stay at ritz , mandarins allt he time, no n yes its beautiful but no no , seems more like they are not raising th e bar the staff must not hire more professional staff because they are threatens by someone who could teach them more about being professional and at a higher level they got lucky in a day the five star check was made, no way are they five star , and thee keeping and increasing service skills is evident by the youthful staff , we visit yearly and just checked in the view this season visited last but no we won't eat there could tell by our experiment would not refer this to my high profile clients .last year was interesting , , u know its hard to be unhappy wh en u have a beautiful view and awesome hotel to stay in, but the young you g staff said a lot. I do two ant to pay 350 plus a night anyplace to baby sit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. In your review you mentioned the main concern was the age of the staff. While our valued associates do range in age from 18 to 70, we hire our team based on their level of friendliness, passion for service and caring for our guests. Age is not a deciding factor in adding people to our team. I would be very interested to speak regarding particular issues that occurred so that we may focus on those issues and improve. If you would like to speak, and find it appropriate, please feel free to contact me directly at the resort.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
Eric Waltz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpearl Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.