We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpearl Resort to your Saves list
Sandpearl Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed several days at the Sandpearl for a convention in the month of September. I have traveled quite a bit and have to say this is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. Facilities, service, beach, pool, etc. all fantastic. Lots of shops, etc within walking distance. Loved the turn-down service each night. Restaurant next door has fantastic breakfast and the Brown Boxer across the street is a great place to grab a bite and watch the game. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 563 on end. Could see bay and beach from balcony. Table and chairs on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am so happy you were pleased with the service from our staff. It is our pleasure to do what we can to make you feel at home and cared for! We hope you return soon and look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    311
    102
    50
    25
See reviews for
563
500
10
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, GA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent two nights at the Sandpearl. Originally, we had booked a "gulf view" room for two nights but the Manager honored our request for an upgrade on our second night to a "gulf front" room (the hotel was not very full and it was our anniversary). While both rooms were well decorated and very comfortable, The gulf front room was a much nicer room - sofa and chair, and it was brighter (our gulf view room was in the corner and, therefore, overlooked other balconies).

The staff was helpful and friendly (look behind the robes for the iron), the rooms were very comfortable, and the beach was perfect.... quiet, easy to walk on, and not mobbed with people (when we were there). There were plenty of lounge chairs on the beach and at the pool. new pool lounge chairs were arriving when we left.

We ate one night at the bar/restaurant on the beach. The food was good, reasonably priced, and the staff was very friendly. Nearby, a fire was lit each night for hotel guests to roast marshmallows (not sure where the supplies came from). There were also a few lounge-type group seating arrangements on the beach as well as a lot of adirondack chairs. The stars from here are beautiful.

+Champagne upon arrival
+Free bicycle use
+Beach service for food and drinks
+Valets offered cold bottled water each time we left

Room Tip: THe building is in the shape of a "U" so request a room on the top floor as close to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am so happy you were comfortable in your room and pleased with your view of the Gulf! I am delighted to hear our staff was friendly and helpful. It is our pleasure to be of assistance! We hope you stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our third year in a row at the Pearl. It's a relaxing resort get away for us. We like September since school is in session, and weekdays to avoid more "active" weekends. The Jr. Suite over the Gulf is the best: sunsets, 2 televisions, couch, nicely appointed bathroom, and plenty of room. Relax poolside with a Mai Tai, served by an attendant from Tate's Grill. Enjoy the pristine waters and beach of the Gulf. Well done breakfast buffet. The staff is very cordial and accommodating. So grab your suntan lotions, and enjoy the SandPearl.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort and Spa! I am so happy to hear our staff is accommodating and cordial. Our pool area is a great place to relax and be served food and drink from our beachside restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth visit!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent a couple nights (8-29-13 & 8-30-13) in a Gulf Front Junior Queen Suite. The room was absolutely amazing. For example an all glass shower with an awesome view of the Gulf of Mexico. This room (469) had a perfect vantage point for the sunset. Also with the junior suite you get a queen size sleeper sofa so our room had 2 queen beds, 1 queen size sleeper sofa, 2 televisions, in room mini bar with items for purchase, roman style soaking tub (with a view of the Gulf of Mexico) and a balcony which again had a spectacular view (on our second night the people next to us were smoking on their balcony so we didn't get to enjoy it). Upon arrival we were escorted to the lobby and had to wait a mere 30 minutes for our room (at 11:30 a.m.). We had lunch at their beachside restaurant, Tate Island Grill. The food was superb and had an awesome view. We were called and told our room was ready. We headed up to the room to find these big blue hoses and cleaning equipment in the hallway going into the room. They were just finishing shampooing the carpets and fabrics in the room. We thought this was a good thing until we took our shoes off and sat on the bench. Everything was soaking wet! After we had been traveling all morning we just wanted to sit down for a little while. Also none of the room requests had been granted (extra towels and blankets). When your paying so much per night you'd think this would have been done. Another thing that upset us was we wanted to watch the poolside movie, it seemed cool and we like the movie. The problem being you couldn't hear the movie. Why? Because there was a band playing at Tate's AND there was a party on the lawn and they had a VERY LOUD band. We gave up on the movie and went to the room. Guess what? You could still hear the music even with the balcony door completely closed and the curtains drawn! And it went on until midnight! Other then these little oddities that you don't expect at such a luxurious hotel, our stay was perfect. We just hope these problems get corrected before our next visit.

Room Tip: Gulf Front rooms offer the best views of the Gulf of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisbech
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This 270 room hotel has been open for about four years. We stayed for two weeks from 24 August 2013. The hotel stands right on the beach, and if you do not know Clearwater Beach you will find it one of the most beautiful stretches you will ever see - a deep strand of powder-fine white sand. Strangely, the sea is not blue, although clear, but emerald green. However, it's perfect for bathing, the beach shelves gently, and the sea boasted a temperature of 87 degrees F.

The hotel has beds on the beach but parasols come rather expensive at $25 per day.

The building is pleasing architecturally and the standard of finish internally is extremely high with quality traditional furnishings and an interesting collection of works of art. The public rooms are spacious and the dining room has a pleasing terrace overlooking the beach which is a wonderful place to have breakfast - albeit the cafe next door is much better value! The in-hotel shop is rather quirky and somewhat disappointing (anyway, you will be shopping for fashion at the premium outliet malls), but for day-to-day needs the well stocked drug store across the street has everything that you might need.

Check-in was quick and efficient. We arrived in the early evening, went straight up to the reception desk, and were given a most welcome glass of champagne, before being whisked off to our room. Checkout was equally efficient.


We had a coastal view room, that is, it was on the side of the hotel looking up the coast. A reasonable view, although you need to ignore the flat roofs of the outbuildings spread out below you. Our room had a beautiful picture window, was very spacious, with a lovely bathroom. Housekeeping service was generally good.

There is a pleasant bar and the dining options are reasonable, albeit a bit pricey. Wine selection is excellent. For the same standard of dining, we preferred to eat at the Hyatt, which was better value, although the surroundings, whilst sharing the same wonderful sea views, a little less distinguished than the Sandpearl. The Tate Island Grille, on the fringe of the pool /beach serves more informal, but very enjoyable lunches and dinners till 9pm.

The lagoon pool is lovely. We would be slightly critical that the areas of maximum depth (1.2 metres) are quite limited, and swimming can be a bit difficult in the shallower areas. The terrace is small for the number of bedrooms, leading to a rather congested layout of sunbeds. It must be emphasised that this is a hotel catering primarily for families. It becomes busy at weekends when the pool readily becomes crowded, and sunbeds hard to find. I'm quite used to rising early to secure my place, so wasn't a problem for me, but you need to be aware. We had the misfortune to stay over the Labor Day weekend, and the pool experience was not comfortable. It was absolutely packed!

What makes the place a wonderful place to stay is the quality of the service. The general manager is very hands-on, always around the place, talking to guests, and his managerial team follow his example and there is always someone on hand to sort out any minor problem, or just to enquire if everything is alright. Nice touch! The staff are clearly well-trained and motivated, they soon get to know your name. All of them were always attentive and efficient. A special credit to Bobby, one of the waiters round the pool - always efficient, even under the pressures of Labor Day! Also to Mark, the best waiter on breakfast duty, who made sure that we had absolutely everything we needed, without ever having to ask for it!

Room Tip: Coastal view room is perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay in August at the Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am delighted you found the resort's décor, artwork, and building itself to be of high quality and to your liking. It is great to hear that our staff were able to make your arrival and departure smooth and pleasant.

In your review, you mentioned eating at both our signature restaurant and our beachside grill. I am so glad you enjoyed your experiences and received quality service at each outlet. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Bobby and Mark.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The General Manager Eric should be proud of the operations at this hotel. Not only is it beautiful and a in a fabulous setting but has a remarkable staff. From the moment we arrived we felt as though we were in a 5 diamond resort. I noticed it was only 4 diamond by AAA standards, but couldn’t find anything this resort could possibly be missing to not gain the 5th diamond. Upon arrival at valet, they asked for my name and quickly gathered my bags and had them brought to my room before we actually made it to the room. The front desk staff was very polite and anticipating answers before I even asked. I was also greeted by a delicious mimosa which made check in even better.

The room was perfect for the two of us and the furnishings in excellent condition. The closet was spacious and I loved that the light came on as you opened the door. The robes were very soft and not scratchy like other resorts. The room offered a Keurig Coffee maker, wine glasses and a fully stocked mini bar. The bathroom was spacious and the tub DEEP! I started to just take a shower but once I realized how deep it was, I realized it was a perfect soaking tub! Over the sink had a nice ledge to store all of your items.

I am a huge fan of pools and this resort was wonderful. I loved they had a zero entry area which was perfect for getting sun but also staying cool. I think I spent the majority of my time there. There was a lovely firepit outside the restaurant pool. The best part were the s’mores we were able to enjoy on Saturday.

Of course the beach is amazing!! Sugar sand to nestle your toes in and chairs available for resort guests. We went to a concert that evening and were hungry when we returned so ordered room service. It was served in about 20 minutes and very good. On Sunday morning, it was great that the full local paper was available at each elevator landing. The morning of check out, We were graciously given a 1pm check out and appreciated it very much. Absolutely Cannot wait to return one day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am so happy to hear our staff provided you with efficient service and that you enjoyed your whole experience at the resort. We appreciate the kind words! I am delighted you wish to return to us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I honeymooned for two nights here October of 2012. When we walked into the lobby I knew I had chosen the right place. It was by far the best vacation we've ever had. The view was amazing (any room you stay in has a beautiful view of Clearwater beach and the pier). Guest services were supreme, attentive and welcoming. We ordered room service for every meal and it was delicious every time. When we arrived we were supposed to have red wine in the room and we got champagne instead (which is totally fine!), we called down to let them know and they brought us up a bottle of red wine and let us keep the champagne. This small act of kindness and customer service left us feeling pampered and taken care of. We tell this story almost a year later to everyone when talking about our time at your resort. Housekeeping was on it, as well as the pool attendants. We had such a great time celebrating our first two nights after our wedding at your hotel. Laying by the pool, sitting on the balcony with coffee, and eating breakfast in bed. Thank you for an unforgettable honeymoon in our beautiful hometown, Clearwater FL. Y'all rock.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am so happy to hear you experienced supreme guest service from our staff. It is our pleasure to serve and pamper you! We are delighted you chose to share such a special occasion with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpearl Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.