We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel right on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpearl Resort to your Saves list
Sandpearl Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newcastle, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel right on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I attended a conference at the SandPearl and my wife joined me for a few days of rest and relaxation. I will start with the positives: the service was impeccable. From the valet to the bellman to the front desk and concierge, everyone was superbly trained in the art of customer service. The location of the hotel is perfect as well. Excellent restaurants, bars and shopping were just steps down the street and the beautiful beach was right out the back door. Finally, the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful.

Now for the so-so: while we'd requested either a beach front or bay view king we were given a double on the south end of the hotel. While we could see both the bay and a partial view of the beach, our fifth floor balcony was directly above a restaurant and bar across the street. The nightlife and live entertainment stretched well into the night, forcing us to keep the balcony door closed just so we could sleep.

The beds were very uncomfortable; so uncomfortable that my wife and I had to each take a separate bed just so we could get to sleep. We had planned on buying some cans of soda at the pharmacy down the street and keeping them in the small in-room refrigerator. Unfortunately the fridge was not working properly and wouldn't cool. We got a fresh bucket of ice each night, but I was very disappointed that housekeeping never replaced our ice bucket liner during our entire three night stay.

The excellent location and service somewhat makes up for the lack of comfort of the room, but the nightly rate certainly didn't deliver the comfort I expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Sandpearl Resort. I am glad to hear that our service throughout your stay was impeccable. I appreciate your feedback and have passed on your concerns with our housekeeping and engineering departments. Again, thank you for writing a review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    311
    102
    50
    25
See reviews for
563
500
10
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Came here for a board retreat. Arrived at midnight to soft music playing in my room and beautiful accommodations. Able to get heart night's sleep on a very comfortable bed and quiet surroundings. Woke up to a wonderful view . Able to enjoy coffee and breakfast sitting on their beautiful beach with the whitest and finest sand I've ever seen. Great location near clubs, shops, restaurants, walking paths.. Super friendly staff. I used one of the bikes they have available. Steve, working at the activities desk gave me lots of helpful tips to make the most of the limited time in had. Also really enjoyed all of their good food including dinner at their on site restaurant. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at The Sandpearl Resort. I am glad that you enjoyed the beach and that you took the time to take a bike ride on the beautiful Clearwater Beach. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

the Sand Pearl was a terrific surprise. We attended an industry function which is normally held at a convention type hotel. Although this is not a small facility you had the feeling of a well run inn with reasonable priced rooms a very friendly staff and a well laid out property. It is located right on the beach with a very nice pool area in the middle of the complex. Our room was very clean, large, and had a huge balcony( we were on the 4th floor). I'm sure our group will return.

Room Tip: 4th floor has large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sandpearl Resort. It is great to hear that although you attended an industry function you still found time to enjoy the property and location. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just returned home from an overnight getaway from the Sandpearl - which was formerly the Clearwater Beach Hotel during our childhood. The property has totally changed since we stayed there on our wedding night in 1998. For several years, the property has donated auction items to one of my favorite charities and this year's donation topped them all - room, spa credit and dinner for two at Caretta on the Gulf! After being greeted with some complimentary welcome bubbly, we were surprised with our outstanding gulf view junior suite accommodations. Our muscles got worked during our couples massage at the Spa. We then ate tasty appetizers on the beach at Tate Island Grill (the pulled pork nachos were over the top ...) and watched the sun set from our balcony. The day ended with an excellent dinner at Caretta on the Gulf. The portions were very generous - even on the prix fixe menu. A special thanks to Manager Dan Kauffman and his wait staff for taking care of us. We returned to Caretta the next day after our morning run and took advantage of the breakfast buffet - which was quite good and in line with most resort offerings and pricing. Thanks to the Sandpearl for your continued generosity and supporting non-profit organizations. We hope to return in a few months on our anniversary!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a review of your most recent stay at The Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am so glad to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy everything that the resort has to offer and especially so many things that make The Sandpearl so unique. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Dan Kauffman and the rest of the Caretta on the Gulf team. I would love for you to return and spend your anniversary with us, please contact me at the resort so I can assist you with making that happen. Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to speaking with you soon!

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Sand Pearl is an unique luxury hotel. The location is among the best on Clearwater Beach. The hotel is situated dirrectly on the beach, without need to cross the street as the Hyatt requires for beach access. The lobby and all public areas are beautiful, clean and casual. The staff is fabulous. April, the assistant to the manager has made my every stay a special one with her care and experience. I have been returning to the Sand Pearl for over three years now. I just returned a week ago and will be returning intwo weeks for another stay. I will also be returning in March. You will not be sorry with a stay at the Sand Pearl !!!

Room Tip: Upgrade the room to gulf view or gulf front for the best view. Well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of The Sandpearl Resort, and thank you for coming back and visiting us again and again. We appreciate your feedback and your business and are delighted that you have been coming back for three years now. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to April, and we look forward to seeing you in a few weeks!

Sincerely,

Jason Olinik
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sand Pearl over Christmas break with our two teenage kids, ages 13 and 16. From the minute we walked in, we loved it. The staff was friendly and attentive. The pool/beach were great. The location was perfect, with plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were nicely appointed, modern, and very clean. The resort wasn't overly big or spread out, so everything was conveniently located. The health club was gorgeous. If we were to visit the area again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sandpearl Resort and Spa in Clearwater Beach! I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive, and that you enjoyed our location on the beach. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit, contact me at the resort and let me know if I can assist you in making that happen. Thank you once again for your feedback, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the moment we pulled up, to the moment we checked out we were wowed by this hotel. The staff is amazing and really goes above and beyond to make things perfect. The gulf front rooms are highly recommended and well worth the extra cost. From the complementary champagne or mimosa on check-in, to the bell staff giving us a room tour, to the spa, to the restaurants, to the waiters on the beach - EVERY ONE was simply amazing and treated us like they were grateful we were their guests (not a common thing these days!).

Room Tip: Gulf front - definitely! I can see where some would complain about the front street view rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond to make things perfect for you from check in to check out. We were grateful to have you as a guest, and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you once again for writing a review, we appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpearl Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.