We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better service than the Ritz! Beautiful property and very family friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpearl Resort to your Saves list
Sandpearl Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$200 Per Night Off Suites
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better service than the Ritz! Beautiful property and very family friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

As a Sand Key resident (just several miles from resort) it is hard to justify staying down the street but it is just so wonderful we come back time and time again. Gorgeous lobby/pool/beach/rooms. Lots of stuff for kids- lawn on beachfront with various things set up... Soccer/croquet/beanbag toss/checkers/chess/ping pong. Firepit for evening drinks/s'mores by sunset. White sugar beach with dunes. Pool is zero entry with no deep end, very lagoon ish. Impeccably maintained everything. Staff is a 10/10, service off the charts. My daughter is addicted to the camp, it was closed on that day so the manager called a staff member in early the next day to open the camp so my daughter wouldn't be disappointed! Classy! Plus I couldn't help being impressed by the fact that I left my iPad in the room and called that night and they actually had it, you could just see that disappearing easily. Pineapple mojitos are yum with fresh sugar cane garnish, groupers fritters are delectable. Infused water (cuke/citrus/mint) everywhere poolside a nice touch as well. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Go gulf front or gulf view. Suites are great. Regular room fine but the ones with view worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Maggie,

Wow, thank you so much for all of your kind words when taking the time to write a review of The Sandpearl Resort. I always love hearing that, although you live on the beach, you still make the short trip just to stay with us and enjoy the pool and beach area. We can't wait to see you again, and thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    335
    110
    56
    28
See reviews for
606
537
10
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed two nights @ SandPearl over New Years. We sayed in a gulf front suite. Love the hotel, beach, pool and location.
Had one major problem... our smoke dectector went off in the middle of the night and there was no maintenance person working to fix it. We had to listen to it beep all night and it kept us awake until 7:00am when a maintenance worker started his shift. It was awful! I find it odd that a hotel in this class would not have someone on staff 24 hours in case something like this goes wrong! We received no apology from management and had to contact them and practically pull teeth to get a discount on our room for being up all night!!! They finally did give us a discount on one night's stay.
Besides that it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a Gulf Front Jr. Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Sandpearl is without a doubt a first-class oceanfront resort hotel that does a lot right - rooms and surroundings were impeccably clean, and a most courteous and capable staff. We very much enjoyed Carrela's breakfast buffets, but were quite disappointed with their New Year's Eve dinner, with its uninspired food and frozen/tasteless Dover Sole entree; the only thing "special" about the event was its high price tag - $300 for the two of us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at The Sandpearl Resort. We love hearing that you enjoyed the clean rooms,surrounding area, and that our staff was courteous and capable. Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate it and hope to see you soon the next time you visit Clearwater Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Sandpearl Resort is our home away from home! We are local residents here so whenever we need a getaway, we head down to the Sandpearl! We have been staying here since the day they opened their doors and its simply amazing! The staff here is impeccable and the resort is always immaculate! Nothing at all bad to say here. If criticism were a must then the only thing that I will say is their restaurant "Caretta's" is less than desirable with their management team. We stick to Tate's Grill out by the pool or eat elsewhere on the strip. Other than that... It's amazing and totally worth the $$$.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of The Sandpearl Resort, we greatly apprecaite your feedback. It is great to hear that you have been visiting us since day one and it is our goal that you always do when you visit the beach. I also loved hearing your positive feedback on our staff as well as the cleanliness of the resort. We look forward to the next time you visit, and do stop by and see me (Jason) at the front desk, it would be a pleasure to meet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall mn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at Sandpearl Dec 25-31 had another great stay. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The pool area is always clean and very well maintained. Ate at Tates for our noon meal very good. I actually think the food has improved at Tates since we first started visiting Sandpearl. The cuban sandwich is our favorite. Lots of restaurants in area. The Clearsky across the street is our favorite place for breakfast. All the Frenchy"s have excellent food. Cooters has all the snowcrab you can eat on Tues And Wednesdays. The beach is beautiful great for a morning walk. Really enjoyed Carettas in the Sandpearl this year to end our evening excellent drinks and the food is very good! Ordered off the cheaper menu fairly reasonably priced. Rooms are great a little high priced but well worth it! Dean from Minnesota

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Dean,

Thank you so much for all of your positive feedback from your recent stay here at The Sandpearl Resort. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the pool area as well as your lunch and dinner at our very own restaurants; Tate Island Grill and Caretta on the Gulf. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed some of the local dining that makes Clearwater Beach such a great place to visit. We look forward to seeing you the next time you escape Minnesota and head south for the BEACH!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel, beautiful grounds and beach area with the white sand gorgeous. Great staff, greet you with champayne, always friendly and smiling. Very clean which I really look for, they have Kuerig coffee makers in the rooms and the rooms and bathrooms are spacious. Lobby is beautiful, valets are quick and very helpful. Great for families or couples. I didn't have time to use the spa.

They did ask if we had any suggestions, so I thought about it and I thought it would be nice if the staff at the pool couild set you up with the towels and loungers. I also thought the pool area could be monitered during the day for cleanliness, like when people leave the area they tend to leave cups and garbage aroung the jacuzzi or pool, but not a big issue, just since they asked. Oh and the pool could be a little hotter, but I would definately go back. Being around the area it looked like it was the best hotel around the area.
Loved it, Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for all of your positive feedback regarding your recent stay here at The Sandpearl Resort! I am delighted to here that you enjoyed the beautiful hotel, grounds and of course the beauty that is Clearwater Beach! Your feedback is greatly appreciated, we hope to see you again soon, and when we do we will be sure to greet you with a smile and a glass of champagne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Sand Pearl for 4 nights from the 21st December and we left on Christmas morning!! The Hotel was lovely and probably one of the best we have ever stayed in - it was very quiet around Clearwater and the resort. The weather wasnt as good as it might have been and was very windy the day we arrived there had been 3 weddings on the beach and you had too feel a little sorry for them!! You cant mess with Nature!!
We normally stay at the Hilton but we were very impressed with the SandPearl and would definitely stay there again. There are loads of bars and restaurants all around the Hotel - apart from the Starbucks coff we didnt eat in the hotel. We hired bikes one day and went across to Downtown and back along to the Marine Hospital.
By only bugbear is that the resort fee is way too expensive what with the Valet parking we had 2 nights in Sarasota (Admittedly in a Holiday Inn Express - it did the job for what we wanted to do) for the same money as the all the extras!!
Worst thing was we didnt even really get chance to sit on the beach because the weather was so rotten!!

Room Tip: We overlooked the street - dont leave your window open as you may hear the drinkers outside the Brow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason O, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday stay here at The Sandpearl Resort. I am delighted to hear that despite mother nature, you still enjoyed your time here at the resort and Clearwater Beach. We always love hearing that you plan to stay with us the next time you visit Clearwater and we will look forward to seeing you again. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpearl Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.