We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpearl Resort to your Saves list
Sandpearl Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Overall this is a very good hotel. The rooms were nice, but be careful of the room you choose. the ones to the north get a view of the ocean, but also of some very loud air conditioners. We had a problem with a guest that threw a party all night long. I had to call the front desk twice before they addressed it and by that time I had been up all night. The hotel is right on the beach and has its own beach area. There is also a restaurant right on the beach. There is a very nice pool as well. Also be aware that the hotel charges $25 per day extra for things like water and coffee. This fee is not optional and is not included in the price of the room. There is also a $20 per day valet fee plus the tip they expect. This is also in addition to the price of the room. It is a very nice hotel with hidden fees so make sure your ok with it before you book

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Davos43,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your most recent stay. I apologize that a neighboring guest was loud, we take any noise complaints very seriously and I’m very sorry we were not able to address it sooner. Our resort fee of $25.00 does include a number of items such as in room coffee, nightly shoeshine, two bottles of water daily, local phone calls, wired and wireless internet access, and access to our 24 hour business and fitness centers, and bike rental. We certainly appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the Clearwater Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    312
    102
    50
    25
See reviews for
563
501
10
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked this hotel after reviewing the positive reviews on trip advisor. This holiday had been planned for a number of months and we decided that we would spend 9 days in Orlando staying at the Hilton Bonnet Creek (excellent) and 5 days in Clearwater staying at the suggested luxurious Sandpearl!. As I Prefer members we have stayed in some very nice hotels and expected the same from the Sandpearl. On arrival we were met by a Receptionist whom was professional however her whole demeanour lacked warmth. She was what my husband would refer to as a 'jobs worth' . We were offered our welcome drinks but no bucket and spade for our youngest child (many reviews refer to this). On walking to our room I commented to my husband that the hallway carpets looked a little worn and could do with a good vacum. We had booked a coastal view room and it was our understanding this was an upgrade on the bay view rooms. On entry the room looked ok, nothing spectacular and dust was very noticeable on the skirting boards, what looked like tomatoe sauce was visible on the curtains but most disconcerting was the terrible marks on the valance to one of the beds in the first instance (coffee and shoe marks). My husband contacted reception and house keeping duly attended and the valance was changed. After unpacking and inspecting the childrens bed further I found coffee marks on the valance to the second bed, as we were about to leave for dinner we decided to inform reception instead. The professional yet extremely unpleasant receptionist was still on duty and i reported the matter to her. I also advised that I was unhappy with the room overall as we had booked an upgrade, emailed the hotel prior to our visit and yet we had a view of the garbage bins and the kitchen fans. She said this was normal and there was nothing she could do as the hotel was fully booked. I asked that she ensure the second bed valance be changed before our return later that evening. On return, the bed valance had not been changed. My husband promptly rang house keeping and we waited 20 minutes (in the meantime I took off the valance myself and placed in the corridor outside of our room). This time the maid and a Manager attended and both were extremely apologetic and the Manager offered my husband a comlimentary breakfast for all of us during our stay. Housekeeping throughout our stay was poor, toiletries not re stocked, sheets never changed (policy is every 3 days and we stayed 4 !). We also found the fact that they left two chocolates each night a little disconcerting as they were 4 guests in the room. The stay did get better and the pool and Tate's Grill offered brilliant, friendly and efficient service. The breakfast was also exceptional and we were looking forward to spending our last evening in the Caretta on the Gulf but unfortunately we had to leave the Sandpearl early. This hotel has a prime position on Clearwater Beach, a lot of time is spent maintaining the pool area, reception and restaurants. However, my perception is that the management have become somewhat complacement and believe guests will just accept the little mishaps that a number of reviewers have mentioned previously. However, that said this hotel most definately needs to address the apparent house keeping issues that many of the recent reiews/photographs mention. It is unfair to say that our stay was not enjoyable as it most definatley was. However, all the little extra's expected from a hotel of this calibre were most definately not visible and in my opion the room charges/resort fee, etc need to be reviewed with this in mind. On check out a charge had been levied on our bill for the apparent complimentary breakfast ! (My husband promptly informed the Receptionist we would not be paying this !!!!). Disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpearl_GM, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I was very happy to hear that you were pleased with several areas of your stay however your comments regarding Housekeeping were concerning. We take great pride in our housekeeping processes and it appears that we disappointed you during your stay. For that I am very sorry. Please rest assured that I have spoken with the Housekeeping team and relayed your message.

If you would like to speak personally regarding your stay please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you feel it appropriate.

Regards
Eric Waltz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed on an ocean front two bedroom suite! The room was super clean and beautifully furnished! The beach was beautiful and the grounds kept very well. We loved the beachfront grill and lazy days in the baby-powder soft white sand.

The negative for our stay -- my earrings that I've had for 10 years were taken from our bathroom during cleaning. I am always good about hiding my valuables either in a safe or a very inconspicous location but this morning, I forgot to put them away before we left our room. The safe was located in our friends room so I didn't bother them to hide them away. That day the cleaning person came and left several things out of sorts (dishes dirty in the sink, towels on the floor in another area) and the earrings missing. I was so sad! The local security person was kind in his helping us write a report, but overall the hotel did nothing to compensate or take responsibility. The room and resort was way to expensive for there to be no attempt at restitution.

We visited the spa and it was awesome! For sure worth the visit.

This is a beautiful hotel, just hide anything of value!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Super convenient location! Easy walk to restaurants and shops and right on the beautiful white sand beach! Super clean and modern facilities. Pool is nice but lounge chairs are crowded. If you don't want to rent an umbrella or cabana on the beach, lounge chairs are limited. We were there during a non peak time so didn't have any problems finding a chair, but during a busier time, it would be a problem. Starbucks is on site. Two bottles of water per day and K-cup coffee are provided. I guess this is part of the resort fee? $20 per day valet parking is mandatory. Overall, a great hotel if you want nice, clean and beachfront!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear aeglobetrotter,
Thank you for your response to your most recent stay with us here at the Sandpearl Resort. We certainly appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was an absolute Amazing Place to stay.While it is a little on the high side in price (what beach hotel is not?).It was totally worth it.They have everything there or within walking distance.Wife Loved the Spa.The Pool and Sauna were clean and nice.And the BEACH, PERFECT! Wish I was able to spend more than one night. Also, if you have questions on things, the valet guys are great to ask.They will point you in the right direction to "save" you a little $$

I recommended this place to my friends, who in turn decided to go there to stay for their wedding.Im sure they will really enjoy this Awesome place.

Negatives: $20 a day to park (ugh). $25 Resort fee (really?). Just remember this as it adds $45 to your room charge. If you want an umbrella and chair for the beach its $25 or Cabana is $40 to rent for the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Tommyz77,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your most recent stay. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort and its proximity to the beach and local shops and restaurants. Thank you again and we hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the Clearwater area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotch plains, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

At first we were a going to choose the hilton clearwater beach so happy we didnt!! The price was higher at the sandpearl but worth every penny! Enjoyed every min from when we first walked in till the minute we left! The front desk service is unreal they gave us a upgrade to a pool and beach view just cause it was our honeymoon and then sent up a plate of chocolate strawberries that said happy honeymoon! Rooms are clean and spacious! The pool and beach were perfect and the staff is so nice and go out of there way for you!! We cant wait to go back next year for our 1 year anniversary and every year after that!! Dont waste your money at any other resort in clearwater beach my wife and i walked around and looked at all the others none compare to sandpearl!! It may be a bit more money but worth it!! Thanks sandpearl!!!

Room Tip: Pool and beach view so you can see the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Gmen56,
Congratulations! I am so pleased we were able to be a part of your honeymoon celebration. It sounds like you truly enjoyed the resort and our friendly staff. We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had our wedding on the beach at the Sandpearl, there is no better place and this place is amazing!! Michele Johnson, director of catering services, etc., she handled every detail and kept me calm all the way through! The resort is beautiful, clean, amazing service, amazing pool, grounds, you name it! If you are going to have a wedding in Florida, don't do it anywhere but here. It was so beautiful, so well taken care of, I cannot explain it in words!!!! We are going back for our one year anniversary and bringing the whole wedding party with us. Thank you again Michele for everything!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Susan G,
Congratulations! I am so happy we could help create memories for your special day. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpearl Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.