We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Point Motel

Save Saved
You added Sands Point Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Point Motel
433 Coronado Drive, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Laval, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The motel was clean and cozy.
I loved the teepee with ambient music although sometimes i wish the owners let it play at least until 1AM.
The motel is well maintained, clean and the people/owners are very kind.
The location is great

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    21
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
47
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Read some reviews over past few months, but normally go on gut instinct!!! Best choice we made.All my wife and I wanted was somewhere to sleep after busy day on beaches and bars in the evening.This was a first class choice,they had a pool,never used it once because I do not see the point of swimming in a pool when you have the waters of the Gulf of Mexico only yards away.While on the subject of the Gulf what a beach!!
Owner was very helpful.We needed help to get an address for a Fleetwood Mac concert in Tampa (satnav) he could'nt find it but after a few calls to friends he finally came up trumps.Perfect.
All in all if your looking for fair price hotel in Clearwater then this place will be a great choice
Entertainment in Clearwater is fine Shepards ok and Holiday inn has good bar.Peir 60 ok

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at this wonderful Motel between 11 - 18 June 2013. The 2 owners (Stella & Edward) are the 2 sweetest, honest and hard working people I've met in a long time. The cost to stay at Sands Point Motel is very low compared to other far less desirable

motels in less desirable locations. Stella & Edward both came from Poland many years ago and lived in Chicago for a long time before buying this motel. Their their old world charm and Polish accents is still with them though.

The rooms have all been renovated in recent years, and my room was spotless, cool and comfortable. The motel has WIFI, free parking - and a refrigerator, microwave, cable TV and a coffee maker in each room. The bed in my room was especially comfortable.

The motel is ideally located and close to everything. It is a 5 min walk to Clearwater Beach, and only about a mile and a half from Sand Key State Park and beach - which I preferred to go to because it is less crowded than Clearwater Beach, and parking there is only $5 for the entire day.

Clearwater Beach is not very crowded on weekdays; but on weekends it does get rather crowded. I enjoyed going to Sand Key Beach in the morning and again 2 hours before sunset and the whole days cost just a single $5 for parking.

Sands Point Motel has a nice inground pool, and you can walk to many restaurants nearby. I loved to eat outside at the nearby Beach Shanty 2 for breakfast. I would also walk to the very close and fabulous Post Corner Restaurant - and sit out on their porch and catch the cool Bay breezes for both breakfast and dinner.

I must have been lucky. Because during the week I stayed at this motel, all the other guests were very nice and it was easy to strike up conversations with them. Perhaps that was because they were also happy and relaxed at this wonderful and quiet Motel.

Edward says his wife Stella loves to cook. She often brought trays of delicious spicy chicken wings and sausages she was happy to offer up for guests to sample. /s/ Steve Keohane, USN (Retired)

Room Tip: They are all quiet rooms. The hotel is built with concrete, so I heard no noise from either other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have read all reviews about this motel and still decided to go there the owners were verry friendly and help full they cleaned ure room upon request but gave u towels all day long once again upon request it was verry affordable the rooms n site was clean n every visitor there was friendly good part about it, it was one block from the famous shepards night club cons about it was a lil far walk to the pier 60 n boat rentals!!!! I would book here again just obay there rules and. Ull be fine the 2 magor rules are no jumping in the pool and if u wana stay up all night n drink go to the tiki by the road n trust me they will not bother you!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willenhall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

booked 3 nights stayed 5 during our recent florida flydrive mature couple uk position excellent clean well fitted rooms . the owners ed & stella make you welcome and very friendly I would recommend this motel to anyone pool area excellent with plenty beds ,chairs and shade together with BBQ EXCELLENT HOLIDAY.

Room Tip: some rooms had bigger rooms and 2 bedrooms just tell them what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband I stayed at Sands Point Motel, Clearwater Beach for three weeks in April of this year. This was our second visit and it was an awesome vacation. Stella and Ed, the owners are so accommodating and always trying to please everyone. We were very pleased with our one bedroom apartment which was very clean and had all the conveniences you would want. It is close to everything including restaurants, beach, and shopping. We have booked to return next year and would definitely recommend Sands Point as one of the best places to stay in Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Rooms were spacious, spotless and decorated in a way that felt more homey than like a hotel. Our bathroom was larger than expected in a hotel. Our room was very colorful with a lot of nice little touches. The pool and surrounding area were cozy and again decorated nicely. We really liked this place. The only downside was one of the beds in our room was way too soft. The owners/managers or whoever it was that checked us in were so nice and friendly. Convenient to the beach and everywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Point Motel

Address: 433 Coronado Drive, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Family-Owned and operated, friendly motel, is located on the corner of Coronado Drive & Hamden. It is just a 2 minute walk to the beach, and is nearby stores, resturaunts and Peir 60. Mini-golfing, parasailing, jetskiing, fishing and much more is all located nearby. Visit Clearwater Beach Marina and spend an afternoon on the high seas fishing or take in one of the relaxing nightly sunset cruises featuring fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sands Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Point Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Point Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.