We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Point Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sands Point Motel to your Saves list
Sands Point Motel
433 Coronado Drive, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Warren, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at Sandspoint for a couple years in a row. My girlfriend & her son joined my son & I and we were accommodated nicely. Stella & Ed were always willing to help us out in some way and we owe it to them for having great vacations in Clearwater. They work hard to help you & keep the rooms & grounds very clean. Some of the units were nicer than others, but all in all, so many people like it there, sometimes its hard to reserve the type of room you want. Either way, it's been a wonderful place to bring your family to. My son is 19 now & just asked if we could go back there, as some of his fondest memories were there. Thank you to Stella & Edward & Sandspoint. I recommend it for families.
Karen & Nick from Warren, MI

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the end for less noise from other renters. The walls are quite thin, but after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    21
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
48
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sands Point Motel in April of this year for one week and we were very pleased. Our one bedroom apartment was lovely, clean and had everything we required for our stay. We especially enjoyed the flat screen tv. The location is ideal (five minute walk to the beach) and very close to restaurants and shopping. Everyday we enjoyed the swimming pool (which is cleaned daily by Ed) and it was nice to see so many lounging chairs available. The owners, Stella and Ed are very nice and more than willing to help you in any way they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We liked Sands Point so much that we booked to go back next April and would definitely recommend this motel to our family and friends.
Sandie and Ronnie

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is our second year staying here. The owners, Stella and Edward are the best. They were always there and ready to give us what we need to make our stay the best experience. My husband Dany and I have had 2 different rooms and they were both very clean and stocked with everything you need for a short or long stay. You can buy food and they have everything for you to prepare it.Even a B-B-Q for your grilling pleasure. The rooms are beautiful and they were very clean and inviting.There is a large pool with plenty of space to lounge around and shuffle board for fun in the sun. They take great pride in their place and it shows with all the hard work they do daily to maintain the grounds, rooms and the friendships they have built with all who stay there.And it shows as we have met people from all over the world who come to stay at their "little Paradise". We definitely plan to go back next year and visit our friends. I was sad to leave. ( and they are in walking distance to the pier , great restaurants and the ocean :)...Thanks you Stella and Ed for another wonderful vacation!..Dan and Judi :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Sands Point Motel while in Clearwater Beach, Florida. The motel was very clean and had great character - similar to something you might see in Europe. There was a decent size pool with tables and chairs and also a grill to cook out for lunch/dinner. Its not huge, only 12 rooms, making it more intimate. The owners were very friendly and happy to help. The motel is basically one street over from the beach and a block or two to the boardwalk. There is also a trolley that you can get on for a small fee and get from one area of Clearwater Beach to another.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

With a lot of motels and hotels to choose from we found a small motel one street away from
the beach that is fantastic. This 10 room motel is operated by down to earth owners
that are on the premises daily to make sure everything is clean and everyone is comfortable.
The prices are reasonalble for our stay in March during the peak season. This being our
second stay in 2 years we found fellow vacationers from last year. As we found out, the
Sands Point Motel has customers that have been returning for over 7 years and stay
from one to two months at a time. Seemed like everyone was on a first name basis,
hanging around the pool and playing shuffleboard. Only negative was having to leave.
But you can't go back unless you leave. Our reservations are made for 2013.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights over the holidays. Yes, the motel is small, close to the beach, clean and of good value. The owners are very friendly and their hard work and pride in the motel is apparent.

The downsides, we reserved a king room which was changed to two full beds upon arrival. We were told the room was larger and had a kitchen, but we didn't necessarily need the bigger room or kitchen and would have preferred the bigger bed that apparently wasn't available. We were told it was a booking error. In a 12 +/- room motel one wonders how that happens? We found the full beds in our room to be "very" firm for us. The vertical blinds on the windows didn't seal very well and allowed a lot of light in until the exterior walkway lights went off around midnight.

As other members have mentioned, room service is minimal. They provided clean towels and emptied trash daily. We found this adequate for us but if you expect more (can't make your own bed), you may want to look elsewhere.

The biggest downside is that the motel is more or less in a man made canyon with several taller buildings toward the front of it. This generates/traps a fair amount of noise as the street is fairly busy until midnight or so and starts again around 6:00 AM. The single pane windows allow considerably more road noise and wind noise into the room than I cared for. The other issue is that we experienced unusually cool weather during our stay (mother natures fault not theirs). Several evenings got down into the high thirties and low forties (downright frigid for Florida). The motel has no built in/permanent heat sources in the rooms. They did distribute some small portable electric heaters but ours struggled to take the nip out of the air in our room. My wife also commented that the shear curtains in the bathrooms provided little to no privacy over the clear windows (no privacy glass).

Overall this is a clean budget friendly facility on the quaint side but not quite the tropical oasis other members have described.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here just after Christmas and the property is very nice, as well as the rooms. Fairly clean with the only con being a small ant problem. It seemed to be the perfect, affordable get away until we tried to communicate with management, who speak VERY POOR English. We tried three times to explain that we were having a few friends over and were making sure they could park in the motel parking. I'm not sure if we ever got an answer. The next morning they proceeded to tell us we were too noisy and that "no more friends tonight." (No one from management informed us that we were being too loud that night). They also harassed our guests once more when we were not around. Overall: nice property, seemingly nice management if you don't need to communicate with them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalinaAnna, Manager at Sands Point Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
We understand why you may have been unhappy with your stay however, your noise levels were very loud late at night. We had many guests complain about the noise and how they were unable to sleep. Also, you gave your keys to your guests and allowed them to come in and out of the room while you were not on the property. Guests are allowed, however they were being very disruptive to everyone else on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Point Motel

Address: 433 Coronado Drive, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#23 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Family-Owned and operated, friendly motel, is located on the corner of Coronado Drive & Hamden. It is just a 2 minute walk to the beach, and is nearby stores, resturaunts and Peir 60. Mini-golfing, parasailing, jetskiing, fishing and much more is all located nearby. Visit Clearwater Beach Marina and spend an afternoon on the high seas fishing or take in one of the relaxing nightly sunset cruises featuring fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sands Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Point Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Point Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.