We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Sails Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Echo Sails Motel to your Saves list
Echo Sails Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   216 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our first stay at Echo Sails and I would definitely stay there again. We stayed March 30, 2104 - April 4, 2014. The room was very clean and ready for us when we got there. The room we stayed in was the perfect size, a kitchen - dining area, living room area and separate bedroom. The pool was very nice as well. They have plenty of tables and chairs outside by the pool to eat outside and enjoy the grill that they have. There are also plenty of loungers by the pool. It is within walking distance of the beach, dining and shopping. It was the perfect place to stay. It was also very quiet. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trafalgar, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I thought I had left a review after vacation but I didn't. We traveled with two other familes the week of July 4th, 2013. We loved Echo Sails Motel! Very clean and lots of space in each of our rooms. It was the size of a small apartment! I loved not feeling cramped in a hotel room for the week.The kids loved the pool. Everything was in walking distance. The kitchen was stocked with all the cooking supplies you would need. We made a grocery trip for the week and stocked up on snacks for the kids and cooked several times. With the size of our group, eating out can get expensive. Echo Sails has become my favorite place to stay on vacation! I'm working on talking our group into starting plans for next year's stay.

Angey Ortiz
Indiana

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My 18th year staying at the Echo Sails and what can I say but thanks again to John, Jinny, John Jr. and the crew there. We had 3 rooms at one time and all were clean and ready for us uppon check in. They are always welcoming and never a problem and if there was, John will go out of his way to make sure it is corrected. Koho5 doesn't know what he is talking about and my advice to him is stay somewhere else and let us regulars enjoy this cozy Motel. Can't wait till I get there again...Joe C, Sandy Springs, Ga

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster Groves, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Been home from Clearwater Beach 1 1/2 weeks. We stayed at Echo Sails for 2 weeks and cannot wait to return. The rooms are large and roomy, the pool refreshing. Clean, honest and close to everything. Love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Echo Sails. Loved this place! I am not big on condos or high-rise hotels. I like the small mom and pop hotels and this one was great! Clean 1 bedroom apts. and efficiencies with a wonderful pool and a short walk to the beach. Full kitchen if you want to cut vacation costs by cooking sometimes. The owners were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. It's just off the main strip, so it was quiet without being far from the action. It's definitely not a five star resort if that's what you are looking for, but it was exactly what we were looking for! Stayed with a group of 12 and nobody found anything to complain about!

Room Tip: I like the upstairs rooms...can't hear the pool noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.thomas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

not what u think,dirty,dirty,dirty, dirty pool,there was grime around the pool the whole week we were there. plywood between bed mattresses, paper thin windows. no owners or operators on site even when they say they r there. people parking in spots that aren't staying there, even overnight! great for the partier type .easy in and out with sand all over, no one cares.

Room Tip: look elsewhere, a good nights sleep at a higher cost can mean a more productive day!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here. A budget
friendly place run by kind folks.
This is not the Ritz, so if that's your thing, look else ware. My room was very clean and had a small kitchen. Sparkling pool. Short walk to beach. Laundry on premises. Would've been perfect if not for neighbors who partied the night away and ended up in the pool. Management handled it, and everything else, very well.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Echo Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Sails Motel

Address: 216 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Echo Sails Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echo Sails Motel is a quiet, family-friendly place to stay on your trip to Clearwater Beach. The sparkling swimming pool, super clean rooms, and relaxed atmosphere are what make Echo Sails a wonderful place to spend your vacation. We hope to see you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Echo Sails Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Sails Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Sails Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.