We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time at Echo Sales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Sails Motel

Save Saved
You added Echo Sails Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Echo Sails Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   216 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Another great time at Echo Sales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

After 5 stays at the Echo, nothing has changed much. An up date here and there...Very clean and neat. Bug free! With the owners on sight every day you can always have any issues taken care of. They even went out and bought a roll-away bed when my daughter visited a few days. We have visited over 20 places to stay on Clearwater Beach over the last 15 years and nothing compares to location and price! The Echo is the only place we will stay when we visit Clearwater beach! See you next year at the Echo ! gus & Mary/Wisconsin

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed three nights in April pre-cruise. What Echo Sails may lack in some creature comforts it makes up for in the personality of its clientele and the earnest efforts of the owners to maintain a piece of Florida history (and I mean that in a nice way) - this is a great example of the classic beachside apartment motel.

The rooms and common areas are kept scrupulously clean and tidy. We had the smallest room on the property and it was still plenty big for the two of us. The pool is well maintained and there is a top-quality gas grill available for guest barbecues. The other guests during our visit were quite social - we met people from Michigan and Nova Scotia(!) who come there annually for extended stays. The many positive comments about the owners seen in previous reviews were reinforced by our contacts with them. And the location is perfect, being on a side street two blocks from the beach and an easy walk to whatever else you need.

Could the bedding and towels be a little more comfortable? Yes. Might the tiny window AC be challenged by a 90-degree day with 90% humidity? Probably. But those are the only quibbles we have with a place that's otherwise a great experience for most people and an excellent value.

Room Tip: See the brochure pic that shows the room layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Eustache Québec
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

each summer since 1983 (27 years), we go to Echo Sails Motel with all my family and friends. 8 motels on 16 are reserved by us. John and Jinnie, the owners, are the best people. This motel is old but very clean and is very good with young children because the units are equipped by full kitchen (we can cook for all meals). Do not hesitate to reserve, you will not regret it.

France and Lino
Québec, Canada.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband I stayed at Echo Sails Motel in late April and early May of this year, 2010. I cannot say enough good things about it. We had a one bedroom apartment which was very clean and had all the amenities we required. The owners, John and Jennie are great and make you feel at home the day you arrive. We met so many nice people there as well as friends from home. Had a lot of laughs, great conversations, enjoyed the pool and the bar-b-que. One of the great perks about staying here is being so close to the beach (a five minute walk), restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Needless to say, we are booked to go back next year and look forward to seeing all our new friends once more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

My Family 1st stayed at Echo Sails at Christmas time in 1986. Since then the property has changed hands but the Owners have carried on the tradition of super hosts. Husband, John, Wife Jinnie and honorable Son "Little John"!! Friendliness abounds at Echo Sails. All the guests are there for the same reason, rest, relax and have a great time. We have stayed here for the last two years in late April and early May. What a great time. My wife and I are already booked for next April and can't wait to get back. Just steps to the beach, stores and restaurants. Convenience store around the corner for quick snacks etc. Love the place and the owners!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Stayed here 3 nights got the biggest place available.
Had living room kitchenette, bathroom and bedroom with two beds
The place was cooled with an window AC unit which only cooled down the living room.
So at night the bedroom was VERY hot!
Other than that it was a nice place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington,Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Great owners who make you feel like family. The rooms are nice, perfect location for families, my kids love the pool as much as the ocean. I have been going there since the 1970's with my parents and it feels like home every time we arrive. You are a five minute walk from the beach, and if that's to far, drive and pay 10 dollars to park at the beach and save 60 dollars a day in hotel cost. Going again this year in June. Cant' wait.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Echo Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Sails Motel

Address: 216 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#46 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Echo Sails Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echo Sails Motel is a quiet, family-friendly place to stay on your trip to Clearwater Beach. The sparkling swimming pool, super clean rooms, and relaxed atmosphere are what make Echo Sails a wonderful place to spend your vacation. We hope to see you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Echo Sails Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Sails Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Sails Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.