We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access from Tampa, and a short drive to the beach!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2580 Gulf To Bay Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33765   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Easy access from Tampa, and a short drive to the beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Everything you would expect from a Holiday inn express, free hot breakfast, clean comfy rooms, and a great staff. Construction nearby wasn't great, but they can't control that. Parking can be a little fun, if they have sold a lot of rooms. We did not use the pool, but it is available.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    25
    8
    12
See reviews for
47
18
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed with my girlfriends to visit my sister who was living there for the summer. Wanted a cheap but clean/safe/enjoyable vacation which is exactly what the holiday inn express gave us.

Very affordable rooms. We had a suite for $200 a night with one whole room for sleeping with two queen beds and one whole room for lounging with kitchenette living space and dining room. Also had two full baths which was excellent for four girls who take a while getting ready!!
cheap but clean/safe/enjoyable vacation which is exactly what the holiday inn express gave us.

Pool area was really nice too. Only issue was there were no towels for us when we needed them and it took them two hours to get more...overall not a huge deal tho. This hotel was cheap enough to allow us to spend more money on outings and dinners!

Room Tip: Book room on holiday inn express rather than through Expedia or something. Then you can pick view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had two rooms from July 4th to the 7th and enjoyed every day. We will be back on the 9th and 10 of next month. The front desk staff did a great job getting us checked in our rooms early. Lee and his assistant in the breakfast room work great to make the you get a good start to your day. This is a very busy hotel but the staff does a great job to keep you happy. as for the road construction not sure how this is the Hotels falt

Room Tip: The inside rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were in Clearwater just for one nght on July 4th. The hotel was fully booked but the service was not affected. Shantia, Dwayne at the front desk did all they could to accomodate our huge group of (22). Carol and Julie in housekeeping were amazing and kept our rooms immaculate. Lee in the kitchen area during breakfast time was most accomodating and at our disposal as requested. If one needs to stay as a stopover while in transit during vacation, this is the place to go. Thimbs up !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrive w/ our family of four to a front desk staff full of three people. There are already customers in front of us. Seems they booked on Priceline and the reservation wasn't in the system. The manager (Shandi) proceeds to tell them that the hotel is completely booked and she will give them a room and hope that the reservation doesn't show.
She then tells the customer who wanted to know where the room faces that she did her a favor and better be happy. In the meantime one of the other employees told the manager that it was time for her to leave and that she was going to miss her bus. The manager tells her "too bad, you stay." Then she proceeds to start making a duplicate set of keys, then realizes she had already given them the keys and asked them "why did you let me make you more keys when you already have them?" Keep in mind there are THREE employees behind the counter, only one was assisting guests and she was taking every opportunity to insult and be rude to EVERYONE.
I knew problems were looming.
15 minutes later...
We arrive at the front desk, give her our name and she pulls up our reservation. She then answers the phone on speaker, so the whole lobby can hear the other guest's questions when they call the front desk. Some of the requests were quite "personal."
Shandi tells us that the our King room with a sleeper sofa that we booked is only for 2 people and is not available so she will do us a "favor" and put us in a room with two doubles. 2 adults in one double bed? No thanks that's not what I requested.
Shandi must've refered to me as honey 12 times before I told her where to shove her two double beds!!
Don't bother with this place, we ended up with two queen beds down the road at Baymont Inn. Where they never referred to me as "honey" once!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Beachgurl80,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the poor service you had during check in. I hope you believe me when I say that your experience is not the norm in our property as we always strive to provide the highest level of service and customer care our guests' deserve and we deeply regret that we have failed to meet your expectations at this instance.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We checked into this hotel for 2 nights while in Clearwater with our 3 children, ages 5, 7 and 9. We were on our yearly Florida vacation, having traveled all the way from Montreal. To our dismay, the hotel was surrounded by a very loud, extremely dusty and dirty construction site that looked more like a war-zone. To make matters worse, 2 of our kids have asthma and kept breathing in this foul air surrounding the hotel. What really sent us reeling was the fact that we are Priority Club members and we booked this hotel over the phone with an IHG employee who NEVER advised us about the situation prior. We were misled and taken advantage of. Once we returned home, we filed a complaint with IHG. We were given the runaround and it took weeks for them to even answer us. They passed the blame from one department to another.
In the end, they just "wanted us to go away" and threw a measly 5000 points our way (we used over 50 000 of our points to book the stay so 5000 was an insult more than anything). WE will NEVER stay in any IHG hotel, even if I have to pay triple the price we will stay with a different chain. This is largely based on the way they handled our legitimate complaint. We were taken for a ride by IHG and are extremely dissatisfied. Not to mention the actual hotel was in need of a major cleaning. Carpets were dirty and our blinds didn't work so we had to try and sleep with a glaring beam of a construction site light and tons of noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Anne M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Your concerns have been forwarded to the management and ownership of the aforementioned property. While we certainly regret the experience you had, the compensation that has already been issued is appropriate and supports our Hospitality Promise. In addition, your comments will remain on file at a corporate level, for use in periodic evaluations of the hotel.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Booked this hotel through Hotwire.com and got two rooms for $140 ( inc tax/fees ) . We are on holiday staying in Orlando but decided to visit Clearwater Beach and Busch Gardens so instead of travelling down twice we did an overnight and this hotel ticked all the boxes. For the price I can't really complain about anything. The hotel is really nice and clean, rooms are spacious with two double beds. There is a small pool outside nothing to really shout about but nice for cooling off. Didn't go for breakfast which is a buffet, this is also included in the price of the room. Location is really good there is numerous places to eat within walking distance and the beach is about 10 mins drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words. Many people pay us a tremendous amount of compliments as they depart. However, it is guest like yourself whose comments make our job worthwhile, and our staff get encouraged. It is a difficult job, but the recognition from guests like yourself, is very appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N

Address: 2580 Gulf To Bay Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clearwater / Us 19n
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.