We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Great Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Sunrise Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added North Sunrise Motel to your Saves list
North Sunrise Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   669 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Emory & Mark were very professional and fun! North Sunrise was clean, close to the beach, quiet and had everything I needed for a nice weekend trip. There are no bad rooms! Location to beach was awesome! Definitely will stay there again! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHMgr, Manager at North Sunrise Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Terri,
Thanks for the kind words. It was our pleasure having you stay with us. Glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful beaches. Hope to see you again real soon.
Emory and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    44
    7
    8
    13
See reviews for
53
68
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I made a reservation late in the day and they were so accommodating. I love this place. Clean, quiet, peaceful, friendly. Thank you Mark for your hospitality!

If you're ever in Clearwater Beach, I highly recommend you stay here.

Independently owned makes a world of difference. I'll be back again and again. This is my go-to place!

Lori P.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHMgr, Manager at North Sunrise Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Lori,
It was a pleasure meeting you and to have you back as a guest. Hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer. Thanks for making our job (if you can really call it that) so easy. Hope to see you again real soon.
Mark and Emory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are going to Clearwater Beach and want to be in a quiet bit but within 5 minute walk of the busy bit stay here. Beach is across the road. Location is great.

The best thing about this motel is the hosts Mark and Emery what brilliant hosts. The motel is very clean. This is one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. We should be using more independent hotels like this. The price of our stay was also real good value.

I never use the word outstanding to often but for North Sunrise Motel I will, what great place to chill. We had just driven 6000 miles and to finish here was great.

Well Done Mark and Emery. Hopefully we will be back in 2014.

Room Tip: Very helpful owners great welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHMgr, Manager at North Sunrise Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was indeed our pleasure to have you celebrate your 25th Anniversary and to spend your last few days of your vacation with us. Sorry the last couple of days the weather was a bit murky. We look forward to meeting your family and to see you again in 2014.
Mark and Emory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband & I booked this hotel for a one night stay in Clearwater mainly because of the price (on a budget). We did have low expectations. We were a late check in, but Mark was very accommodating with our arrival. When we opened the door to our room (#3) we were surprisingly happy. The room was small especially with a king bed, but it was very clean & inviting, & the bed was very comfortable.The bathroom was also small, but had all the amenities needed(shower,toilet,sink.) If you are vacationing in Clearwater, chances are your not planning on spending your vacation in your room. So with that being said this is the perfect motel to relax by the pool or spend your day at the beach(5 min. walk),shops & come back to a comfortable place to lay your head and get some needed rest after all the fun in the sun!!The new owners Mark & Emory are awesome & are doing a wonderful job remodeling this soon to be perfect Gem!! See you guys next year!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are nice. We had room #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHMgr, Manager at North Sunrise Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you both. Please don't wait another year before you come back and stay with us.
Mark and Emory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd time there & always enjoy our visit. We stayed when previous management was there & never had any issue.

Now Emory & Mark are managing & are so great!.Rooms were very clean, motel is close enough to walk to the beach, bars & restaurants. Pool was clean but the air was chilly.

We brought friends & they took 3 other rooms. Will ALWAYS stay at North Sunrise Motel! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHMgr, Manager at North Sunrise Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for coming back to stay with us - again and again - and for bringing your friends along this time. It is always a pleasure when you visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Mark and Emory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed ourselves as everyone else did who were there for the wedding.The rooms were clean,bathroom a little small,shower was nice and big.When we needed things the new managers were right on top of things.We were in the suite,it held six people.We had extra pillows,towels and anything else we needed.The new managers are doing a great job getting things in order.When they saw us they always asked if everything was alright and if we needed anything,they also said we were wonderful guests as the others who stayed there.We intend going back to see our friends mark and Emory.And I know our grandson who got married will be going back.motel is in walking distance to restaurants,beach, bars and a lot of shops.The new managers are working there butts off,give them a chance.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Echoing some of the previous comments, we knew this was an older motel when we booked. The rooms were small, but comfortable and clean. The new managers are fantastic. They were very accommodating and welcoming. They gave us ideas of where to eat and places to check out during our stay. We were even able to move our check out to 1pm on the last day to maximize our morning on the beach (and you are about 50 yards from the beach). This place is definitely a bargain, if you can handle some older amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sunrise Motel

Address: 669 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Sunrise Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Sunrise Hotel Clearwater
Sunrise Hotel Clearwater
Sunrise Hotel North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Sunrise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.