We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Sunrise Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added North Sunrise Motel to your Saves list
North Sunrise Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   669 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater Beach, FL
1 review
“Pleasant service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

On a long trip, I needed an inexpensive place for the night, and the North Sunrise caught my eye. Nothing fancy but clean and WIll at the front desk was terrific. Room was tiny but clean. An easy walk to the beach and a short drive to the main drag on Clearwater Beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs around the pool/courtyard if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    62
    9
    10
    13
See reviews for
71
113
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
14 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our family of four stayed here in two rooms for just one night, wish we could have stayed longer!!
We had a very warm welcome from William who did all he could to make our stay comfortable. The motel is situated in a quiet area and is actually the last hotel before the residential area and is a very short walk to the beach. We walked to pier 60 and the beach walk so not too far.......
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the showers were very good. Each room had a fridge and coffee maker and free wifi was available. Outside each room was a seating area as well as loungers around the pool. The pool area was sheltered and a sun trap and the pool was very warm ;-) There were lots of quirky items dotted around which made for a welcoming comfortable stay.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as we had a very pleasant stay and if we were in the area again we would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

very clean room with fridge and small microwave. Location was about 500ft to the beach at the north end witch made for less traffic. Very quiet location. This is a old style florida motel with great service. Will, who seemed to be everywhere, made the stay even more enjoyable. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: pool side provides less road noise and the pool is less that 20 ft from ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We came across this motel by chance and i am so glad we did. It ended up making our vacation. This place is like a little piece of paradise. The rooms were immaculate and quite spacious. They even smelled clean. The pool was awesome and it was warm which made it that much more enjoyable. The grounds were awesome too. They have a bbq you can use which we did and even if you looked you wouldnt find one piece of garbage around the place. The beach is a 2 minute walk across the road. The guy who looked after the place (will) was very friendly and helpful and made sure all our needs were met. We felt very welcome here. I was also impressed how quiet it was kept at night which was a concern for me since we have a toddler but you can clearly see there is a no nonsence policy and that puts a parents mind at ease. When we plan our next vacation in january or february this is definatly where i want to stay for two weeks. This is my new favorite place. Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

we drove for 18 hrs and arrived in the wee hrs...door unlocked & key in rm...was surprisingly equipped... great price for family of 6...1 blk to beach...let us borrow beach chairs...good laundry facility, had soap :) awesome pool, hammock & grill area. ceiling fans were great, no need for a/c...plenty of area attractions for tourists, great restaurants & shopping, quiet & restful in evening. we can honestly say, when we come back to Clearwater Beach...we will stay here, again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Price adverised was $69.00 ON HOTEL WEBSITE AND ON OTHER BOOKING SITE as well I Booked a room and received a confirmation , then I received a call from Will (ASSITANT MANAGER AT HOTEL) that the price was actually $86.00, TOLD HIM THAT WAS NOT THE PRICE ON THE WEBSITE AND HE SAID " I WILL CALL MY GM AND CHECK" received call back that hotel was booked for month of march, request GM nummber was given number for Shirley - she told me that there was a room but it was $99.00 and she was not going to accept the $69.00 because that was during spring break and she could get more money for the room. I understand that but that was not the price that was advertised, isnt there a law against FALSE ADVERTISING. I was told 3 different stories and the website still still shows the $69.00 rate .BAD BUISNESS, BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND JUST MORALLY WRONG. This have been reported to BBB and the Department of Buisness and Regulation in Florida. UPDATE - website now showing $89.00- wtf

Room Tip: Dont get any rooms from this unethical establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great location one block from the beach, neat and tidy rooms you won't spend much time in, and most important to me very dog friendly. Will was very attentive and was very accommodating. There is much to do nearby, and I will definitely be back. The pool area is well set up with a grill, the property is well maintained as well.

Room Tip: Wherever they let you stay with your dog is a good room to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to North Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sunrise Motel

Address: 669 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Business Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — North Sunrise Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your North Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Sunrise Hotel Clearwater
Sunrise Hotel Clearwater
Sunrise Hotel North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Sunrise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.