We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Sunrise Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added North Sunrise Motel to your Saves list
North Sunrise Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   669 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, New York United States
1 review
“I recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

A quintessential beach hotel with all the amenities at a reasonable price. The perfect place to recreate, relax and enjoy The rooms were clean, the pool was pristine and the staff was friendly. Of course Clearwater Beach is ultra relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    58
    9
    10
    13
See reviews for
70
99
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a nice little motel. I'll admit to begin, I was a little skeptical of the place due to some of the bad reviews I had read online. However, once my party arrived, we were hooked. The rooms are no fabulous scene from a magazine; hoever, you get what you pay for. When I am on vacation I am more interested in the surrounding area and the weather than what the room looks like inside. While there are smaller bathrooms and some parts of the motel that could stand a little TLC, the place was nice and relaxing. I was a fan of not having 800 people to fight for pool chairs. The place is far enough away from the major hustle and bustle that you don't hear much at night, but close enough to walk if you need anything.

I found this liike many vacation spots, you get out of it what you expect. We came in with a positive attitude looking for a nice relaxing vacation and that is what we had. We just booked a room for another 7 night stay in October.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Sheila went out of her way to make us as comfortable as possible. having the beach 500 feet away is a great benefit she saved us a ton of money by suggesting that we use her beachchairs and umbrellas that were donated by past guest instead of buying new. Any question or request that we had was handled immediatly. We will be back again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Run, don't walk away from making a reservation at this motel! The management cannot be trusted to honor your reservation, and when they make an error will do absolutely nothing to rectify their mistake. My sisters and I made a reservation for spring break nearly a year ago. A few weeks before we were set to leave, it became clear that North Sunrise had made a mistake and booked our reservation for a week earlier. So we were out of a place to stay, as they said they had nothing for us on the weekend we'd reserved for. The manager was very rude about the mistake, claiming "you should have called to check on your reservation." And she did nothing to help us find another place to stay. I have never been treated so badly by a hotel or any other company who had made the mistake. I asked for my deposit to be returned and to be reimbursed for the difference between a new place that we (fortunately!) found and our original North Sunrise cost. Which was a modest amount. The manager refused to reimburse me for anything. Wouldn't even pay me back my deposit!! I had to work with my credit card company to get it back. I won't ever go near this place again, and I recommend the same to all who read this review.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Maybe it was the time of year but the hotel that I walked into and left within 15 min is not what is showed on these pictures. Extremely old and tiny!! Bed squeaked and lights in bathroom that is so small can't turn around in were blown. Dog swimming in pool and broken down gas grills in yard along with cans of empty beer on ground. Just couldn't bring myself to stay...very disappointed and had to pay 2 nights to get out of my weeks reservation!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This motel was very basic, I had the queen room that was a small room with beat up beds, linens and furniture. Tiny bathroom. But, everything was fairly clean, no bugs, and everything worked. Bring ALL your toiletries, nothing but towels. Also, if you have allergies to mold or similar indoor allergies, I would NOT recommend staying here. The room made me sick. Other than that, for just over 100 a night in a great location a very short walk to the beach, it's a pretty decent place for budget minded travelers. Staff is scarce but laid back, I didn't even sign anything.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms would be quieter, I had the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southgate
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Got back recently from a wonderful trip to Clearwater Beach. Stayed at the North Sunrise Motel and wow, what a charming little place. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Great pool. The Manager Sheila was very friendly and happy to point us in the right direction for local attractions and things to do. It was a very short walk to the beach (where we spent a lot of our time) and shops and resturants were within decent walking distance as well. Anyone looking for a nice little getaway or even an extended vacation, I highly recommend North Sunrise. I guarantee you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sunrise Motel

Address: 669 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#9 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Business Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Sunrise Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your North Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Sunrise Hotel Clearwater
Sunrise Hotel Clearwater
Sunrise Hotel North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Sunrise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.