We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Pointe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Pointe Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Pointe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Gulfview Blvd S., Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed with my family from April 29th-May 6th at the Pelican Pointe. We had been upgraded to the 4th floor for the killer view of the bay and the view of the beach. Which was wonderful and got to watch sunsets from our floor's balcony. It is an older structure, but remodeled and well kept. The gentleman at check in was so wonderful as well as housekeeping and maintenance. The hotel offered everything we needed including dishes for our use, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, beach chairs, wi-fi and cable tv. Other people who had stayed there during the week were normal family people and very friendly, there was no construction noise or noise from other guests. The beach is literally 3 minute walk and restaurants are short distance away. The price was great and I would stay there again, their motto is "Come here as guests, leave here as friends." We truly felt that way, I am sorry that my stay was not longer.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on 3rd and 4th floors have great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    241
    78
    31
    29
See reviews for
226
208
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our group of 2 adults an an 8 year old child stayed in unit #420 on a last minute trip from Dec 6-9, 2013 and we had a very nice time!

This is a no frills hotel - and you should know that going in. But if you're on a budget and aren't worried about a beachfront view, it's a clean, convenient place to stay.

The unit was decorated very attractively and had all the dishes/linens/etc that we needed.

There is no view of the pool or beach from this unit - the only window looks east and faces out onto the street behind the complex - but it lets plenty of light into the unit, especially in the morning. And on a plus side, I think the location of the unit actually makes it much quieter the some of the street front units.

The pool was very nice to have because it was in the 80s during our trip - but the gulf temps were way too cold to allow swimming.

Parking was plentiful and FREE - and it was very easy to get in and out of the complex.

The complex is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants - and is right across the street from the beach/water.

Again, this is a no frills hotel - and you should know that going in. But if you're on a budget and aren't worried about a beachfront view, this is a clean, convenient place to stay - and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed in Room 423. This room is updated with pretty pastel beachy colors, 2 full size beds and a great view. The room was very clean and stocked well. Pool was great as many kids seem to stay here. Good walking distance to anything in Clearwater Beach. If I wasn't moving to the area soon I would stay here every time!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Pelican Pointe for a vacation this past week. We had a great 4th floor room where we could see the ocean which also overlooked the pool. Yes, they appear to be building a hotel or something across the street, however, the construction noise did not disturb us inside our room. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There was a TV above the fridge in the living area and one in the bedroom as well. Our room had two double beds and a pull out couch. The kitchen area had a full fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, crock pot, utensils, plates, cups, etc. A stove or plug in griddle would have been helpful as they do not have a breakfast at this hotel, just prepackaged muffins - although they do have coffee available (I didn't try it). The staff that I did speak to were pleasant and the guests were all friendly as well.

The only things I think that need improvement are: They say they have beach chairs to borrow - they don't - they should just take that off the website. The elevator is extremely slow. - I took the stairs several times a day and there were never any beach chairs in the location they said they would be stored. There are beach toys for the kids though. A restroom located near the pool/pingpong area would be helpful as running up 4 flights of stairs to use the bathroom in your room got old. I think they have just enough parking spots, so if you have a car, parking can be a problem depending on what time you get back to the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor - rooms 421 - 430 seemed to have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed for a week before Easter. We thought the location was awesome- within walking distance to the pier, restaurants, shopping and most importantly the beach! We could have easily have stayed at this hotel without a car. There is construction across the street, but we were never disturbed by any noise from it. The rooms were very clean and decorated adorably in a beach theme. The kitchenette was very useful. The staff was helpful and friendly. If we should plan a trip back to this area of Florida we would definitely stay at this hotel again! Great value for the money we spent.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We just spent a week at the Pelican Pointe Hotel on Clearwater Beach and cannot say enough good things about our stay. The location is great, the hotel is great and the personnel are great. This was our third stay at Pelican Pointe and each year we reserve the next year as we are leaving. We already have our reservation for a week in March 2015.
One of the best things about Clearwater Beach is how clean and family oriented it is. We also like it because you can easily park the car and walk to restaurants, stores and do most everything without using your car.

Room Tip: We stay in room 423 and have no complaints about the room. Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Three nite stay.

Great location, right next to the beach. We were not disturbed by the construction going on right across the street. Spacious room, bed was okay, air-condition a bit noisy but overall satisfied.

However, one big minus... the plumbing in our room (317) does not function properly. We've explained this to the staff on a couple of occasions. It's now our last night in this room and the toilet is still not flushing =/

Room Tip: Unless they've fixed the plumbing, stay out of room 317
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Pointe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Pointe Hotel

Address: 445 Gulfview Blvd S., Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#20 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Pointe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Pointe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Pointe Clearwater
Hotel Pelican Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Pointe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.