We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Pointe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Pointe Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Pointe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Gulfview Blvd S., Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have stayed here several times now and we have enjoyed it every time. The rooms are great, very comfortable with some really nice features. This time we upgraded and booked a sea view room, which made it even better. The hotel is just across the road from the beach, so a perfect location. Staff are really friendly, so all in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but trying paying a little bit extra for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    242
    78
    31
    29
See reviews for
227
208
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

From the moment of check in we were made to feel like family. They even upgraded our room. They were the friendliest staff we have ever met and we travel a lot. I didn't expect much because usually when we stay at beaches, you just get this smell...Well, this place had been remodeled with new everything from toilets to sinks to bedding and it just felt and smelled new. There was no carpet in the unit we rented, don't know if the other units have carpet but the carpet is generally what retains the smell....no smell here. Not only was it so clean, it was right across the street from the beach and within walking distance of many restaurants and bars. Stella and Sadie at the front desk couldn't have been better and assured us our bikes out front would be secure as well. They have a night time security guard who told us there wasn't a safer place to stay as well....Great trip, planning to go back in January.

Room Tip: You really don't need ocean view, the beach is right across the street. Great place to bring y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Not on the beach, but right across the street from it. Good restaurant selection close by. The one small negative is if there are smokers they sit out in front of their and you got to walk thru the haze. Definitely a worth a return stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The staff went way beyond their duty to make sure our saty was a good one. We stopped by to pre-register because we were going to the Clearwater Aquarium which was less than 10 minutes away.They took our cell phone number and called us when the room was ready:-) The rooms were spotless! The staff was very friendly and made you feel at home.The beach was across the street and easy to access. The staff made recommendations per our request on Restaurants, and things to do! The pool was clean and water was comfortable.I would go back again! Go there and be treated like family:-)

Jeanie Huppert

Room Tip: If you like the pool, ask for the downstair s room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stay here every time I go to Clearwater Beach. You can't beat the location, it is walking distance to everything, center of all the activities. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. The sitting area is great so if someone wants to take a nap, people have the other area to sit in and talk without having to sit on the beds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed one night in Clearwater Beach FL on way home from Keys.
This is a reasonable priced hotel across from beach with nice views. Clean and good location to restaurants and activities. Sadie was very pleasant and helpful. Gave us coupons for free drinks and recommended good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farang by birth, but Thai at heart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just spent 10 days in room 326. The location is great! The Columbia restaurant (you MUST eat there!) is a 5 minute drive south. The beach is literally across the street. Pier 60 was a short and enjoyable walk. Dinner at the Greek place next door was good. Several beach stores in both directions, and also a min-golf place a couple of blocks to the south. IHOP across from the mini-golf is the best local choice we found for breakfast. They have laundry (full size washer and dryer) on site which is also a big plus - you can pack less knowing that you can run a load or two during your stay.

The staff felt like old friends rather than staff. All we very helpful, very polite and a pleasure to interact with.

Yes, the property is older, but it's been remodeled and everything works just great. The room was very spacious, and it was great to have the kitchen area with a mid-sized fridge, table, small sofa and TV in the front while still having a nice sized bath area and then a bedroom with a large flat-screen TV. We'd happily stay here again the next time we go to the Tampa Bay area.

The only "con" I can think of is that it was several days before I realized that the lower cabinets in the kitchen open and were filled with dishes and silverware. There were no handles on the doors and no labels, so it was just a mistake that I found these items. If that's the worst part of the stay, then that shows there's really nothing to complain about :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Pointe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Pointe Hotel

Address: 445 Gulfview Blvd S., Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Pointe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Pointe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Pointe Clearwater
Hotel Pelican Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Pointe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.